We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just spent a week at this very friendly hotel The staff are all very friendly and exceedingly helpful The rooms wonderfully clean and the plumbing amazing as in wonderful hot powerful showers in an older building etc etc The bus stop is three minutes walk away and the buses were punctual when i was there and ran very frequently We were sometimes hungry before the 7.30 opening time of most restaurants outside of the city centre and the local deli three minutes walk made us some lovely meals (open evenings Monday to Friday ) opening a fresh bottle of great chianti to serve us by the glass Most restaurants in the city centre are open all day and usually we went back in on the bus after an hour on our balcony I stayed in two different rooms and talked to many many guests and everyone was very happy This is not a chain hotel this is a very special family run hotel We will return

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies but are smaller I enjoyed sitting out on my balcony as we were there for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahappytraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for this nice words of appreciation and I'm sure I will be the pleasure to welcome you next time you decide to come back to Florence.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,466 - 1,472 of 3,315 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a hotel tucked away from the city centre. The rooms are spacious with wooden beams which is something new to us.... the hotel is far from modern and contemporary, more towards renaissance style with flora bedsheets and lacey stuff....

A hotel to consider as it's 10mins bus ride from the main shopping belt in Florence.
Breakfast spread is okie, but the capcuccino by the barista is excellent, a good way to start the day with. If you are thinking of renting a car to check out the factory outlet, "The Mall". There is an car rental shop that is 15min walk away from the hotel and you can pick up and return the car which is relatively convenient. The Mall is about 40min drive from the Hotel.

Overall, a good hotel to consider for the stay in Florence.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlurBlurQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm happy overall the hotel was good for you and I thank you for your time writing a review about the David!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Tucked away with a delightful garden area this oasis of calm after busy days exploring Florence was superb! Fresh bed linen and towels each night; complementary wine, juice, finger buffet and nibbles each evening in the pretty garden. Informal and friendly - just like staying with friends. Coffee, cakes, wines, beers, soft drinks available to self prepare and log in the 'honesty' book. We had a wonderful 4 nights here!

Room Tip: About 10 mins stroll from the centre of Florence along the river, but the bus stops close by too. Cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angharad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Madam,

I thank you for this post I'm very glad you had good time and here at the David and I like your title too.

My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Such a great welcome (as a complimentary service you are invited to call back home to check that everything is OK)
Great atmosphere
Superb service
Good location, although a little bit off-city. The public transportation is good enough.
Very good breakfast
Big and cosy rooms
Nice complimentary afternoon snacks
FANTASTIC VALUE FOR MONEY!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm very happy that you had good time and I'm sure you will be back someday!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

There is a reason this hotel is so highly rated. Everything was wonderful: the front desk staff, happy hour, the delicious breakfast and spotless rooms! The service is incredible. The staff are ever so patient and helpful with restaurant recommendations and very detailed advice on how to catch the bus to avoid the scalding July sun. It is not located in the historic center, and about a 15 minute walk away. We had a wonderful stay and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to experience the best Florence has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omn934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your high rating I'm happy we have been for you the ideal hotel and I hope to be able to keep this special mood that so many people feel here!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Hotel David was relaxing, comfortable, super clean and added value to our vacation time in Firenze. To start, the staff responded promptly to all our inquiries before and after booking as well as during our stay. Everyone was friendly and eager to help. It has an extremely casual and comforting feel.

We stayed in room #1. This ground-floor room faces the front courtyard and entrance. It was large with a sitting area, GREAT air conditioning (last week of August!), and nice bathroom with a walk-in shower and terrific water pressure. The walls are all 12 inches thick which made for a very quiet experience. The entrance to the room actually has two doors (an interior door that opens into the room and an exterior door that opens outward into the hallway) which added to the privacy and quiet. TIP: All windows have electric shutters that roll down for added privacy.

Added Value: 1) We started each day with a hot breakfast on the back patio. This included an assortment of breads, meats, cheeses, fruits and cappuccini. They make a breakfast tort with zucchini, eggplant and peppers that is amazing! 2) Evening receptions - We enjoyed and looked forward to each evening happy hour reception with complimentary wine and snacks. These are held in the front courtyard which is buffered from the street by a small parking lot and a solid stone wall. It has a gravel ground with several small metal chairs and tables. It is surrounded by tall trees with lots of shade to enjoy the wonderful Florence air. We met countless warm and friendly people from all over the world and made several new friends as well. 3) Free Internet on two iMacs in the living room and Wi-Fi throughout. 4) Help-yourself kitchen that works on the honor system for adding items to one's room bill.

Location Considerations: 1) Hotel David is close to several top-rated Trip Advisor restaurants. 2) The best view of the city (Piazzale Michelangelo) is a short and healthy walk up the hill from the intersection outside the hotel. 3) Hotel David is NOT in the middle of the main attractions in the city. It is a beautiful 10-minute walk along the river from the hotel to Ponte Vecchio. We appreciated the separation from all the tourists and business of the downtown streets.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattandBrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your post and for explaining so carefully all the details, this helps a lot all future Guests to choose better the hotel for their next trip to Florence.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Located a little further away from the main tourist sights, 20 minutes by bus D from the station. Due to a mix up with buses, it took us a lot longer than 20 minutes to get to the hotel and consequently we missed our timed entry to Accademia. We mentioned it on check in and the manager immediately offered to take us to Accademia and advised us that although we were late for our timed entry it should be Ok., if not, he would sort something out. This was amazing service and he was right we were able to get in.

He also put us in the "best room" on the 3rd floor. This was really a large suite with a big balcony.

All of the staff are kind and caring. We also enjoyed the happy hours with free drinks and finger food in the outside area - a lovely way to catch up with other travelers and share experiences.

The hotel also offers free 10 minute overseas calls, has a laundry for guest use (modest charge), after hours "bar" based on the honour system and computers with access to a printer.

This is a very relaxing place to stay and you really feel at home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Errolred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

I do remember you and how tired and unhappy you were when you checked in and I also remember your smile when you come back the same evening!
Reception tries to make things easier to let you relax better.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#7 of 409 in Florence
1,434 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 409 in Florence
3,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 409 in Florence
555 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#8 of 409 in Florence
1,075 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $144 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing