We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. A special place to stay”
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We fell in love with this hotel the momentwe arrived and were devastated when we realised we were only staying one night. We are a couple in our twenties currently travelling around Europe. We had planned a short stop over in Florence while driving from Rome to Lake Como. We wish it was longer. The location is brilliant - just a short walk along the river into town and easily accessible by car and with plenty of parking. But it is the hotel itself, the rooms, the staff and the service that really make this a special place. We stayed in a king room on the top floor. The room was enormous and beautifully appointed - a close tie for the most comfortable of our entire trip to date. The balcony was extremely relaxing and had a view of the surrounding garden and, in the distance, Il Duomo. The garden and terrace areas in which you enjoy happy hour and breakfast, respectively, could not be more delightful. And the overall mood and helpfulness of the staff was second to none. We have already recommended this hotel to family and friends and we will certainly be back one day

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Wow.....I feel sorry you spent only one night in Florence but I'm happy you left with the wish to come back in the future and I'm sure we will always trying to do the best for our Guests friends!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,515 - 1,521 of 3,317 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Best hotel of our entire six-week trip to Europe. Lovely staff, nice room, great breakfast and afternoon tea. Even had free parking, which allowed us to avoid the nightmare of having a car in Florence! I would strongly recommend this hotel for a trip to Florence - we will be back and will stay longer next time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaperKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

NIce to be your n1 in your entire trip to Europe! We will keep doing our best to keep to above your expectations.....
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We chose this hotel as we wanted one with easy access and parking....we made the right choice! We stayed for two nights and from arrival to departure we had no complaints.
The receptionist was very welcoming, our room was large and although on the ground floor the electric shutters ensured that we got a great nights sleep. The shower(s) were brilliant!
There are so many freebies included in the price - free drinks and nibbles in the evening, free wi-fi and use of the hotels 2 computers in the lounge, and even a free phone call home each day!
It is a good 25/30 minute walk to the centre but in my view that is a bonus as you are away from the cruise ship crowds and the general hustle and bustle of Florence.
Would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 if you want to be on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Uau...thank you for liking our location we are proud to be little off from the crowd and I see that most of our Guest understood that it's an advantage!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel David for four nights in July and had an excellent experience. The greeting at reception was friendly and relaxed but efficient - this set the tone for our stay. The staff were exceptionally helpful throughout our holiday.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with SILENT air conditioning - hurrah! The bathroom was spotless with a roomy shower cubicle and great shower. A welcome cake and a fridge with complimentary soft drinks and snacks was a nice touch, and further drinks, beers etc and snacks were available at reasonable cost from an honesty bar downstairs. Happy hour provided complimentary wine, soft drinks and snacks each evening. Breakfast provided the only cooked eggs and bacon we had during our stay in Italy, plus the usual range of cold stuff and some tasty cakes.

The location suited us as we were out of the busier streets but close enough to walk into town ( about 15 mins to the Uffizi). There is a bus if you don't want to walk. The taxi from the railway station cost about 17 Euros.

I'm so glad we stayed here, I can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LITTLEHOLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay here at the David and I'm happy you had good time with us and all we have done and doing to provide a superior service at a reasonable price is giving good feed backs!
Anytime you decide to come and visit us again we will be here.....with new services and tips!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Was very nice stay. Staff extremely helpful and spoke very good English. Rooms are large with high ceilings. Bathrooms the same. Clean, Spotless etc. Happy Hour included light snacks and fizzy drink. Wished we could have stayed longer. Its a good 15 minute walk to main part of Florence and in the heat its quite a sweaty walk. Tv had one English channel that I could find and because the tv's are computer monitors the sound is echoey.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for you coming to stay with us and I'm happy to see that you had good time.
We inform all our Guests that on our tv you find Cnn, Fox news, SKY cinema, SKY sport, Yacht and sail , National Geographic, Fox business, SKY cinema family and Fox life. The quality is not HD but soon will be better!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I find it hard to express how special this place is.

Staff are super friendly,helpful, and make it very homely. Always a smile and a chat, nothing is to much of a problem, and quite frankly it is the most relaxing hotel I have ever stayed at.

Honesty bar has a great selection, and very reasonable prices.

Happy hour = free wine and nibbles in a stunning court yard.

Bedroom clean and tidy, cleaners also very jolly.

10 minute walk along the river to the centre, perfect to walk off the wine, and food.

I cannot explain its ambiance either, just very relaxing and special.

I have recommended this place to friends and family.

Thank you ever so much for the free beer as we were leaving too :-)

Would love to return.

Mr and Mrs Gallaway.

Room Tip: Room #1 has a 4 poster bed, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenGallaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Honeymooners,

Happy to see that you are safe back home and you keep a good memory of the place and of our marvelous city of Florence.
I'm sure to welcome you in an year time for your first anniversary!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed six nights at the Hotel David and it was superb. First of all the staff were very helpful, our room was large, bright and airy. We had a large balcony with a view looking towards the Duomo. The owner Gabriel has thought of all the little things that make a stay with them memorable. Breakfast was fresh and more than adequate and provided in a bright sunny breakfast room or out on the terrace. This hotel fully deserves its top rating on Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Rooms 30 or 31 have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review if you stay for a week you get so in love with David that you'll cry the day of your departure!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#7 of 409 in Florence
1,437 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 409 in Florence
3,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 409 in Florence
556 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#8 of 409 in Florence
1,075 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $144 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing