We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monna Lisa
Ranked #83 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2006

My son and I stayed at the Hotel Monna Lisa for four (4) nights in March. We reserved a Superior Twin Room overlooking the courtyard behind the hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with cold cereals, fruit and pastries. The hotel itself is beautiful with numerous sitting areas, a bar/lounge, and the breakfast room. The staff is extremely helpful with dinner reservations, directions, and sightseeing tips. The location is one of the best in Florence as the hotel is located on a small side street but close to many of the important tourist sites in Florence. There is also a limited amount on off-street parking available at the hotel. I would highly recommend the Hotel Monna Lisa for either individuals or familys.

Helpful?
10 Thank Simmrouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    361
    102
    51
    41
See reviews for
219
494
64
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for three days in March. Firstly, it took us three hours to find the hotel because the hotel's website directions ARE WRONG!!!! If you are considering driving there, do what we eventually did and stop at the first hotel you see and ask them to show you on a hotel map! It is in the middle of a load of one way streets (at least one of which I eventually drove the wrong way down because I was so exhausted!)

Also bear in mind that parking is twenty euros a day and if you are at all nervous about driving in busy cities, or parking in tiny space, then the train is an excellent option!

Over the course of three days, it became apparent that this hotel had some issues. First of all, our room looked clean until we lay on the beds and looked at the floor. Enough dust bunnies to see you through Easter and beyond. But hey, we thought, maybe it's just the first day....they'll clean the next day right? The bathroom looked okay and the sheets clean, so we just guessed they hadn't quite finished the day before.

So off we trotted to the bar (no minibar in the room!) The bar is in an alcove in a hallway on the way to the breakfast room. Two people were sitting there with drinks. So we sat down.....and waited....and waited....and after twenty minutes, we asked the people who had drinks how they got them and were told to ring the bell. We rang....and sat....and after ten minutes a chap turned up and got us drinks, and then disappeared. We were sort of hoping for a second one, but he didn't return, in fact he didn't even ask for our room number, so we went to reception to tell them and went out to dinner, thinking....it's maybe a bad day for them, we've had a bad journey, don't judge too quickly.

Found a FANTASTIC restaurant just to the right of the hotel (with blue and silver fairy lights on the ceiling), and had an amazing dinner. Came back to the hotel and called in at the bar for a nightcap.....no-one there. Went to bed.

Breakfast was pretty good the next morning, same barman organised breakfast for everyone (he must be the most hardworking man in Italy, he seemed to do everything), buffet style breakfast with pastries, toast, boiled eggs, cheese, ham, yoghurt, fruit, cereal, juices, everything you'd want.

The hotel advertises free Internet access, which actually means there is one computer in a separate building (across the garden) but you have to go to reception each time to check it's available and also we discovered it was riddled with trojans so we couldn't risk checking our email just in case. That's not the hotel's fault obviously, public computers are a nightmare, but if you were expecting to be able to use it a lot, join the queue, the hotel was full of american visitors desperate to be able to contact home.

The bar service didn't get any better and we found ourselves advising other customers to ring the bell and if that didn't work, try reception when on night two, we were the ones with the drinks, joined by thirsty looking would-be drinkers who were left on their own for ages. All this time waiting for drinks led us to see things we probably weren't meant to (like the mouse traps next to the end of the bar (no more bar pretzels for me thank you!) and the dirt growing in quiet corners.

The bed was made every day, but shampoo bottles were not replaced when empty. The dust bunnies gathered (well you know what they say about rabbits).

On the positive side the reception staff were really friendly and tried their best, even lending me an adaptor so I could charge my phone. I felt quite sorry for them at times because there clearly were very few staff for the size of hotel.

The actual hotel is filled with artwork, proper italian style furniture and tiled floors. It's really beautiful. Although there is some questionable artwork in one room (the Mona Lisa smoking a variety of spliffs!)

If you have mobility difficulties, this hotel may cause you problems because of the stairs, but then Florence generally is hard on the knees, legs and feet.

All in all, we reckoned it was a bit expensive for the service and facilities, but was within walkable distance of most things. They give you a free bag with their logo on which was a nice touch.

Helpful?
15 Thank hillock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2006

The four of us (2 adults and 2 boys ages 14 and 11) stayed in a large room with loft on the first floor facing the courtyard. Very quiet and comfortable and very old-fashioned Italian, which seems appropriate for Firenze. Bathroom, on the other hand, was brand new, which is good for Americans. Never saw (or heard of) any "Contessa" mentioned by previous reviewer. The desk managers ranged from polite to quite friendly, especially when we told him we were going to the Fiorentina soccer game. The breakfast was simple: pastries, cereal, and salami and cheese for those who really wanted to go Italian. Easy walking distance to everything, even with children. Would recommend to anyone who wants to feel like they are staying in a Renaissance Italian city.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2006

This hotel was worth the search. Easily in walking distance to all the sights in the city. I stayed there alone and felt very safe and comfortable. The courtyards were fabulous even in the dead of winter when I was there. I'm going back!

Helpful?
7 Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2006

We recently stayed at the Hotel Mona Lisa. Nice location and very quite. Our room, in the older villa, was small and nothing special as was the long narrow bathroom. The included breakfast was very good and the staff in the dinning room were excellent! The front staff, which must take their lead from the owner, “the Contessa” were sultry and not very friendly.

The one event that caused me to grade down this hotel was our interaction with the “Contessa.” One evening my wife and I along with our travel companions were have an early evening snack of leftovers and a bottle of wine in one of the many common areas of the hotel. This happened to be just outside of the “Contessa’s” residence. We were involved in normal conversation and not at all loud or boisterous. The “Contessa” emerged out of her apartment, stopped and reviewed the situation and left without saying a word. However, shortly thereafter the bartender arrived demanding to know why we were consuming a bottle of wine that had not been purchased at the hotel. He related that the “Contessa” had sent him up to query us and also had admonished him on why we had not purchased the wine from the hotel bar. Needless to say we were taken back but politely thanked him for his time.

This is not a cheap hotel and the audacity of the owner to make such a demand is beyond comprehension. I will never recommend this hotel or stay there again!

Stayed October 2003
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2006

we stayed their on our honeymoon. frankly we expected more. we had a nice room, note very big, but ok. at leadt the largest we had during our trip in italy. bathroom was clean and rather big even with jacuzzi. hotel has very pretty inside garden and parking (though chargeable). also the hotel is well situated. what about disadvantages they are: awful breakfast - there were absolutly nothing to eat, and avarage service - we had certain problems with laundry services. as i understand there really is a great difference between the rooms. so i guess it's better to find ou t where you would stay beforehead.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nalaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2005

We stayed in the Monna Lisa for 4 nights in early December and had a positive experience. This is not a luxury hotel, but given the price we had no complaints. The street is a quiet one and the location, near the Duomo and on the same street as La Giostra Restaurant is very convenient. Hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant to deal with, graciously providing information and making reservations for us for dinners and tours. The breakfast was very good and the dining room cheerful.

Helpful?
10 Thank whystayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Firenze Suite
Firenze Suite
#74 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cellai
Hotel Cellai
#84 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#114 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#78 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#157 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Property: Hotel Monna Lisa
Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#60 Family Hotel in Florence
#63 Business Hotel in Florence
#64 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing