We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Berchielli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Berchielli
Ranked #46 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Close to perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Close to everything, helpful staff, clean rooms, great breakfast - what more could you want? So why not a 5* rating? Well I'd have given it an extra half if it was available but there are always those few little niggles (alright, I'm picky) that make the difference. My room was a bit warm for my taste and, as is usual in Europe, cooling wasn't available this early in the year. Leaving the door open fixed that but also allowed the odd mosquito in. The hotel helpfully provided a plug in insect killer. My major difficulty was that in these electronic times, power points are needed to charge phones, toothbrushes and cameras and there were no spare power points. That met unplugging a lamp, and with one also unplugged to take to insect killer, that left lighting a little short.

Would I come back? Certainly. And thanks to the lady who pointed out that my room, overlooking the Piazza del Limbo (sad history in that) had a ringside view of the ceremonies on the night prior to the Scoppio el Caro. Fantastic.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Arno would be great but these carry a price premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    479
    58
    16
    11
See reviews for
293
787
69
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

6 of us stayed in two triple rooms over Easter break. Lovely location - everything so accessible both sides of the river! Our rooms were spacious and clean, with river views. A little noise at night but with a city centre hotel that is usual. The interior shared areas of the hotel are bright and clean - lovely marble stairways. Roof terrace looked good - but too wet when we were there so could not use it! Breakfast was excellent and staff very helpful. Staff at the desk were also really helpful. Bar area was relaxing and welcoming. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bjf56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just stayed at Hotel Berchielli a few weeks ago and loved it. The location is excellent and we had a great view of the Arno River from our room--it is worth the extra money for this view! The room was large, the beds were confortable, it was very clean so we were very happy. Also, the breakfast was very good as well.

Now for the ONLY issue we had at the hotel was this: We just had a 14 hour ordeal getting into Florence after a rare snowstorm leaving Paris. Our daughters are studying abroad in Florence and we hadn't seen them in 6 weeks and we were really looking forward to seeing them. When we got to the hotel, there was nobody ahead of us to check in. As we were checking in, our kids arrived and it was great to see them. As I continued to check in, another couple from our flight arrived. The guy behind the desk helped them out and checked them in before me and off they went. I would be fine with that but then he wouldn't let our 20 and 21 year old daughters go up to the room with us because they didn't have their passports with them--REALLY? Let me explain--Apparently it is hotel policy that everyone must show and ID to get into the hotel--no problem. He told us they needed a passport! They had an ID with them but he said "Everyone must show a passport to go upstairs". We had to leave the girls downstairs while we dropped off our luggage. I asked the front desk the next day and they said it is policy for an ID but you have to use your judgement with something like that. I thought the guy behind the desk was rude and creepy! Use your common sense!

Let me also add, everyone else at the hotel was extremely nice!!! It was just this one guy that rubbed us all the wrong way and unfortunately he was the first person we encountered.

If it wasn't for this one guy, I would give this hotel a 5 rating instead of 4 and the service rating a 5 instead of a 3. Don't let this sway you away from staying here. It is an excellent hotel in great location with 99% of the staff being very nice!

Room Tip: I would highly recommend you spend a little extra for a view of the Arno River. It is a spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauiman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. mauiman8,
we wish to thank you for your review.
We are pleased to learn that your stay was nice and would like to apologise for the person checking you in not being able to properly explain that in effect italian law obliges us to allow clients to have access to rooms only if showing a document. If anything should happen to a guest while being in a room without being registered the hotel would face heavy legal consequences. This often causes clients to believe that it is the clerk fault being too strict but in effect it is only a matter of respecting laws.
We will anyhow recall the attention of all staff on the correct manner to explain the law.

Accept our best regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading the trip advisor reviews & were so pleased that we did. The position could not be bettered, on the banks of the river Arno, with a wonderful view of the Ponte Vecchio and within easy walking distance of all the old town galleries & museums. The hotel itself is lovely - spotlessly clean rooms. Our bedroom was very large & comfortable with a beautiful view of the river. Breakfasts were lovely, a buffet with plenty of good quality food.All the staff were really nice and went out of their way to be helpful. The only slight criticism was that they did not serve evening meals, only snacks in the bar. however there are so many restaurants around that it did not really matter. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location to access all the main tourist attractions in Florence. The staff on the reception desk were civil and polite but not particularly friendly. The room we were given was on the 5th floor with excellent views of the Ponte Vecchio. It was good - though it was a bit too warm. The breakfast buffet was plentiful but was the same each day and the hot food was acceptable but not great.

Room Tip: Top floors have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kolossi-duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Superb position for sightseeing with lots of restaurants nearby. The staff were utlra-professional and the breakfast was just what you need before heading out on a days sightseeing.
The cleanliness of the room was of a high standard and wi-fi was free....as was the safe key!
We have stayed in lots of hotels and this is amongst the best...especially considering the charge.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Berchielli last October (late in reviewing). Three of us were there... one being our 6 1/2 month old daughter. The hotel staff were extremely welcoming (as were all Italians when they saw our baby). Our room was amazing... two balconies looking right at Ponte Vecchio! They had set up a crib for our little one ahead of time which was so great. The location of this hotel couldn't be more perfect. Quiet, away from the Ponte Vecchio, but a 3 minute walk to it! Easy to get to all the main attractions. The breakfast was pretty standard... buffet with many options. The little roof deck was really nice too. If you don't have a balcony it's a great place to sit and have a glass of wine.
Overall a great place to stay (especially for the amount we spent)! When we go back to Florence we would stay again!

Room Tip: Chose a river view... a little bit more but so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MMandAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#45 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berchielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berchielli

Property: Hotel Berchielli
Address: Lungarno Acciaiuoli 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
#33 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#54 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berchielli 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Art Nouveau Hotel situated downtown between Old Bridge & Holy Trinity Bridge, 800 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berchielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berchielli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing