We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel On The River”
Review of Hotel Berchielli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Berchielli
Ranked #48 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hotel On The River”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Bercielli for 4 nights on our holiday travelling around Italy. We arrived at Firenze Santa Maria Novella. We had checked the web site and it was described as a short walk from the train station to the hotel. We did find the hotel after a bit of walking around but suggest using map provided on web site.
We had emailed the hotel before we came to Italy asking for a nice view as it was our belated honeymoon, we didn't get a reply and were given a room on the fourth floor with a view that looked straight onto another building. and above an alleyway.
The rooms were good and traditional style. The most colourful quirky bathroom.
When we first checked into the room the television would not work and we informed the hotel reception staff, they were very rude and seemed unhappy I was even telling them but they did get someone to have a look at the television.
This was not the only time i believe members of the reception staff were rude but this does not include all members of staff just certain ones.
Breakfast was good with a varied choice including cereal, pastries, cold meats and several warm options
Coffee was served to your table but when it was busy it was sometimes a bit of a wait for staff to ask you if you wanted a coffee.
The location is great for walking across Florence and seeing all the sights of this beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for your review.
We waited before replying as we were hoping to get answer to our direct mail aimed to understand your arrival date. This would have given us the possibility to identify the member of the staff that were rude and help them to correct their attitude.
We receive daily hundreds of mail and we aim to reply them all the same day. We are sorry we did not reply to you as this is absolutely not our way to work so we may only presume it was caught as spam. A large number of clients request free upgrade to deluxe river view rooms. For special occasions like honeymooner, we do try to assign this kind of room, but this is unfortunately not always possible owing to the number of clients that specifically book deluxe river view.

We hope you will choose our hotel in the future.

Kind regards.

Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    497
    62
    16
    12
See reviews for
314
824
73
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmoor
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I were delighted to be upgraded to a lovely room with river views which made the firework festivities very special. The hotel is extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. The buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and the staff pleasant and courteous. Strongly recommended as within easy walking distance of all the important sites in this lovely city.

Room Tip: Worth the extra for the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasDartmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guests,
we are happy that your stay with us was enjoyable.
River view rooms are more expensive as they offer a sight that is difficult to forget. Unfortunately we only have a limited number of these rooms therefore upgrades are only occasionally available. Our standard rooms though are as nice and comfortable as river view ones and offer all different sights. Your words “spotlessly clean” allow us to compliment with our chambermaids especially Giovanna, their chief.
Thank you for mentioning that you will recommend our hotel.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

There is so much to love about this hotel; the location, the cleanliness, the rooms are well appointed, it's quaint and the breakfast is very good as included breakfasts go. That said, one issue that is just impossible to overlook is the sound of the elevators at night. It made falling asleep difficult and occasionally woke us at night. It's a fairly small hotel, so I'm not sure if there are rooms available that are not impacted by this, but if there is one suggestion I can offer, it's to request a room that does not have this issue. Considering the cost per night and the quality of everything else in the hotel, this is something that ownership really needs to address in order to make this one of the top 4-star hotels in Florence. Everything else about the hotel was as advertised or better. In fact, we would probably live with the sound issue and repeat this hotel if we ever stay in Florence again, albeit with earplugs.

Room Tip: Request a room as far from the elevators as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMatt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for spending your time in describing the stay in our Hotel.
We are pleased that nearly all aspects of your stay were enjoyable. The elevators are under regular maintenance from a specialized company nevertheless following your comment we made an extra check. Nothing appears to be exceeding usual sound levels therefore we are waiting for your reply to our direct mail in order to locate your room and focus on that area.
As you mention that you would choose our hotel again for your next stay we suggest to write us an e-mail mentioning your preference of “very quiet room” in order to allow us to arrange booking in advance to assign you the correct room.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Quaint little hotel for a short one night stay. Room was small but adequate. We drove to Florence from Venice. Once you get into the city of Florence - driving is a challenge. Beware! This hotel was not an easy place to drive to in a rental car! Hotel is close to the Ponte Vecchio. The breakfast that was included with our room rate was also very good. Front desk staff was also friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDivaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank for posting your review on our hotel.
We are pleased that your stay, although short, was enjoyable.
We agree with you that driving in Florence may appear difficult sometimes, and this is why we suggest to check the driving directions on our web page.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family and I spend three nights in this hotel and loved it . Great service, food and winery recommendations. The desk was always willing to answer questions and make reservations for us. The rooms were excellent. Our three grown children shared a room and were upgraded to a two bedroom suite, two bath suite. Breakfast was wonderful. Valet parking is recommended, due to the location. That is probably the only con is that Florence streets are narrow and crowded. I loved the hotel, but if traveled back to Tuscany region, I would probably stay in Sienna or another small village and make Florence a day trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for sharing your comments on the web.
We are really pleased to learn that your stay with us has been very enjoyable. Our two bedroom suites are quite comfortable for 3 persons even if they are very rarely available as they are highly booked. The valet parking service is fast and allows clients to leave their cars directly at the hotel. To visit Florence properly 2/3 days are usually needed.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire, United States
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Right on the river Arno, steps from all the sites, we had a great 2-night visit. The breakfast buffet was excellent, with great service and great cappucino. The desk people were all nice, despite what other reviews stated. We got a restaurant recommendation and they called a taxi for us and found us rooms that had been unintentionally canceled. The bartender was very friendly as well. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We both loved it (my Mom and me).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for posting your review.
We are of course very pleased to read that your stay was thoroughly enjoyable and particularly the special mention to the staff as we have been receiving some previous not totally enthusiastic comments. Our cappuccinos as well as the buffet breakfast keep being mentioned as very good therefore we will keep on this standard.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We just left Florence this morning having spent 2 nights in beautiful Florence. Location for this hotel is perfect just a few steps from Ponte Vecchio and minutes from Piazza della Signiorina and the Uffuzi. We didn't have a view of the river but to be honest that was fine as we only slept there. This isn't a city where you are going to spend a lot of time in the hotel. The room was fine, air con ok, nice and quiet so a good nights sleep which was fantastic. Not particularly friendly staff but then we didn't really need anything from them. Lovey breakfast room with a lot of choice. We stayed at the Brunelleschi hotel last year which was lovely but so much more expensive. If you are looking for a good hotel in a great location at a decent price then go for the Berchielli.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for calling our city “beautiful”.
Our location is very appreciated by all clients as it allows to reach all main attractions in few minutes. Our rooms, not only river view ones, are very comfortable and allow a high standard of relax as you mentioned.
We will have a word with our staff to improve the service.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 412 in Florence
1,509 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,499 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#63 of 412 in Florence
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,775 reviews
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#37 of 412 in Florence
890 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berchielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berchielli

Property: Hotel Berchielli
Address: Lungarno Acciaiuoli 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
#34 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#55 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berchielli 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Art Nouveau Hotel situated downtown between Old Bridge & Holy Trinity Bridge, 800 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Berchielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berchielli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing