We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“There are dozens of reasons this hotel has risen to the top.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #3 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
229 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“There are dozens of reasons this hotel has risen to the top.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It all starts with the service. It is all inclusive. You get free internet, free happy hour, free breakfast, free mini bar (with a beer!), and that is just a flavor of what their philosophy is. The desk manager drove us to the Ponte Vecchio, after he unloaded our car, and before he took our bags to the room because the room had not yet been ready to check in. There is an honor code giant food and beverage center (inexpensively priced) open all night. The room we had was beautiful, clean, had its own balcony, and was charming. This is beyond five star service in a small boutique hotel. I have stayed in Four Seasons hotels all over the world, and their excellent service could still learn something from Hotel David.

Their breakfast buffet alone will blow your mind. The cakes are out of this world. The fresh fruit is to die for. Try the best blackberries in the world. Enjoy the hot, frresh-baked croissants as they arrive from the kitchen in the dumb waiter. Enjoy showering with your significant other in the spacious shower, something rare in a European hotel, let alone one of this small size. Enjoy the excellent free wine at happy hour.

A word about location. Some people complain about it being not in or near the city center. Thank Goodness it is not. I have been visiting Florence for thirty five years. The city center - Ponte Vecchio - Piazza Signoria area of Florence is over-crowded, gritty, noisy, smelly, and expensive, in addition to being the world's greatest concentration of man made beauty in such a small space. The best possible scenario is to stay near there, but not in there, and to stay in relative luxury. Hotel David is the place for that. It is perfect. And it is so nice you will sometimes not make it to the old city as much or for as long as you would like. That means that this hotel is a perfect location for a stay of several days, during which you can leisurely enjoy all that Florence has to offer.

Room Tip: Here is a good tip. You will have to travel back and fort the twelve to fifteen blocks between Hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeraldWW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

What to say.........I remember you and I thank you for coming to stay with us I belive too that our location is an advantage and I'm happy you think the same!
I hope you are having good time travelling in Italy and one day I'm sure you will be back!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,442
    280
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
547
1,652
70
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at Hotel David 6th to the 8th August 2013 after booking almost a year ago , after reading the fantastic reviews and were not disapointed.,We were travelling by motorcycle and secure parking was free . The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble from bus tickets, maps and booking galleries etc .The room was beautiful and the welcoming cake and note a nice touch , We got to phone home for free once and the minibar in the room was free for one set of drinks . The hotel had a free happy hour every night with drinks and food .The guests tend to mingle and tell us about their day with some useful tips also !! If you go to Florence try to stay here . Have stayed in far more expensive hotels and no where near the service and experience as Hotel David

Room Tip: we had a downstairs room with four poster bed and huge bathroom ,am sure all the rooms will be of eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for trusting us so much time in advance. I remember you and your bike I hope to see you next time you decide to make another trip to Florence.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hotel David was fantastic. The staff was so helpful and friendly. Happy Hour was great and we looked forward to sitting in the courtyard each night. The services the hotel offered made our stay very convenient. The laundry service available was fantastic. My husband and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I have to thank you for trusting us I understand that when you come for a special event the expectation is higher and the satisfaction too!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We visited the hotel david on August 12-15th. We left the car in their parking which was great for us and no charge for that.
Then we took bus D to the center of town. We did not know the bus stops running after 8 pm so we called the hotel for advise. They recommended bus 23 or just simply walk 20 min. But while we are walking along the river we notice to our shock that the owner Gabriel is looking for us in his car to take us back to the hotel. we were absolutely shocked and so happy to see him since we were so tired after a long day of walking.so he took us back and offered advise to what to do in the followings days. Everyone in the hotel was helpful,kind,with great knowledge of this town.
We strongly recommend to buy the Firenze card($72). The card will give you free access to all buses and most meusums for 72 hours and will save you hours of waiting in long lines.
The breakfast was amazing. The home made cakes were so good-first class indeed.
So for the owner and staff of this hotel we thank you from the bottom of our hearts. We appreciate your hospitality and kindness. You deserve not 5 starts but 10 stars. You made our stay so special and we owe you our gratitude.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eth514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We have to thank you for trusting us and coming to stay with us....we are here to do our best to make you feel at home but to encourage you to understand that traveling is to experience different things from what you are used to!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

It's all been said before, but this is an impressive outfit. From the moment you walk into Reception to be greeted by the young, smiley staff there, who hand you an info sheet of everything you need to know, most of which is free (contents of minibar; good wi-fi, pre-dinner aperitif, even a phone call home), you get the impression that this is a well-oiled success machine. We had two good-sized twin rooms on the 2nd floor (207/ 209) both at the back; large, light and quiet. Breakfast is help yourself (we sat out on the cool, shady terrace - shame on our fellow guests who all stayed indoors!) and generous - just right to set one up for the day ahead.

The walk into the city centre is probably closer to 20 minutes - especially if it's hot, but it's a nice stroll along either bank of the river. And the Hotel David is an oasis of calm and convenience in an attractive and leafy neighbourhood to return to after a long day doing the cultural bit. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet indeed. 207 and 209 both nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm sure you ment 27 and 29 our rooms overlooking the backside..... but remember this is an old house that beside many positives factors it's not the muffled new hotel I regret! So very but very lite lite sleepers should bring earplugs or advice the reception by the time you make the reservation so that we can arrange the best soltion for you!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hotel David is one of the best hotels we've stayed in! The staff were helpful and accommodating providing useful snippets of information about the area and travel, to freshly made cappuccinos in the morning on the terrace. Our room was clean, comfortable and had beautiful views from our balcony (an unexpected surprise). We were also delighted with the generous hospitality of Hotel David with a free mini bar and excellent free broadband access. The daily Happy Hour (also included) gave visitors a chance to relax each evening before heading into the centre of Florence.

The whole atmosphere of the hotel was warm and welcoming and would be a great choice for couples and families alike. Don't be put off by the location of the hotel, the walk to the centre takes you along the River Arno giving great views of the Duomo and the Ponte Vecchio bridge, especially at sunset. Alternatively, there's a bus that runs every 15 minutes from just around the corner.

We'll definitely be back and will recommend Hotel David to all our friends and family.

Thank you for such a memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us I'm happy you enjoyed our location and I'm sure I'll have the plaseure to welcoem you again here at the David.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

we were a family of 6 travailing to florence, we were staying at hotel David.

PROS.
amazing service
amazing location
easy access to real Tucson restaurants
comfy beds
amazing happy hour
highly recommend it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I really thank you for coming to stay at Hotel David I'm sure to see you back one day here at HD!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 3,271 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#13 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing