We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Gardens, wonderful rooms, great spot”
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monna Lisa
Ranked #87 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2006

My husband and I spent three nights here in late September. The Monna Lisa was much more than we anticipated, with a wonderful room accessed through a secret door, a plentiful breakfast, helpful and discreet staff, friendly bar and perfect location. The concierge was very helpful with making dining reservations, helping travelers in distress, and welcoming in every way. Only 3 blocks from the Duomo and within walking distance of everything in Florence, the Monna Lisa is in a lovely neighborhood, away from the noise and bustle around the tourist spots, and it was wonderful to walk up to the corner store to pick up an extra pastry in the afternoon. We would always chose this hotel for location, service, and beautiful surroundings.

LK from Ct., USA

Stayed: September 2006
4  Thank blessedtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,205)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monna Lisa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

835 - 841 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2006

This was our favorite hotel during our recent travels through Italy and France. The Mona Lisa is full of old world charm, with lots of sitting rooms and a nice garden courtyard. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel and although our room was not overly large, it was beautifully decorated and very well appointed, particularly for this price range. The staff was very helpful and the location was great for proximity to sightseeing and shopping.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CH68310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

This is a lovely, little hotel within easy walking distance of all the main attractions. Our room was beautifully decorated, and the general ambiance of the hotel is discreet and tasteful. The litte courtyard was very pretty. Could not fault the breakfast (typical continental with plenty of things to choose from). Some of the pictures of the Mona Lisa hanging in the public areas were quite amusing!! A beautiful, little hotel which we'd thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: April 2006
1  Thank K_The_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2006

My family of 5 stayed here for 3 nights in June. The hotel is in a great location on a quieter side street, which is much appreciated in busy Florence. It is fun exploring all the different areas of the hotel and the gardens are beautiful. The breakfast buffet is served in a very pretty dining room, or can be had on a patio overlooking the gardens - really nice! The staff was helpful and although they did not seem very friendly, once you engaged them in conversation - maybe about the hotel's history - the smiles would come out. I would certainly stay here again, but - and this is important - I would request the newer section. The rooms in the older section were roomy and nice enough, but the bathrooms were so tiny that we would knock the hairdryer off the wall behind us while washing at the sink. Plus the poor bell hop that had to get our bags up the steep steps to our rooms! We also waited to use the free internet computer. The bonus is that the computer is in a charming room off the garden.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nightfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2006

GORGEOUS! The building and garden are BEYOND picturesque. It's a lot of fun to explore the hotel with something new to discover around every corner. The staff was very helpful, and the updated bathrooms were a big plus (lots of room to unpack and nest!).
Upon arrival, Florence can seem a bit crazy (what traffic rules?), so this stepping into the hotel's gardens is like stepping inside a little retreat. It's within walking distance to EVERYTHING - Duomo, Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio, shopping, food, etc. If you don't have a tour scheduled, buy tickets to Galleria dell'Accademia and Uffizi in advance, so you don't waste time in long lines.

You MUST visit Piazza Michelangelo while in Florence - just make sure you've got plenty of memory cards for your camera. The view will blow you away!

Also, make sure you take a day trip to Tuscany. Even if you're not a wine drinker, it's such a worthwhile trip. We visited Catello Del Trebbio in Santa Brigida and had the best time. The story of the castle's history is very sweet and the wine and olive oil are wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jddh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2006

If you are looking for an Under the Tuscan Sun experience, this is the place for you. With Florence being a little more urban that I had expected, this hotel was a beautiful little oasis. Once we were inside the hotel doors we felt like we were in the Tuscan countryside. I loved everything about the hotel, especially the outdoor courtyard wear you could eat breakfast. The staff, while not the tripping over themselves to be friendly, were quite efficient. They took care of all of our needs. We thought the hotel was going to be out of the way from the main attractions, but it is just a short walk from the Campanile, Il Duomo, and the Baptistry. We would definetely stay here again, and we thought it was very romantic!! Not to mention that it is only one block away from the #1 recommended restaurant in all of Tuscany!!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bruinett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, TX
311
Reviewed April 22, 2006

We recently returned from a trip to Italy which included a 2 night stay at the Monna Lisa. The hotel is beautiful. Our room was great except for no view - the window was too high despite the fact that it looked on to a very beautiful courtyard. The food was good. The staff is my only complaint. They were nice. They were not very friendly or overly helpful. They answered our questions adequately, but did not offer anything above or beyond what we asked. Despite that, I will definately like to stay here aquin. The location was great - vey central and in walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Firenze Suite
Firenze Suite
#60 of 411 in Florence
291 reviews
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#181 of 411 in Florence
458 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#53 of 411 in Florence
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#30 of 411 in Florence
2,331 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#58 of 411 in Florence
1,408 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#54 of 411 in Florence
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#60 Family Hotel in Florence
#64 Business Hotel in Florence
#64 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $116 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing