We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Hotel City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel City
Ranked #59 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We chose this Hotel on it's reputation and weren't disappointed. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The Hotel lobby and rooms were beautiful. The magnificent Breakfast served was close to being the best on our European holiday. Hotel City is in the heart of Florence meaning an easy walk to all of the major attractions. The railway station is a 5 minute walk away. We can recommend Trattoria Zaza, a lovely restaurant 5 minutes walk up the street.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 524 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

We recently stayed only one night at Hotel City. We had to eventually have a taxi guide us to this hotel as we drove into the city to return a rental car. Although I arrived only a block from the hotel driving, I didn't know I was supposed to weave through a cobbled parking lot to get to it. You really need a taxi driver to show you how to navigate the one way roads.

The rooms are very comfortable, clean, and the bathroom was the largest we saw in all of Italy. It reminded me of our large American bathrooms.

This location is perfect for your walking tour of Florence but be prepared to walk. To see the sights you do need to walk around Florence. And, if you get a chance to stay longer than a day, I highly recommend you visit one of the art museums to truly get the Firenze experience. Florence (Firenze) is known for his art and if you only judge based on walking around, you will become disillusioned with all of the tourists hanging around.

The market place is very busy and closeby. Once they close up for the nights, the streets look a bit dirty but the cleanest you will see Florence is early in the morning.

We ate at a nice restaurant right across the street from Hotel City and had great service. Most folks speak a little English although I tried to speak Italian whenever I could. I would stay there again. It was clean, great location and you can't go wrong as you are close to some beautiful landmarks. You have to love the air conditioning.

We were leaving early the next morning so they did us a favor and opened breakfast 30 min early just so we would have something before we left. Very nice of them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Hotel is in a quiet street, but very close to both train station and city center with all attractions. Nice and clean rooms, brand new bathroom. Helpful staff. Very good breakfast. Can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Although this hotel is only two blocks from the S M N train Station in Florence, it is on a quieter street and we heard no train noise. Classic historic sites are nearby including the 13th Century Santa Maria Novella Church which is worth a tour. Restaurants, piazzas, a couple small grocery stores are a very short distance away. We enjoyed a two room suite, though small by U S standards. Staff was helpful and breakfast was great. The Duomo, Accademia, and the Uffizi are several blocks away. Price was reasonable for Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street. They accomodated mus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snarf1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Close proximity to Santa Maria Novella train station but seems miles away in terms of the serene atmosphere once you enter the hotel; public areas were nicely appointed; staff was very helpful; room was quiet, clean, and bathroom appeared to be recently updated; breakfast was great with cheese, proscuitto, fresh fruit, multiple types of pastries, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, juices, cereal, etc. Even through breakfast is laid out and you serve yourself like most boutique hotels or B & B's there was attentive service from a very sweel gal every morning asking what she could bring in terms of coffee, tea, etc. Would definitely stay here again; wonderful location in terms of walking distance to everything

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust34212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We visit this hotel is the second time. Excellent location, cleanliness and comfort in the rooms, polite and helpful staff. Be sure to come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in April 2012. Our room overlooked the pedestrian friendly street. The double paned windows provided excellent sound insulation, so street noise was not a problem. The sitting room, the breakfast room, and other common areas were nicely decorated. Breakfast included a delicious assortment of pastries, breads, fresh fruit, cereals, meat and cheese. Cappucino, coffee or tea was served as you were seated. Za-za's restaurant, recommended by the front desk, was good and close to the hotel. Pinnochio's, another nearby restaurant, served great pizza and salads. The hotel is an easy walk to the train, bus station and the Central Market (a great place for buying picnic food). All very convenient for our day trips to the countryside. Tip: Use the pedestrian tunnel to get to the train station. We look forward to staying here again when we return to Florence.

Room Tip: I have stayed in both a courtyard room and a room that faces the street. The courtyard room was more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waypix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#67 of 410 in Florence
612 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#75 of 410 in Florence
1,316 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#81 of 410 in Florence
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,323 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#62 of 410 in Florence
911 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City

Address: Via Sant'Antonino 18 | San Lorenzo District, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $103 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing