We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite”
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We did a lot of reading on TA before deciding on a hotel in Florence - and this sounded nice… In fact, it is one of the more memorable experiences with small boutique hotels we've had. Nothing was actually exceptional, but EVERYTHING was perfect - the location is not too far from center city; the rooms are all decorated differently, with different themes. The staff are great, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, and willing to go the extra step to please the guests. The breakfast is included (great choices for every taste), and the afternoon wine and hors-d'oeuvres invites guests to meet each other and make new friendships. Wireless is included for those workaholics who need to "stay in touch" (I was one of those…). All in all, we will gladly go back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etherdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your kindness and I'm happy you had good time with us and you enjoyed our hospitality.
I'm sure you will be back sometime!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,416 - 1,422 of 3,315 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

We loved this hotel. One of our favorites in Italy. The hotel is fairly small with about 35 rooms. They really cater to tourists who want to explore Florence. They have a library of books in the main area and their front desk attendants are wonderful and friendly. You get a fantastic breakfast and a happy hour each night with great food and wine. They even give you 10 minutes a day on their phone to call home for free. It is really hard to fault anything about this hotel. We would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Elevator is small and slow. Would recommend a lower floor and walk up stairs. In the morning, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDX_MarkC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us, it's very nice to see that you had good time with us and you took advantage of the many free services that we offer always with attention to balance the room rate that today it is very impostant!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you are going to Florence this hotel cannot be beat. It is clean, and has many extras that other hotels do not have. The management was very helpful with questions. Look what you get... free parking, great breakfast, cocktails at happy hour, snacks, and even a gift to my wife when we left. Do not think about staying anywhere else in Florence. For the price of the room you cannot find a better deal or hotel. Book early.... they are always full.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ontour4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words of appreciation, I'm happy you had a good experience here and I will do my best to keep this place an oasis for all travelers!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed five nights and found nothing to fault. Much has been said about location but for us it was perfect. Those who complain about the distance to the old town obviously do not read the hotel website or other reviews. With a car (which we did not use again for the whole of our stay) it was such a relief to have somewhere with on site parking outside the inner city which is fraught with driving restrictions and penalties. The twenty minute walk along the river to the Ponte Vecchio is well documented but there is an excellent, easy to use and frequent bus service which covers all of Florence. There is a bus stop outside the hotel and they sell tickets at reception. If you have a Firenze Card (see their website) you have a three day bus pass included. Although not cheap the Firenze card covers admission to a host of monuments and museums and is so worth it just to avoid the huge queues especially at the Uffizi and Accademia. It was actually good to have an hotel in a less frenetic situation and nothing is too much trouble for the staff - a phrase often used but absolutely true in this case.Other reviews have all the detail about the good things the Hotel include without further payment - especially the brilliant Happy Hour - they seem to have thought of everything that could possibly be included to give their guests a pleasurable stay. Breakfast is generous and excellent. The room was spacious, well appointed and clean - not luxurious but if you want absolute luxury then pay for it somewhere else. Overall the Hotel David is outstanding value for money (pay in advance and get a good discount). We stayed in five other hotels during our Italian trip and David was the best value without any compromise of standards. It would be our first choice on a return to Florence, in fact we would not want to stay anywhere else. There is no need to return to town for an evening meal as there are some good options nearby, we found the best to be Trattoria Da Beppino in the Via di Ripoli, a ten minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BristolOmsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your so detailed review this will help for sure other travelers to choose better their accomodation in Firenze and when you will be back we will be here again to go over your expectations!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

So, having read the reviews for this hotel I wanted to give some information that hasn't been supplied in any of the other reviews. So here goes.
Having stayed at a great many places where you have to pay ridiculous amounts for use of the Internet it was a nice to have free access to not only the World Wide Web but to 2 IMacs conveniently located in the lounge. The knowledge that I could have 10 mins of free calls home on a daily basis actually made me stop thinking about whether I should phone home or not. i could and therefore i didn't . The walk into Florence centre counteracted the copious amounts of food and chianti we felt obliged to sample. Weight gain =minimal. Breakfast on the terrace was most pleasant. Scrambled egg was very good. Great art work on show and massive attention to detail throughout. The rest has already been said, we shall be revisiting.

Room Tip: Room no 1 is not only big it has a great shower and a four poster. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbsfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm happy to be your Numero uno! The David is supporting contemporary art and modern mixed together with the help of an important collector in Florence. Old fashoned charme of an old home with an eye to the freshness and the colourfull of the modern art....
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Can't shower this unique hotel with enough praise. Rooms were spacious, well appointed and immaculate. Intuitive staff anticipated every need. Excellent breakfast and happy hour. Very reasonable rates. Close enough to everything yet away from the crowds. This was our favorite hotel in Italy.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm very happy our Guests appreciate our efforts to balance our high standards of the right reasonable rate! Thank you!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary in Italy (hotel surprised us with sparkling wine and a cake!). I totally agree with previous reviewers that this is a lovely place to stay within walking distance of the city center. Our room was large and comfortable (with a queen bed, desk, and sitting area) and the bathroom was modern, clean and large also. The breakfast was good (included eggs and bacon) and the evening happy hour a very nice plus! We even skipped dinner one night as we enjoyed the appetizers the hotel provided at the happy hour. We also took advantage of using the laundry room in the basement for six Euros. As others have said, it's about a 20 minute walk into Florence center. For the price, this hotel is wonderful!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mckinfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm happy you had a lovely stay here at the David and I noticed that our happy hour is still our top positive feed!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#7 of 409 in Florence
1,434 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 409 in Florence
3,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 409 in Florence
555 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#8 of 409 in Florence
1,075 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $144 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing