We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!!”
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Loved everything about this hotel!!!!!! The staff was helpful and extremely friendly. They greet us with a bottle of wine on our bed for our anniversay..nice touch. The room was nicely decorated comfortable, spacious and clean. They had a happy hour every evening out on their backyard that was just lovely with food and wine. The hotel has a great location in Florence too. We were able to walk everywhere. I wasn't sure what to expect since I did this trip all online but I was so pleasantly surprised with this place. I would recommend it in a heartbeat. If you get a chance get a reservation at La Giostra too. Somewhat expensive..... but sooooooo romantic and the food and service is excellent.

Michelle-St Louis, MO

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank beachloverstlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,482 - 2,488 of 3,291 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2008

The Hotel David was recommended by my sister who stayed there two years ago and loved it. My daughter and I stayed there this July and were not disappointed. It was definately the best place we stayed on our entire trip. The staff were excellent and most helpful, going above and beyond the call of duty. They even downloaded our photos onto a disk so we didn't have to buy a new memory card. The food at the breakfast and the happy hour in the evening was really good and abundant. I am a good cook so I appreciate quality in that area. Our room was spacious and beautifully appointed with a great ensuite! The hotel is on the far side of the Arno from the main action but very walkable. We took the bus in one day which was very easy, but walked most of the time. Everyone I talked to while socialising during the happy hour were equally impressed and said they would definately come back.

Thank charlotte050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Fantastic hotel! Would stay there again in a heartbeat. Staff was very helpful, decor was tasteful, afternoon wine and appetizer time was a great way to talk to others that are seeing the city.
A restful place to stay after all of that walking in Florence!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dandlbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel David! We had a very comfortable room, with a small terrace and a recently renovated bathroom.

Breakfast was consistantly good and varied. The location was great; we could walk to downtown Florence in about 15 minutes, or catch a bus right outside the hotel. The staff was always friendly, and ready to help with any questions or concerns. We also enjoyed the nibbles put out in the lobby in the evening; this was a great way to meet other travelers. What a great idea!

We would not hesitate to visit the Hotel David again, and will definitely recommend it to friends visiting Florence!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckygirl322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

My family and I stayed here for 3 wonderful nights. We were in the middle of a 25 day trip through Europe. Of all the places we stayed by far the Hotel David provided the best overall service and accomodations. The entire staff is very service focused. The room we had comfortably housed my family of 4 and the atmosphere was incredible. It felt like we were staying at someone's home. Good breakfast and the light snack and drinks in the evening were great. Met lots of other people. Also they provide free 10 mins of phone service each day. This was great for the kids as they called their friends each day. Internet access was also free. Staff was very helpful with tour and dinner arrangements. Overall just a wonderful experience

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RRRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Can't fault this hotel at all! We really enjoyed our stay - the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful - their english was fantastic even though I did try out my limited italian. Rooms were clean and cool and the breakfast was excellent. Hope to be able to return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank YvetteWigan_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful and peaceful location - about 10 walk into the centre of Florence. Aperatif served everyday and great opportunity to meet other travellers. Very clean and comfortable. Beautiful antique furniture. We will return!

Stayed: July 2008
Thank PrincessPocketRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,544 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#7 of 410 in Florence
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#3 of 410 in Florence
356 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 410 in Florence
534 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $154 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing