We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Impeccable service and friendly smiles.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #2 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Impeccable service and friendly smiles.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Travelling with my 78 year old mother and our 2 year old around the Italian must do cities was never going to be easy - Hotel David quickly gained full approvals by all parties and raised our morale.

The location is convenient for the bus into town and there are plenty of small stores and little cafes and bars nearby. The buses were being diverted whilst we were there but the street signs are easily read so getting off at the right place will be a simple task.

It is a pleasant and smart neighbourhood. We could see the Duomo from my mothers room. Little touches like the free minibar on your first day, free Nespresso whenever you fancy one and a nip of brandy being on the house plus the impeccable friendly service makes this hotel one to experience. Free parking too but I would advise you to check with them by email first in high season.

The fresh cakes and flans at breakfast were worth getting up early for.

We have stayed in hotels around the world for extended periods on business and we travel extensively for pleasure . Hotel David is one of the best.

Room Tip: Just book and you will get a good room. You can email beforehand and rest assured, you will get a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danehardinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Nice to heat from you I'm happy you had good time here at the David I understand that traveling with full family is never easy and because of that we tried to give you top assistance and as I see we succeeded.
Say hello to Emily for our party!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,489
    283
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
553
1,687
70
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We've done flash hotels in Hong Kong, motels in USA, pubs in UK and eco-resorts in Australia but this hotel has just about the best combination I've ever stayed at. Maybe we were lucky with the room allocation (huge, new bathroom) but fabulous place with unbelievably good service. 15 min walk to the Duomo but bikes available and cycle tracks right into town. Thanks to everyone at the Hotel for a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 30 or 31 have a patio with view to the Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tennysoncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to see us and I'm happy to be your number 1 and see you next time you decide to come to Florence then!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We are just preparing to depart and will echo all the high praise bestowed on this hotel. The walk to city center is easy for those who walk. The breakfast is excellent and we have enjoyed the best cappuccinos of our trip. Taking the bus to the rail station is a winding journey but if you are not in a rush, no problem. Hotel staff was outstanding in every way and the hotel makes you feel most comfortable. The evening cocktail hour was a sweet touch not just because you got to enjoy a little wine but because you got to meet other travelers and share stories and ideas. When we come back to florence, this is where we will stay. Bravo!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseSlome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words of appreciation, and a big thank you comes from Raffaele (cappuccino men) who is receiving his first note of appreciation after 3 weeks training with senior Maria at breakfast!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Just leaving hotel David now after a lovely 3 day stay. It's a beautiful hotel with lots of nice personal touches and great attention to detail. Other reviewers have already described the happy hour, honesty bar, laundry, and the general atmosphere at the hotel which is warm and inviting without ever being intrusive, and we would echo all the praise. It's a world removed from the anonymous 4 and 5 star chains with their characterless rooms and "free slippers" and we will definitely return here in the future. The complimentary champagne and cake on arrival was a beautiful surprise on our honeymoon tour of Italy. Oh, and Florence is fab too!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mach42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your review I welcomed you at your arrival and I'm so happy you had good time during your honeymoon in Florence.
Yes our David has only 3 stars and free sleepers only under request.........
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hotel David is deserving of the number one hotel in Florence. It has a fantastic atmosphere, great sized rooms, excellent staff and the happy hour is a great way to start the night with free drinks and snacks. Only concern for us, although not a big one, was the location. It is a good 20 minute walk into Florence and if you have been travelling around a lot you may not feel like the walk (the bus is an easy option too however). Perfect location if you are planning day trips to Tuscany and Cinque Terre as there is parking at the hotel and most tour companies can offer pickups from Hotel David. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for staying with us we are happy you had good vibes and I remind all our future Guests that we are not exactly downtown but 20 minutes walking distance from Ponte Vecchio or 4 minutes by D line bus.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Hotel David for 2 nights in April and wish it could have been longer. There is just nothing wrong with this hotel - no wonder it is the top rated hotel on TripAdvisor for Florence. The room was spacious with plenty of room for our luggage. The bathroom had room to move around in and the shower was great. Welcoming staff, good breakfast, good happy hour, many personal touches. They have a laundry downstairs for a cost. We really enjoyed staying here and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TampaTraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm very happy that so many Guests are trusting us and for sure a good reputation helps but don't forget that it's you that are making this place special!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We decided to return to Hotel David as we had visited it just over 10 years ago and felt so welcome and superbly looked after. The reception staff are all so friendly and our room was large and spotlessly clean and so prettily decorated. The hotel had expanded since we last stayed but there was still such a personal feel that you couldn't help but feel that you'd never been away. It is only a leisurely walk from the city centre and you feel out of the melee in the area itself. Every evening there is a happy hour (hour and a half actually) when all guests are invited to mingle and get to know each other over complimentary drinks and canapés. You have one free minibar during your stay and there is an honesty bar just off the lounge area. We have recommended the hotel to everyone who asks and my sister has already booked a break for her and her daughter in July. Would always go back

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but at the front you have the views..your choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was nice to see you back at the David and thank you for remembering us after so long time!
Anytime you decide to return you know where we are!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 3,299 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#14 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing