We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very deserving of No 1 rating, highly recommended....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel David to your Saves list
Hotel David
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
255 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Very deserving of No 1 rating, highly recommended....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We visit florence regularly and hotel david is the best all round hotel we've stayed at to date and very good value. It thoroughly deserves it's no 1 ranking. Staff are extremely welcoming and friendly whilst rooms are very comfortable. Our room had 2 balconies with views where it was very pleasant to chill. In addition there are a number of nice touches which ensure the hotel is a cut above. Apart from free wifi and breakfast this includes a free minibar refill each day, a 10 minute free call to almost anywhere in the world, free parking and a free evening aperitif in the garden.

The location is also good being an approx 15/20 minute walk from the ponte vechio. However buses are easily available if required and bus tickets can be bought direct from reception.

Reception makes every effort to ensure a smooth and enjoyable stay. Hotel david is a real find and very highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stuffmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

I really thank you for coming to stay with us but I really appreciate you understood our effort to make David a good place for travelers and I we always work hard so that you have a smooth sojourn here in Florence!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,397
    276
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
535
1,620
68
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aurora, ont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

we just had two visits to the hotel david in the past two weeks
one for 3 nights and another for a night before we went to rome by train
for the first thre nights we were lucky enough to have room 30 on the top floor
a great room with vaulted ceilings and a wonderful out side space overlooking the city
this maybe the best run hotel i have ever stayed in
from all the staff being able to help with any question to the beautiful gardens that are being designed out front to breakfast and a happy hr for two hrs at night
it made it easy to meet your fellow travelers and learn about the good and not so good of the city
you people run an outstanding place and if others in the industry want to learn how to make guests feel at home
go and stay there
thank you again
david and liz frisby

Room Tip: the 4 on the top floor are all great 30 and 31 have very nice balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fris1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for trusting us 2 times in so short time!
All Staff is saying hello to you and your wife!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The staff was incredible and were always willing to go out of their way to help out. We did however have trouble sleeping because of the super thin walls. A small price to pay for such excellent service, though. The location is perfect, a nice 15 minute walk to the center of town, but still lots of nice restaurants a few blocks from the hotel for when you don't feel like getting in the middle of everything. The breakfast was typical to the other places we stayed, but the happy hour in the evenings was excellent. Great snacks and wine to choose from...even the infused water was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dollah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for your review and I have to say that this is an old house and part of the charm is because of this but it's true there are some disadvantages like the thin walls because they used to built like this......but I'm happy you had good time despite that!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Hotel David for 4 nights and enjoyed everything about it.
Room #2 was very spacious and comfortable. Nice bathroom and cold air conditioning. The breakfast and happy hours were wonderful. The staff was also very helpful. 15-20 minute walk to Ufizzi was not bad, if you do not want to walk study the bus line for #23 and the D routes. They stop within 1 block of the hotel. Laundromat was 3 blocks away, open at night and easy to use. Restaurants in the neighborhood were great also. Did not find a gelateria in the neighborhood. Very good self serve coffees and hot chocolate and tea for minimal cost.
This hotel made everything easy for us. Would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Our main floor room did not have a balcony but some upper floor rooms do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sueg2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us our corner bar is based on the honor system and has minimal cost.....enjoy!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Hotel David for 1 night when we arrived in Florence before traveling south to Positano. We actually stayed in the quad room which was large and easily accommodated the four of us. The room was clean and quiet. Wifi worked great. A small pastry welcomed us and the also had free bottles of water in the room which is so helpful. It's the little things I appreciate! The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly. The breakfast was your typical Italian hotel buffet ... but better quality. It had fruit, yogurt, eggs, breads, croissants, pastries, meats, cheeses, etc. They will make you cappuccinos also (not a premixed machine that I've seen in some hotels). The hotel has a happy hour in the evening with wine and lite refreshments. There is a lovely little patio area that is shaded in front of the hotel that you could enjoy if the weather is nice. The staff recommended a wonderful trattoria that was maybe a 5 minute walk away. It was filled with locals and very good. Hotel David is located on the south side of the Arno River. It's a little further away from the center. From the train station, we took a taxi which was around 15-20 euros I believe. We took a bus ride from the hotel over to the Ponte Vecchio. The bus was a little over a 5 minute ride. The hotel is a great base for exploring Florence. Hotel David is in a quieter, less touristy area of Florence. Just be aware you'll have to take a bus or walk a bit further to reach the center.

Room Tip: We stayed on the main level right off the lobby and it was great. The quad room was large and spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ideaswelcome8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the tips to the other travelers.....the David is not downtown but very close but if you wish not to walk at suggest an hotel more centrally located!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavallette, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We recently stayed three nights at the Hotel David in Florence. We saw the reviews online and that is why we chose this hotel. It was a wonderful experience. The staff is friendly, helpful and almost treat you as if you were a life-long friend. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was beautiful. The breakfast was more than adequate, as well as delicious and the afternoon wine and appetizers were such a wonderful treat after a long sight-seeing day.Sitting in a beautiful outdoor setting and talking with the guests from the hotel was so nice. The hotel stocked your mini-bar everyday and there was absolutely no charge for what you ate or drank. The bus is directly in front of the hotel to all the sights, but the walk is delightful and safe and you see so much more. When we checked out, the staff surprised us with a gift of body wash and cream. Very thoughtful touch. We were on our way to Positano, but I can honestly say that if my holiday ended after our stay at the David, I would have been satisfied. Gabriele was the best host and we would definitely go back and recommend the David to anyone traveling to Florence.

Room Tip: We were on the breakfast floor room, but did not have any complaints. We are early risers and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sibbyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for coming to stay with us and I'm happy that you had good time in Florence and I'm glad you carry good memory of your welcome here at the David!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North wales
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

When I began planning our short break to Florence I turned to trip advisor and found so many great reviews about Hotel David that I knew we would have to try it for ourselves. And what an absolutely perfect place it was.
Upon arrival we were greeted by smiling staff who signed us in and took luggage straight up to our room. Our room was beautiful, the dark wooden furniture complimented the classic decor turning it into a cool and tranquil place to return to after a hot day in the city. French windows opened on to a private balcony allowing cool breezes to enter. Yes we were facing the very busy road and it was quite noisy but on closing the double doors when retiring for the night the room was all but soundproofed.
All of the 'extras' that have been reviewed on this site were readily available .... minibar replenished daily, toiletries, fresh towels every day, the fabulous happy hour where we met someone new every night before going off to eat or walk into town. Breakfast was lovely, eating every morning on the terrace before setting off for a busy day.
We bought bus tickets from the hotel and used them to travel about the city, hopping on and off to get to several points of interest. The buses stopped at about 8 but the hotel is close enough for a leisurely stroll back from the city centre to be a pleasure rather than a chore.
As has already been said many times, the staff was fab. They collectively managed to make us feel welcome and safe and engendered a relaxing atmosphere. Perfect.
We would love to go back to Florence and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 which was lovely. As far as I could tell everyone we spoke to were happy with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbielloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Proprietario at Hotel David, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

This is what we are trying to do with all our Guests......
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#1 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#5 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#26 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 3,230 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Duomo
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing