We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #3 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and it was as good as all the previous reviewers had stated. The accommodation was spacious and the service was always friendly. An excellent breakfast was complemented by a happy hour in the evening where wine, soft drinks and snacks were offered along with an opportunity to meet the other guests.
The hotel is only fifteen minutes walk alongside the Arno River to the Ponte Vecchio, but there is a taxi rank immediately outside the hotel and the local bus service just minutes away for the less mobile.
The proprietors have clearly worked hard to identify their clients' needs and wishes; it makes for an excellent experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I great thank you for your words of appreciation I'm happy you had good time here at the David and you understood our efforts to make this place enjoyable to all our Guests!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,438
    280
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
546
1,650
70
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I am a tour business owner and took a group of women to Hotel David in September for a one-night stay. This was based on TripAdvisor reviews as I was not familiar with this property.

We had a wonderful experience. We needed to drop off the group's bags early in the morning to rush to a tour and the hotel staff could not have been nicer about it. The rooms and amenities were very nice and the breakfast varied and bountiful.

The free parking is a big plus in Florence and the hotel is is out-of-the-way of the busy center so it peaceful.

I will return in May with my husband for 5 nights. I am looking forward to it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SerFromItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We remember you because we generally don't accept groups but this time we did a favor to a colleague close by and we all remember you, and we are happy you are coming to visit soon!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was the least expensive hotel we stayed at during our trip through Italy; however it was one of my favorites. The rooms were clean, the bathroom was large, and the staff was friendly. It was not in Florence but we were easily able to utilize the bus or a taxi to get to our destinations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas_Chameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Keep it secret! Not necessarily the more expensive place is the one more emocional!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france and spain
Level Contributor
179 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The location is excellent, not in town but easily accessible by the bus that stops right nearby. The room we had was large and very comfortable with an excellent bathroom. As long as you remember this is a three star hotel and seemed to have mostly English or American tourists who enjoy meeting each other, you will find it most comfortable. The welcome by Chiara was very warm. The parking outside with a gate that closes at night very convenient. The breakfast very satisfactory. Happy hour was popular with tables outside. Having a laundry room downstairs proved a bonus on a two-week trip through Italy. I was blown away to see that they had two Mac Computers available in the lounge for anyone to use. A well-oganized, clean and well-run hotel with no surprises.

Room Tip: You may prefer to be away from the road on the ground floor if you want windows open when the aircon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casden8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Exactly we are an hotel where people feel at home and where you can relax and enjoy your experience in Florence!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Want to feel as though you actually "live" in Italy, Hotel David is the quaint, real Italian place to stay. Stand up showers, room, unbelievably priced. If you're looking for 5th avenue, don't come here. If you want to experience ITALY, you will wait in line for this place! 10-15 minute walk from everywhere in Florence.

Room Tip: Use the nearby bus service if weather is inclement. If not walk all around Florence. What a city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincenzo1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Right ...we are not 5th avenue but a genuine opportunity for all travelers who want to experience italy in its simplicity.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking and was a bit cynical....can it really be that good?? The answer is yes, Hotel David will not disappoint you. We stayed for two nights and were sad to leave. We were extremely surprised to be allocated room 31 which was such a beautiful room including a terrace with a view of the Duomo. My husband kept saying he felt like a rockstar sitting on the terrace in his PJs watching Florence wake up in the morning!! The staff are really helpful, speak extremely good English. All around the hotel you'll find small touches to make you smile like the small animals painted on the staircase...access to Mac computers at no charge, the free aperitif and nibbles in the evening, a large library of tourist information to help yourself to....magazines everywhere.

I'd like to extend a very sincere thank you to everyone at Hotel David. You have restored my faith in Italian hotels and we will definitely come again....but please could we have room 31 again!!

Well done, you deserve the excellent reviews you receive.

Room Tip: I think being on the third floor will get you away from the traffic below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for this post, there is only one room 31 and if now requested with considerable time in advance.....we provide that room for special event as a surprise!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for my 60th birthday this April. Staff couldn't be more helpful as well as so friendly. Hotel knew it was my birthday and left a bottle of fizz and a cake for my arrival. Excellent happy hour each night with a range of snacks and wine free, as well as one free mini bar fridge for your stay - once it was empty then you paid to top it up. They also offered free wifi as well as a free phone call each day to home country. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us for this so special happening I understand that expectation is very high but what it magic is that our Guests feel part of something here at the David and accept the hotel as it is and old house where people are happy just for the pleasure to be here even if it's not a luxury hotel!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 3,266 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#13 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing