We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in every way”
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #2 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in late November. We found the hotel to be perfect. Charming and helpful staff, bountiful breakfast and a happy hour topped off with a lovely, spacious room and a comfotable bed made up with lovely linens. It is in a great location. It is within walking distance of the sights, but still off the beaten path away from the throngs of tourists. We were there in inclement weather, but the location still works.......since the bus practically drops you at the front door. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for the nice words about the hotel! I'happy you had good time with us here at the David and as I supposed our location is perfect for the travellers who wish to stay very close to town but far enough to be our of the crowd!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,246)
There are newer reviews for Hotel David
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,604 - 1,610 of 3,246 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We chose this hotel thanks to the good reviews on Trip Advisor and even so were surprised by all the good points at this gem of a hotel. Everything is nice in it, even the fact is is not situated in the middle of the historical center of Florence: it is only a pleasant walk away from it, along the Arno river. If you are tired after a long visit to the palaces, take a taxi there and pay around 5 euros for it. The staff is unbelievably nice and helpful, service is extra generous and efficient, breakfast is the best possible, the free snacks at the happy hour delicious and much, much more. In a word: we really recommend it and will certainly be back, as soon as we possibly can.

Room Tip: Since they have a lift, a back facing room in the upper floors is highly recommended.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarment0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Nice to see that you had good time with us here at the David and you appreciated our way to welcome our Guests. I'm sure next time you will decide to come back to Florence we will have the pleasure of welcome you as a repeter Guest then!
A big thank you to all our Guests who have given us the Service Award 2013!

Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We are staying here at the David right now! Booked because of the high TripAdvisor rating. I will never doubt the website again. Everyone was so right. Friends pushed us to stay elsewhere, but we assumed so many positive reviews must have some validity to them. Glad we made that decision. Can we just live here permanently? Jay Dayton, Ohio

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words of appreciation I'm glad you had good time and you didn't want to leave the David.........then if you want to come a resident Guest we can work on a good deal for you!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Based on our own scoring system, we score this hotel 8.8 out of 10, ranks 3 out of 8 among all the hotels we booked during the europe trip. *** Win => Service, Room size and Bath room: 5.0/5.0, Clean: 4.75/5.0. *** Loss => Location: 2.5/5.0 *** Other comments: Free minibar. Complementary wine for honeymoon traveler. *** Highlight: Happy hour => Free drinks and snacks are served before dinner time at lobby. Check it with hotel staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler_L_Liu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you to have put us on your personal podium! Our location is not a secret we are 20 minutes walk to the Ponte Vecchio bridge!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The positive feedback left by others were spot on about Hotel David. We were particularly impressed by service we received from Chiara, who pointed us to the great restaurant locations including her favorite pizzeria [Gattabuia] ; Ernesto, who took care of our early taxi reservation back to the Firenze airport and Vittoria, who showed us how that there is a remote button to lower the blinds if you are staying in the quadruple room on the first floor [which is very spacious] like we were and who brought us cappucino's and hot chocolate to our room when we missed the breakfast! We can attest to the little things that others have mentioned but I do have to mention about the surprise we had when we checked in. We reserved online and I guess we had a special offer to a free lunch at Trattoria Bordino in the Ponte Vecchio area which turned out really nice! I would not recommend buying the three day bus pass since you can easily walk back and forth from the hotel to the Ponte Vecchio area. If you do wish to take the bus, it is easy enough to catch the D bus right into the town, however there was no direct way to return to the hotel [at least we could not figure it out] and we spent considerable time on the bus going on its route. Much easy and faster to walk back to the hotel if you can manage it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ctokirio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm glad you had good time with us here at the David and I'm very happy you remember Ernesto, our night consierge, a new entry in our Staff!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Having a first trip overseas as a single parent with teenagers it was a bit overwhelming! Until we reached the Hotel David. The staff was so incredibly helpful we actually cut short the end of our trip to return to Florence and the Hotel David. They helped with extrememly accurate and easy walking and driving directions, called cabs, suggested great restaurants, and even moved and parked our car for us. It has to be one of the best places we have ever stayed. And the room was great with 3 beds!

Room Tip: no restaurant but happy hour snacks and breakfast were awesome
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lawmomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Nice to see that you are back home and you carry good memories of your stay at Hotel David and we will do as much as we can to keep our standard so that when you will be back we will still be your best hotel!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We loved this hotel. The attention to detail, the friendliness of the staff, the location, the rooms and breakfast were top class! Just little things like our luggage being taken to our room whilst we checked in, then to find a cake on our bed with a little note wishing us a happy holiday, a complimentary mini bar and snacks just marks this hotel out as the best we stayed in on our tour of Italy. Would highly recommend this hotel to friends & family, it really is top notch.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HerefordshireAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your words of appreciation we have been working very hard to rise the standard of our quality of the service trying not to rise the price of the rooms with simple things that have great conversion feedbacks! We have new ideas for this year just stated so I sure you will find something new next time you decide to come an visit Florence again!
I wish you a great begionning of the year!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#11 of 411 in Florence
3,519 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,358 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#3 of 411 in Florence
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#14 of 411 in Florence
523 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,808 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#22 of 411 in Florence
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $160 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing