We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so hotel and far from tourist area”
Review of Hotel Bodoni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bodoni
Ranked #174 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So so hotel and far from tourist area”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Only stayed for one night in this hotel and will not choose it in future. Hotel is on the fourth floor of a building. It's far from tourist area and near a place seems like bus station or whatever which gives you the feeling of unsafety. It's about 25 to 30 minutes walking distance from hotel to central train station. If you want to have duomo view from your room, you need to lean forward from balcony. Then you will see the little part of the Duomo. But be careful of doing that! Hotel room is clean but furnitue is old. Breakfast is so so and not as good as that of other two-star hotels we stayed in Florence before. The only advantage is it's close to a big supermarket and you can buy everything you need. We were a little bit dissapointed in choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direzione_bodoni, Direttore vendite at Hotel Bodoni, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Mrs.

we are really unhappy to read your review. Our reception is opened 24 h and our staff work hard for security too. I don't understand in what do you consider not safety our hotel, but if it is your sensation I'm really sorry. I would like make you happy.

Breakfast service is really our pride, letting you choose from a wide range of beverages (milk, hot chocolate, cappuccino, Italian espresso, American coffee, orange juice) and fresh food (eggs, ham, cheese) selected by our staff directly from the characteristic Florentine markets.
Italian bar breakfast fans can get the typical confectionery delights and the wide choice of muesli.
Maybe this variety it's not enough to you but If knew before I will give you a better experience in Hotel Bodoni.

We send or apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    292
    122
    31
    21
See reviews for
78
315
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, WA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I last stayed here 20 years ago, and I must say, if anything, this hotel has improved!
The rooms are basic, but have everything you might need. Immaculate, great towels provided, comfy beds. The best rooms are located on the upper floors - ask for one with a view of Santa Croce.
Breakfast was amazing - one of the best spreads of our trip, and absolutely the best for the money.
The rooftop terraces offer lovely views, be sure to go out at sunrise or sunset.
As always, with any large city, bring earplugs for the best night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direzione_bodoni, Direttore vendite at Hotel Bodoni, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Mrs.

it's incredible your come back "home".

During years many things are changed but there is the same italian family atmosfere.

It's really true, our breakfast is considered very good for many guests and so we are very happy to offer an excellet service.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with my partner. We had a hard time finding the hotel, streets in Florence have a weird numbering system and sign is not too noticeable.

Double room is decent, air-con, fridge, telly and safe are all in. Toilet is quite small but does the job. Window from our room overlooks the churches around Florence. Hotel has a Solarium or rooftop which has reclining chair to unwind at night and overlooks the Florence. A bonus not all of the guests notice.

Breakfast is amazing, juice is freshly squeezed nice croissants and choice of meats. However after the 3rd day we started to feel like we want something else for breakfast.

Staff are the best, specially Romano and the other guy who I forgot to ask the name. Morning staff who serves breakfast is quite attentive too.

It is quite great bargain for the budget!

Room Tip: Try room 29! it is quite isolated from the corridor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamandagcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direzione_bodoni, Direttore vendite at Hotel Bodoni, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank so much for your review.

Other receptionist is Alessio, he is an execellent boy.

We wait you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is nice pension style accommodation. While it is a good location for getting to the sites of Florence, it is about a 20 minute walk from the rail station. We enjoyed our stay, there is a patio with views over the rooftops and a breakfast buffet made great by freshly squeezed orange juice. The supermarket across the street was convenient to purchase snacks and refreshments. The bed was not the most comforable and the internet access was poor but it was good value for Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Travel_G0ddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direzione_bodoni, Direttore vendite at Hotel Bodoni, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you so mucch for your review.

During autumn period, you could get on web an other good offer or if you prefer call us.

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Cozy beds, centrally located, friendly staff, and inexpensive. What else can u ask for in Florence? Don't expect anything fancy here. At first glance I wasn't sure what we were getting ourselves into (building was 1950's architecture rather than an old renaissance building) but could accept the conditions because we were only staying less than 14 hours. After being on the road for days staying in various hotels and apartments, I found that Bodoni was a breath of fresh air! Finally a room not near the train or a church, not noisy and the shower and bathroom was the best I had all trip-warning on the shower-it's just a detachable shower head with no basin, but worked wonderfully with hot water (something we didn't have at other hotels!! I would stay here again if on a budget. Tip! Go to Ebys World just a block away for a fresh fruit smoothie! And the pizza shop across the street stays open all night!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mismiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direzione_bodoni, Direttore vendite at Hotel Bodoni, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are very happy that you have choosed us

We wait you for an other italian holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The room was average and ours was fairly noisy ( street and other room noise ). The location is within walking distance of the train station and most of the main city sights which is great. The roof top view was great at the end of the day ( with a few drinks of course ). It was what we expected in a room in he heart of the city

Room Tip: try to get a room off the main street as it can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direzione_bodoni, Direttore vendite at Hotel Bodoni, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you so much.

If you would like stay in Florence, we are happy to meet you again

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This centrally located hotel has all the basics, a friendly staff and a great breakfast. The main drawback is the shower, which is squeezed into a tiny bathroom. A/C is also a bit noisy. Altogether good value, but don't expect luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor room, which has a balcony with great views over Florence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beryl084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
direzione_bodoni, Direttore vendite at Hotel Bodoni, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

thanks so much for you review. I'm happy about your good experience.

Florence is not so far away, I wait you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#143 of 422 in Florence
648 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#153 of 422 in Florence
465 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#92 of 422 in Florence
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#172 of 422 in Florence
485 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#147 of 422 in Florence
302 reviews
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#125 of 422 in Florence
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bodoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bodoni

Property: Hotel Bodoni
Address: Via Dei Martiri del Popolo 27, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bodoni 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the center of the town, near the main shopping center, the Duomo and the church of S.Croce, the Hotel Bodoni is the ideal place for a quiet and comfortable stay. You will appreciate the comfortable lounges and open terraces, where you can relax after walking around the places of historical interest. We offer you an atmosphere where restfulness prevails.All rooms have modern furniture, shower/WC and air conditioning.Our terms are most reasonable and we are here to do our best to make your stay in Florence a happy onePossibility of Garage nearby. We will make you feel welcome at the Hotel Bodoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bodoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing