We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berchielli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Berchielli
Ranked #42 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We would not stay anywhere else in Florence. Period. This hotel has it all: location, incredible staff (truly!), beautiful rooms and lovely linens, superb breakfast. There was not one negative. The view out on to the Arno was breathtaking. This was our third time at the Berchielli...it never disappoints. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the river...maybe a bit noisy during the day (when we weren't there an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    430
    54
    16
    11
See reviews for
269
711
66
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel is in a great location for all parts of Firenze. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The room and the hotel were kept very clean. Breakfast was very good.

Booked as part of a British Airways package for a business/pleasure trip of 4 nights with limited options for picking rooms. Early flight from Gatwick meant we arrived at hotel late morning and some rooms were not yet available for check-in. We were given room 421 - this was a reasonable size with a good bath. However, the window opens directly onto the walkway to the garden terrace. The weather was wet or overcast and so nobody was using the terrace; therefore the room was perfectly OK. In the summer, it would be one to avoid on the grounds of noise and not being able to open the curtain!

I travel frequently to Firenze on business and normally stay closer to the airport or station, but this was an excellent base for sightseeing in the free time on this trip - all of the main sights are within a 20 minute walk and most are within 10 minutes. I will return to the hotel in future, but will make sure that I request a room away from the terrace area.

Room Tip: Room 421 was a good size, but window opens onto walkway to garden terrace. Not a problem if it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel was in a wonderful spot around the corner from the Ponte Vecchio and several lovely restaurants. Amongst wonderful sites and shops and the train station are all close walking distance. The staff were very helpful - the most helpful we found in all of Italy! The room was beautiful as was the bathroom. The rooftop garden was lovely and down in the courtyard a string quartet played one night while we sat sipping wine above; quite magical. Breakfast was also excellent - in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel came recommended and was booked by our travel agent. We arrived a day later than what we had on our reservation (another story), and were "upgraded" to the last room available.

As mentioned by other reviewers, yes the location is very convenient. The antique styling of the interiors we loved. The view from the windows was magnificent during the day and night. You can see across the river, and down to Ponte Vecchio.

Range of food for breakfast was decent. Good service from the staff.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tristy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Berchielli as a couple and were delighted with the location, right next to the river and just a stone's throw from Ponte Vecchio. Everything is in walking distance too.
Our room was spacious and clean with a generous bathroom. It was a little loud at night but the noise from Florence's narrow streets does travel up. It was certainly not enough to keep us up! After all the sightseeing, the hotel did feel like a very calm and quiet place to come home to.
The breakfast was fantastic. Real orange juice - no rubbishy cheap orange "nectar" - and divine coffee. Eggs, pastries, savouries, fruit - it was all there for the taking!
The only thing we missed was an English-speaking TV channel with some news, but I guess if you are out all day and all night soaking up beautiful Florence, you may not see that as a priority.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclor08, Manager at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your valuable feedback. Your wonderful comments regarding the hotel’s location, guest rooms and breakfast are highly appreciated .Our hotel offers various English-speaking channels including Sky News, Sky Movies and CNN. TV remote controls allow clients to change TV settings, therefore, we presume, this is what accidentally happened in your room with previous clients.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will come back again, very soon.

Kind regards,
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel was gorgeous, staff friendly, breakfast adequate, service good, location the best! We were upgraded for free to a riverfront room and were thrilled at first. But whether or not that was the reason it was so noisy, I am not certain. We had NO control over temperature, and the staff member who showed us the room was not upfront about that....I specifically asked where the temperature controls were and she said nothing about them doing nothing. The room was extremely warm, and I asked if we could open the windows. We could but mosquitos might be an issue. It was so warm, we had no choice. I am assuming that since the visit was early November, it was too late for air conditioning and too early for heat, so that is why there was no control, but I would have to verify this before staying here again. The windows she claimed were sound proof, and yet we could hear even footsteps on the sidewalk from the fourth floor, let alone the expected noise from the street!! Next visit, I would bring earplugs for the noise because the pros definitely outweigh the cons. But temperature contol would be a deal breaker.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papsandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Mosquito bites in the bedrooms - I lost count at 22 bites on me, not good shower facilities, noisy bedrooms with noise coming from outside. Any recommendation from the hotel as regards restaurants turned out to be lousy - namely Angelina's - near the opera evening location and ToTo - a pizza restaurant on the same street - both not good.

On the plus side great location and very nice bar in the lobby and not a bad breakfast and the loan of umbrellas from reception.

Room Tip: You need to arrange in advance for a walk-in shower Hard to say about the noise - we couldn't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F00die7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
we are sorry to learn that mosquitos were so annoying.
Occasionally, sudden changes of temperature can cause mosquitos to appear. We considered installing screens in the past but they are horrible to see, get dirty quickly and are not easy to remove in order to wash them often so, on those occasions, we suggest to keep windows closed mainly in the evening.
Our front desk staff gets feedbacks from most clients about restaurants and this is a way to continuously monitor the quality. This is the first time we get a negative feedback about Angiolino and Toto but we will of course take note of them.
Our bathroms have all been renewed in the last 3 years with the most recent equipments but most of our rooms have bath tubs so if you need only walk-in shower we should know in advance to try and arrange booking accordingly.
All rooms have double glazed windows therefore only a very strong noise or a firemen siren or similar can have a significant impact. Rooms on the back side are of course quieter.
Kind regards.
Massimo Fraus
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,325 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Uffizi
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Hotel Lungarno
Hotel Lungarno
#16 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,610 reviews
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berchielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berchielli

Property: Hotel Berchielli
Address: Lungarno Acciaiuoli 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
#54 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berchielli 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Art Nouveau Hotel situated downtown between Old Bridge & Holy Trinity Bridge, 800 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Berchielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berchielli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing