We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel Golf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Golf
Ranked #226 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay here in Florence. The location isn't perfect but it's very convenient and close to Santa Maria (SMN) station. Probably for the better too that it's not too central: it's a quiet location, good for sleeping!
The building itself is beautiful and even has an orange tree. From the first floor (I have long arms) I was able to reach out of the window and pick an orange ... in late December!
The breakfast buffet is generous and amazing. Good variety, very tasty! Great hotel!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank AlexFransaskois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 441 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have been here for 3 nights on December. Position is Perfect!!!. hotel has free parking which is very comfortable if you are travelling with a car.The room was old but very clean, comfortable and warm.Excellent Wi-Fi signal.Breakfast could be better. Definetly will come back,good price for very central hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

If I could have cancelled and got my money back the first day we arrived, I would have. I tried. The beds were the worst. We asked for extra pillows and blankets and put them on top of the mattress which seemed more like a box spring. The staff was slow and very unhelpful. The noise outside was loud. I have no idea why anyone said this was a good location. It was at least a 20 minute walk to anywhere. And then the additional time to get anywhere from there. We walked the entire trip in Italy so I was not opposed to walking. Don't book this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeannaCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have just check-out from this terrible hotel, nothing met our expectation. The room was old and smelly and didn't match the photos, bed sheets were dirty, something on bed that bite me and made me itchy the whole night, red spots all over my body after being bite! Rude staff refused to change room for us or provide help, they don't want to serve at all and even said “you can go if you don't like the room but your room was non-refundable, you are lucky to get a room already.” (We booked and paid! we should get a room, of course! how ridicious!) Just because we don't look European so we were being treated in that way?! Showering area was so small thatwe can't even make a turn, no wifi signal and staff refused to fix, musty carpet, old and dusty fleece blanket, broken air-con, with heavy smoking smell once we entered, all room keys just placed on the front desktable but staff walked away all the time which means anyone can entered your room! No security at all. No tea, spoon or even a glass provided, the hotel is not qualified for a 3 starred ranking, not even 1 starred! Room price is high and it's not worth! Not recommend to anyone and it's a nightmare in this hotel during our stay in Florence! We will never return!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fionaonla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgmanager, Proprietario at Hotel Golf, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

The property and the entire staff of this Hotel firmly reject this review totally false and clearly aimed at discrediting the work, the professionality and the good name of Hotel Golf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We booked this hotel due to its location to the centre of Florence and the free parking and neither of these let us down.

Unfortunately the room itself (202), although large, was incredibly noisy and full of mosquitoes. The bed was uncomfortable and with only a sheet to cover it we raided the wardrobe to find a couple of single fleece blankets to try to keep warm but still, it was the worst nights sleep we have had in a while.

Forget the breakfast (bad coffee from a machine) and go elsewhere.

The staff however were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If available ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our original plan in Florence was to stay at a 3 star small hotel which was awarded Certificate of Excellance by Trip Advisor. It turned out to be a shock - though the rooms shown to us were big (we don't need such a big room), they were not acceptable at all: no a/c, long narrow staircase but no elevator (we got heavy luggages). Also the whole set up was quite outdated and the hotel is located on a small street where we met quite a few beggars. Just wonder how this certificate of excellance was granted!

So we strolled around the vicinity and dropped by Hotel Golf. It is located on a main street and the decor is a bit outdated. It is a nice decent hotel, way better than the above one, though more or less the same price, perhaps already amongst the most budget ones in town.

Since we checked in late, the room available for us is facing the main road with heavy traffic especially in the morning, and hence impossible to open the windows. However with wooden blinds, double windows, curtains and very good a/c system, the room was acceptable. The bathroom is very clean and modern. The hotel is about 8 to 10 minutes easy walk to the train station and bus terminal, close to supermarkets and good eateries. Walking distance to major attractions in Florence. Also very convenient as a base for day excursions to nearby areas like Siena, Pisa and Lucca etc.

The hotel provides breakfast but pretty basic. Most of the counter staff are very helpful. Wifi ONLY works at a limited part of the hall area. This is a bit inconvenient.

During our visit period, Florence was hosting a cycling tournament. Almost all the hotels were fully booked. We're thankful for securing a room at Hotel Golf. Though it is not ideal, the hotel delivers well for its price. A good budget choice. We eventually stayed at this hotel for five nights and enjoyed quite a lot our visit to Florence and nearby areas.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on second floor at the back, not facing the traffic. Also ask for rooms with central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamfamilyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Of our travels in Italy we found Florence to be the friendliest city for Americans. The staff at the hotel were accommodating, helped us with a map find our way around the city and recommended places to eat. The breakfast was lovely. They allowed us to leave our bags the last day even though our train didn't depart until late in the evening. The room was clean and comfortable with a good shower.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Classic Hotel
#224 of 411 in Florence
186 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#105 of 411 in Florence
797 reviews
Hotel Della Robbia
#183 of 411 in Florence
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#203 of 411 in Florence
321 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#136 of 411 in Florence
674 reviews
Villa Le Rondini
#282 of 411 in Florence
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golf

Address: Viale Fratelli Rosselli 56, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $96 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Golf 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel golf is located in the historical centre only 200 meter far from Santa Maria Novella station, fortezza da basso and Stazione Leopolda. Free internet wi-fi for all guest and free car parking based on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golf Florence
Florence Hotel Golf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing