We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stay in Florence.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Byron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Byron
Ranked #389 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice stay in Florence.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

When you read certain bad reviews people posts on Tripadvisor we are always weary what to believe. Anyway we took the plunge and booked Byron Hotel in Florence. The reason being the location, just 3 minutes to the bus and train station. I am not saying this is a 5 star hotel. If I wanted 5 star we would have paid through the nose.The hotel is very reasonable priced, comfortable. and served the purpose we wanted it for. Enjoying and touring Tuscany and coming to a warm and clean room to rest our heads. The staff were not friendly at all. It is enough to say that that one of the receptionists used to watch telly in the sitting room and takes control of the 'remote' so that he could watch football never mind that we were watching !!!!!!!! But I have to mention one of the receptionist ALBERT from ALBANIA. Albert makes Byron hotel more enjoyable. His lovely smile, and his greetings made anybody welcome. When we had toured so much and got stuck to where to go. Albert gave us ideas about remote places not much frequented by tourists. These suggestions were of great help, he even found out for us buses and trains time tables. So once again thanks ALbert.... from all the group from Malta. You have made our day more enjoyable. Anyone staying at Byron ask for ALBERT. The management should be proud of this employee. One suggestion to the owners of this hotel a toaster in the dinning room for breakfast would make coming down for breakfast more welcoming.... The smell of toast will sure warm your heart.

Room Tip: fourth floor rooms were quiet and comfy but 4005 noise filtered from the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjucca100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    34
    82
    74
    117
See reviews for
51
90
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Byron Hotel does a good job of selling itself online. Sadly, in reality it hardly lives up to its online persona.

Yes, the location of the Byron Hotel is great. It is only a short walk (15 mins) to the main area of interest around the Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore and an even shorter walk (5 mins) to the main train station.
Yes, it is comparatively cheap... no hotels in Florence are bank account friendly, but this is one of the more digestible options.
And yes, top floor rooms (4th I think) offer a pretty charming view across the Fiorentini skyline.

However, most other elements don't stack up. Rooms are small, rather unclean and certainly falling apart. The beds were not comfy at all and were clearly not made for anyone over 6ft.
Bathroom was standard at first inspection but mould, dirt and general disappointment lurk within every crevice.
Breakfast was uninspiring (croissants, yoghurt, toast and jams with drinks). Wi-fi is available but its painfully slow.
Parking ... is ... well 1. a nightmare to find as no information is provided. To access the Narnia of the parking world you must find a nondescript side road which is frustratingly located around the busiest intersection in the city AND on a one-way system. 2. Once identified, you ring the bell and begin the process of SQUEEZING in the tight spot.
Additionally, staff aren't particularly friendly but sadly that's a common trait in Florence from recent experience. They did (begrudgingly) lend us an umbrella during a downpour. Oh it was painful.

All in all, its manageable for one night.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms (roadside) have the best view of the city. Easy to spot the Cattedrale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Bryon after booking with booking.com the pictures are lovely and the hotel looked beautiful. Sadly I would advice ANYONE going to Florence to not even consider this hotel. I have had to take things further in regards as a refund. The hotel is far from clean, the breakfast is pointless, the wifi signal is only available (just) in one part of the hotel. The customer service is terrible, when I complained I was shrugged off. I was a single traveler and was put in the back of the hotel which was just disgusting, the windows looked like they would fall apart any second so didn't dare touch them to get some fresh air - as the promised air-con in the room was non-existent....and then there was the noise at all hours of the day from other guests, now technically I know this is not the hotel's fault, but it was hardly relaxing. The shower was functional only for cold water - if you wanted hot it would have been better to have had a body wash. Then there was the most disgusting thing about this hotel - the bed mites. I left with over 40 bite marks on my body. I do not know who rates Italian hotels, but how this hotel was given 3 stars is quite beyond me.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kiel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We chose this hotel because it is close to the heart of Florence and it was a bit cheaper than the other hotels (not that any hotel in Florence is really cheap). The receptionist was extremely helpful and even offerend us breakfast when we arrived at 10.00 am on the first day. Our room was nice and we had view of the rooftops of Florence. All in all, I would very much recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to find a room not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnniHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for three nights. The temperature was 30-35C in florence..........

pros:
location!
near central train station
Near bus italia station.
Grocery store downstairs is open till late.
Has elevator
Buffet breakfast provided
The front doors are locked after midnight
Bathroom works

cons:
aircond blows hot air.
This is totally inacceptable.
We booked because the hotel features an aircond.
On the second night the ac broke down
coffee (both instant and brewed) served during breakfast is bad

recommendation:
go stay elsewhere as there plenty of better hotels nearby

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sweeteners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure why some Italy hotels aren't better? If would be so easy...a coat of paint, a new matress, maybe rip up the dirty old carpet,...
But as European hotels go this one is not too bad. The location is great. Just 5 minutes from the train station and information centre. Many of the local tours leave from the train station so it's helpful to be close by. We walked everywhere in Florence...nothing is more than a 15-20 walk.
There are some great restaurants (literally) right next store. The Garden which is more traditional Tuscan food and La Grotta di Leo which has great pizza and pasta and the prices are great...check my review for both.
Anyway...could Hotel Byron better? Of course! But it is clean, in a great location, and a good price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Very clise ro bus station and S. Maria Novella train Station. Walking minutes from main places such as Piazza S. Maria Novella, Piazza della Republica, Castello Vecchio etc. Price is same of other 3 star hotels anywhere in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bittencourtfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
HHB Hotel
HHB Hotel
#316 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#211 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#255 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#131 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#159 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#73 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Byron

Property: Hotel Byron
Address: Via della Scala 49, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing