We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal”
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #2 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ideal”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

With so many kind reviews it is difficult to find something new to say about this very pleasant Hotel after staying for 5 nights.
My wife and I stayed in early Feb 2013 and this part of Italy is much colder than when I used to often visit in the 1980's.(mild snowing two days)...climate change I guess,so it was satisfying to return to a always warm and convivial welcome after days out.
Placed just off of a busy road junction the Hotel desk hired us a vehicle(delivered) to the free adjacent car park (which gets busy weekends although the staff shuffle the cars about when blocked in)all with the minimum of fuss.
As mentioned before this place is spotless and the linen and towls are to be commended as was the ensuite toilet and shower room with a bidet.Two shower heads one rainforest and the other on high sliding connection were in a ample sized space(I hate confined shower cabinets) and the water power was top class.
Many clients enjoyed the early evening get together in the Hotel but we had booked different restaraunts each evening(see Cibreo review) and after being out all day mainly walking we didnt participate but it looked a good scene.
The streets of Firenze are not really pedestrian friendly(nor car as they are mainly banned other than trade vehicles and taxis) many streets are uneven and cycle dodging can become a new hobby,however with Hotel David you do need to walk to town centre which we enjoy but some may not and we only had a couple of taxis which are much more reasonable than the Portofino area of Italy!!
Thank you to all the staff for their unending helpfulness.
BTW ..Taxis from the Airport charge a set price of €20 to any hotel plus one euro each piece of luggage...which is nice...but watch they do not set the meter running as the guy on the way back tried to do.

Room Tip: Our first floor with balcony was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sportingDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for this long review explaining many tips about the hotel and Florence itself; we keep doing all efforts to make you feel welcome and to provide the best service that we are able to.
One extra tip for all travellers: the fixed price for taxi ride from-to Florence Airport is real but always ask for receipt it's the only way we can help you in case of something strange happens....
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,856
    305
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
639
1,936
80
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A fantastic hotel to stay in. The staff are all very friendly and will help with all queries even booking us on a trip and arranging for us to be picked up outside the hotel.
The room was spotless, the cleaner even folded up my teenager's clothes, and big enough for all 3 of us to have our own space in. At breakfast we were spoilt for choice and managed to have something different everyday. We also found a great pizza restaurant around the corner that served freshly made delicious pizzas and pasta. Happy hour was also a great way to start the evening and meet fellow hotel guests from all over the world.
The walk to the centre of Florence or the Ponte Vecchio was a great way to start and end the day and a walk up to the Piazza Michelangelo is worth it for the views.
We hope to go back to Florence and would never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Triple room 25 was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caffreys6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us I'm glad you had good time with us and thank you for promoting our location which is coming up every day more convenient to our travellers who came to stay with us!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Everything about this hotel is ideal...it's hard to pick out something in particular that stood out as the whole experience was fantastic and we can't wait to come back again! The staff are brilliant, so welcoming, friendly and helpful, you feel like you are at home. The rooms are spotless and comfortable with thoughtful details. Our favourite part was happy hour that lasts from 18.30-20.00, when you can help yourself completely free of charge to a huge selection of drinks and snacks. Brilliantly located away from the tourist crowds in central Florence but only a 15min walk or very easy bus journey (stop right outside the hotel to the centre.) Grazie mille to Hotel David for making our holiday!!

Room Tip: Room No. 1 has a four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Eh eh I see that the happy hour has always good feedbacks and I'm so happy that our Guests understand that our Hotel David is not a place to find anything special but just a place where you feel at home and where the staff is doing it's best to help you to enjoy your holiday in Florence!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

From the moment we were greeted at the door on our arrival we sensed that this was a special place. Without exception, all of the staff from the gardener upwards were happy in their work and the atmosphere throughout the hotel was relaxed and friendly. Without ever going over the top, the rooms were all furnished stylishly with an attention to detail that was apparent throughout. Happy Hour (which lasted at least two hours) brought the guests together socially in a way that made the hotel more than a collection of rooms. Free wifi, free phone calls and other services were just the beginning of the many small kindnesses that show that here is a hotel that measures success in terns of visitor satisfaction rather than in euros.

If you don't relish the 20 minute walk to the centre, there are buses every ten minutes from across the road that go past the Ponte Vecchio. We had Firenze Cards for our stay, which meant the buses were free. Nevertheless we only used the bus once, instead preferring the walk, exploring both banks of the Arno on the way to the centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words of appreciation, I'm happy to see that my way to approach the job creates a feeling of relax both in the Guests and with the employees too!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oloron-Sainte-Marie, France
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel David is a very pleasant hotel within a ten minute walk of the centre of Florence along the river Arno. The bus stops just outside the hotel if you do not fancy the walk . The rooms are clean and comfortable and we arrived to a bottle of prosecco and a little cake in our room as we had booked the hotel as part of our 40th anniversary trip - a nice welcoming touch . The hotel provides a full free mini bar and a free daily phone call home and a happy hour every evening free with nibbles and drinks , so all in all it is very good value. The staff are exceptionally pleasant and helpful and the breakfast room whilst small and sometimes a bit busy was fine - and most of what one could require was provided . I personally would have liked tea and coffee in the room but you could just pop downstairs to get a hot drink so it was not a big deal . We had a fine five nights at the David and enjoyed our time in Florence - would recommend the hotel strongly , it is clean the beds are very good - the hotel is quiet and all in all a very positive experience .

Room Tip: We had a view of the Doumo from our room - 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darling10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you for coming to stay with us for such an important happening and I'm glad you had good time here at the David! Next time you come to visit us remember that room service is available with no extra charge!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Excellent! Rooms were a good size, very clean and comfortable, excellent plumbing, good lighting, everything seemed to be with the guest in mind.

We walked into Florence every day, just 15 minutes to the Ponte Vecchio. There are restaurants within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. I found the hotel to be just perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words I'm really happy you had good time here at the hotel David where the Staff always give the best effort to make you feel welcome.
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just returned from our third trip to Florence and Hotel David. It's a family run hotel and Gabriele, Chiara and all the staff provide outstanding personal service and a willingness to assist in any way possible. We had a beautiful room with a terrace which had fabulous views of the city. The room was also sparkling clean.

We love the location as it's less touristy and there are some great restaurants close by.

We will happily return to Hotel David again and again and again..................

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelloverBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Repeter Guest, are like friends for us we know each other already and it's really like receiving a friend you haven't seen for a wile!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,499 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 412 in Florence
1,300 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#3 of 412 in Florence
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,775 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 412 in Florence
797 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 412 in Florence
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing