We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel David

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel David
Ranked #1 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Hotel David is a great place to stay. The owners travel themselves and understand what you actually need and want. We stayed for five days in a beautiful spacious room with a balcony and views. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, and there were refreshments available when you wanted them at minimal cost plus free happy hour and 1x mini bar free. We were grateful for the excellent laundry facilities. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PsammomaBody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
You make our job very enjoyable and it's true we travel ourself and try to imagine what we would wish to find available at the hotel when we arrive and what it is a must to have!
As soon as you decide to come back we will be here with new services available!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,593
    288
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
577
1,758
74
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

What can I say?

The Hotel David's best asset (of many!) is the staff - professional, expert, friendly and welcoming, with excellent English. We arrived on Christmas Day - everything closed in Florence - but the hotel was open and ready for us.

Our room was spacious and in immaculate condition - everything in working order.

This hotel ticks all the boxes ...

* free parking (a rarity in Florence)
* fast reliable Wifi
* self laundry (wonderful when travelling for weeks in Europe)
* tasty breakfast
* good shower (pressure and consistent temperature)
* thick fluffy towels
* room safe (great for valuables when exploring Florence)
* huge king-size bed
* good restaurants nearby
* taxi stand outside
* bus stop nearby
* nightly 'happy hour' - generous nibbles and wine
* free phone call home (much appreciated at Christmas)
* help with maps, directions, postage, bus tickets sold at reception
* double glazing (quiet) and electronic shutters

I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else next time I come to Florence and my only worry in writing this review is that it might make it less likely to be able to book again!!

Room Tip: For a triple room (huge king) and single we found Room #2 very suitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigmadelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are impressed and we are happy that you had a remarkable stay here at the David and we thank you for your words of appreciation!
I miss Nz a lot and It has been an honor to welcome you here!
I wish you all the best for the year coming!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is Simply perfect. The staff are most friendly and welcoming, and very helpful. The rooms are spacious, warm, clean and neat, and with wifi throughout. Top that up with a superb breakfast and it truly is the best. Will come back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZLKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

I like this! It's always a good sensation to read that you had good time with us and you are looking forward to be back once! I assure you we will be there and always trying to offer you different things useful to your needs during traveling but don't look for luxury here we you will not find!
I wish you a merry Xmas and all the best for the new year coming!
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This Hotel David is a gem in Tuscany's crown. Brilliantly friendly staff. Great building with charm and character. Our room was personally presented and prepared for our arrival with a cake and free fully stocked mini bar. You can even ring your home country for free. So happy here we extended our stay another 3 days. Free breakfast was a great way to start the day. Huge room. Free wifi. Love this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mooshy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay here at the David I'm glad you had the possibility to extend your stay it's a very good sign of appreciation!
I wish you a merry Christmas and a super new year!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have stayed at many hotels and Hotel David was very good value for money. The hotel was scrupulously clean with nice décor.
It ticks all the boxes -nice bedrooms, good cooked breakfast, fast free WiFi, happy hour, free parking, walking distance to city centre and very helpful friendly staff. I will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

We have done a hard work since ever to provide an excellent customer care and hopefully the best compromise quality rate.....but we can always do better and we never stop!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenagers) spent 4 nights at Hotel David in December. We had a quadruple room (double bed and two singles with a large bathroom) which was more than adequate for a family who are on the go sightseeing all day. A large part of this hotel's charms are both the things that it is "not" and the "extras" that are included. Whilst the hotel is is not in the centre of town it is a flat and easy 15 minute walk or 5 minute / 10 Euro taxi ride to the Duomo or the Ponte Vecchio, or an equally short trip on the bus. It only has 25 rooms so isn't big and doesnt have a pool or gym, but as a result doesn't ever seem crowded, and all the extras really are great value. We enjoyed several of the 'happy hours' meeting guests from other nations over free wine and snacks, breakfast was a great mix of home-baked goodies, meats, cheeses, cereals and juices, and they even catered for our 'special needs' (gluten-free and lactose-free). WiFi was free and fast (great for internet addicted teenagers!). A great bonus is the self-service laundry at 6 Euro a load, great value when you are travelling for a long time! Front desk staff were always friendly and helpful providing directions and restaurant recommendations. We very much enjoyed our stay which provided a fantastic base for our 'assault' on Florence. Thanks to the staff at Hotel David - mission accomplished!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The4CarrollsOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

I'm happy you have accomplished your mission and I'm glad you ware successful!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX USA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

The reviews were great so we booked Hotel David for 5 nights. We ended up staying 7. It's that good.

Gebriele Cecioni runs a first class botique hotel that caters to English speaking guests. It is an 1850's home converted into a four story hotel with elevator. Hotel is immaculate, very well maintained and rooms comfortable, bathrooms modern. Ten reasons to choose this hotel in Florence:
1. Location--on the "other side" of the Arno River--quiet but convenient. 20 minute walk to center of Florence.
2. Transport--the "D" bus end of line is in front of the hotel and runs to the main railroad station (Stazione Central). Cost to ride: 1.2 Euro. Several other buses stop in front of hotel and cabs park there also.
3. Very good trattoria's and other eateries nearly. Front desk has excellent map, and will provide directions and reservations if desired.
4. Price--for Florence, this is a bargain any way you look at it.
5. Wine hour with snacks is great social mingling time with other hotel guests. Super time to exchange ideas of what to see and do in area.
6. There is a washer and dryer you can use for a small fee.
7. Breakfast is excellent--Maria and the lady who bakes everything on premises do a super job.
8.Very friendly staff--always eager to assist.
9. New 4th floor rooms (called 3rd floor in Europe) were completed in past year and very nice--as is rest of hotel.
10. If driving, there is a small parking lot in front of the hotel.

When we go back to Florence, this is where we will choose to stay.

Room Tip: The top floor--referred to as 3rd floor--are new rooms with very modern bathrooms. Our room, #33, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXDavid937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDavid, Owner at Hotel David, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for coming to stay with us and for staying more than the nights you booked originally! Thank you also for your the display of the 10 reasons to come and stay with us this makes our job much easier!
Next time you decide to come back to Florence we will be here!
My best,
Gabriele Cecioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#2 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#3 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel David

Property: Hotel David
Address: Viale Michelangiolo, 1, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel David 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk to the historic center or to the surrounding green hills, the Hotel David in Florence is a perfect place to begin and end the day in one of the world's most beautiful cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing