We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Berchielli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Berchielli
Ranked #46 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Expensive but terrific location and beautiful room.
Stayed in 511, a deluxe river view, and it was exactly that. Wifi but not fast. Flat screen TV with good picture. Very comfortable bed. Parking is 25euros/day. First-class appointments and amenities. The usual great breakfast. Walk to everywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnyshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

Book it, Book it Book it........
Could not say it any easier really. What a fantastic find. Two couples celebrating a 40th birthday and not the easiest to please (you know who you are !!). Fantastic location which would be hard to better, Fantastic level of cleanliness and Fantastic continental breakfast which served everything you could wish for and all for a fantastic price.Fantastic bed and lovely Linen. Yes, strange thing to add but it was !!!
Florence is perfect for those who, for what ever reason, cannot or do not like walking miles and miles every day, love the "cafe culture' idea with lots of lovely shopping thrown in and of course the Fab history and Architecture. Just because Florence is walkable does not mean you do not find different places with the wow factor every day. We flew into Pisa and on our last day arrived at our airport early and got a taxi from airport to the famous tower of same name. An added bonus which was well worth seeing.
Tips.......Dont book transfers, just get a terror vision return ticket (coach) which drops you off at Florence bus station ( you can buy these before you leave our airport and on the other side, very easily). Head towards the river and you will find the hotel very easily and about 100yrs from the Ponte Vecchio bridge. Drinks are very expensive so look for a supermarket and buy bottled water,wine,cokes etc. Above all, book it now what are you waiting for, and enjoy. The last bit of course goes without saying ................... : )

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. We had rooms 114/115
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michelejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Fantastic hotel. The staff was friendly, the room was large (even by American standards), and the experience was totally relaxing. Even though there is an address on the river, most of the hotel is in back of the river front. We didn't have a view, but it didn't matter because we saw enough during the day and the room was so pleasant. We had scheduled accommodations for 3--one 26 year old son, my husband, and myself. We were pleasantly surprised (after a tight squeeze room in Rome) to find that the twin bed was in a room with a door, and there were 2 bathrooms. The only complaint was that the internet was really bad--had a difficult time getting into our email, much less using Skype to call home. I will stay here again when I return to Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Costumaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Location is absolutely perfect for exploring Florence - this hotel is perfectly central without being consumed by marauding tourists. We were first offered a room with a shower only before being accomodated in a much bigger room with a bath, but since neither looked onto anything other than a wall (although there are very few rooms with a view of anything but - although you may get a river view if you ask). The breakfast is excellent and being until 11am was a real novelty. Excellent service from the staff who couldn't be more accomodating from directions to booking taxis.

Only 1 minor speed bump - they refused to give us an iron in our room because it was 'against the law' but their maid could iron our clothes 'for 2.70 EUR per item'. The manager wasn't available to complain to until monday (this was fri night) but when i kicked off, the reception staff said I could have the iron if i signed a disclaimer that I would not hold them responsible for any damage to my clothes!!!

I would stay here again though and apart from a half hour of arguing it was 3 very enjoyable nights.

Room Tip: Ask for shower / bath / river view as you prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bullet_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Wonderful location, on the Arno and just one bridge down stream of Ponte Vecchio (the bridge with all the gold shops etc.)
Rooms are clean and if you do not want the noise of the local traffic, have a room over looking the little Piazzetta del Limbo. This tiny square has a very old church just ten paces from the hotel door. Its church bell is lovely to hear. A lovely old priet takes services twice a day.
Breakfast is for the continentals only and the toaster is always on go slow.
The staff are friendly but some information can be lost in the translation.
Three places close to the hotel you should NOT visit are:-
1. Cafe Du Ponti, over looks the river and offers WiFi (two small hardly warm coffees and two small cakes will cost over 20 Euros. Yes 20, I kid you not. Rip off Florence at its worse.
2 .Restaurant Manigafoco (rec. by the hotel) A beef salad here at 15 Euros will consist of a ball of minced meat almost raw and not much else.Their wine is very costly.
3. Restaurant La Baccal, just opposite the Manigafoco. The food is just awful and few stay for more than one course.
However, just exit the hotel via Del Limbo with the church opposite, turn left at the top, just a few steps and pass an open all hours grocery shop on the left.
50 yards more and just on the edge of P.zza di Santa Trinita you will find the Trattoria Carrozze.
Here you will find great food, friendly service, cheap Tuscan wine, and a constant flow of dinners both local and tourist.
After dinner look at the store just opposite.(SF) A pair of shoes 699 Euros!!
A very good hotel (4*). (Pronounced Berkellie) in a great location in a wonderful city.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: Overlook the Pi.zza del Limbo and sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mocroi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niclor08, Direttore at Hotel Berchielli, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2011

Dear Customer,
we wish to thank you for the nice review about out hotel.
We are only surprised about the words “ Breakfast is for the continentals only...” as we serve, from 7 to 11 am, a full buffet breakfast of which we offer a list:

Fruit salad, prunes, corn flakes, rice krispies, muesli, all bran, 3 different types of baked croissant, 3 different types of bread rolls, duchesse, flat bread, packed rye bread, brown bread, wholemeal bread, zwieback, 10 different types of yoghurt, 6 different types of jam , honey . 3 differet types of cheeses, ham, salami, sausages, bacon, wustel, scrambled eggs, butter, and fresh fruit in season. Orange juice, pinapple juice, grapefuit juice, tomato juice and all hot drinks (coffee, tea, etc .) Pan cakes with maple syrup.

Kind regards.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Loved this hotel, we are SO glad we stayed here! The hotel is a few hundred yards from Ponte Vecchio bridge and within EASY walking distance to all major sights---the Duomo, Santa Croce, Piazza Michaelangelo, the Uffizzi Gallery and the Piazza Republica---we walked everywhere (except the train station, due to our luggage). The hotel itself is charming and immaculate with a very accommodating staff. We stayed in a triple which was so much more than that--- we had two bedrooms and two bathrooms---very roomy, giving us all a bit of privacy. There is a lovely roof deck and the breakfast is a traveler's delight with hot eggs, meats, various pastries, yogurt, cereals, fresh fruit, juices and, of course, various coffees! Don't hesitate to put this hotel at the top of your list--- we thought it was a little gem in the heart of Firenze!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmahls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend break in Florence. The Hotel Berchielli was a great place to stay and explore this wonderful city. The room was spacious and quiet (after the hustle and bustle of the city). The breakfast was excellent and I would definately recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timmy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#35 of 410 in Florence
1,563 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,565 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 410 in Florence
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#66 of 410 in Florence
832 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,892 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berchielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berchielli

Address: Lungarno Acciaiuoli 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Florence
#30 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#36 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#55 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $140 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berchielli 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Art Nouveau Hotel situated downtown between Old Bridge & Holy Trinity Bridge, 800 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Berchielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berchielli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing