We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect little gem in the centre of Florence”
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monna Lisa
Ranked #84 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel is very charming, very old traditional style with great history, we spent our wedding anniversary here.
Our room was wonderful, with a large balcony overlooking a beautiful garden, something you would not expect to find. The bar man was hilairious, all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good, with delicious croissants. It was not to far from all the attractions have to offer but till in a quiet and peaceful location. A definite winner for us, so charming. Would reccomend to anyone, who likes character and warmth.

Room Tip: try and ask for a room with balcolny, the view of the gardens is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOYCEEY57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

I am still pinching myself that I have just stayed in what was once a medieval palace. From the moment we stepped out of the taxi and into the entrance we were enchanted with this beautiful hotel. All the staff without exception could not have been more welcoming and friendly. Nothing seems any trouble to accommodate your requests. Special mention must be made of Vincente the barman who is a fabulous character and so warm and friendly. Our room was spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished although I do understand what some others have said about it being slightly airless. I think nobody wants to risk the dreaded mosquito bite! Breakfast is delightful, plenty of choice, a setting to die for, and amusing extremely efficient service. The hotel is so lovely that you would choose to come back after a day of sightseeing just to sit in its comfortable spaces with one of Vincente's special cocktails!

Florence itself is to die for. I would thoroughly recommend purchasing a Firenze Card which enabled us to skip ALL queues and give us great value for money. I am aware that we went at a quieter time so I am not sure how good this would be in the height of the season queue-jumping wise.

The hotel is in a PERFECT location. Turn right out of the hotel, right again, and you are looking at The Duomo.....10 minutes walk.

If I am lucky enough to return to Florence I would not want to stay in any other hotel but the Monna Lisa.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 58 and 59 at the back of the hotel. Lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Excellently located. Walking distance to attractions, but quiet. The room was a bit too warm even at this time of year without air conditioning. The setting and gardens are great. Plenty of common space also and the hotel is spacious in general.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gj20140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I booked the Monna Lisa sometime in December due to the great reviews and the wonderful look of the place. I had booked it as part of a weekend where I proposed to my girlfriend. After looking at the site again I asked to be upgraded as I thought it is a special weekend and maybe a bit of space will be a good thing. I contacted the reception and a wonderful guy called Gabriel dealt with me swiftly and mentioned they were heavily booked and he would see what he can do. Well he surpassed all expectations. After greeting us at reception and taking us immediately upstairs to a beautiful room that was nearly as big as my apartment. To say my now future wife was impressed it was an understatement. Together with the first rate service and the stunning hotel. I can only say great things about Monna lisa Florence. To the team there from Monika and myself, Grazie Mille.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Pros: Location, friendly staff especially the night receptionist and the barman and breakfast staff, old city atmosphere
Cons: Not air conditioned, some mosquitos. We drove here Assisi and driving through Florence was a nightmare! Hotel is on a one way street with a dead end...took us over an hour to get from the lobby to the back of the hotel to park! Overall this was a great hotel, but don't drive if you can help it!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank xoamyhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I booked a stay at the Monna Lisa Hotel through Gala Hotels last July for a four day stay in August. I cancelled the first night within the proper time frame. I never received a refund. I tried contacting Gala Hotels well over 15 times because reaching them at the London number which was listed was nearly impossible. The phone would ring without anyone picking it up. The two times I was successful in reaching a person, they promised they would take care of the refund, but nothing was ever done. On two other occasions, my call was answered by someone in Turkey even though I called a London number. I enjoyed the Monna Lisa tremendously and would stay there again even though the bed was quite hard. However, I would NEVER EVER USE GALA HOTELS as a booking agent. I was not treated honestly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights here on our 10 day Italy trip. The hotel is only a 15 minute walk from the train station. But, grab a cab when you get there to take you to your hotel. Only 10 to 15 Euros. Then once you get the layout of the city down, you can walk everywhere in 15 to 20 minutes. The duomo and cathedral is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We weren't particularly impressed with the hotel itself, but the staff was excellent. Our hotel room was larger than we expected and comfortable, but the noise from the other guests made sleeping difficult. It's an old building and the walls are thin. Our experience with Francesca and Irene at the front desk was excellent. They booked us last minute reservations for the Accademia and a day trip to Siena and Pisa, as well as had an iphone charger for me to use. As in a previous review of our hotel in Rome, the temp in our room was set at 24 degrees celsius = 75 degrees F...too warm for me, so we just left our windows open. No big deal. Florence is a quiet city and we enjoyed our stay there, lots of shopping options, especially leather stores. I didn't particularly enjoy the food there, as much as we did in Rome. As stated previously, we booked a day trip to Siena/Pisa which was excellent!

Room Tip: Friendly, helpful staff, but noisy rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#59 of 410 in Florence
1,220 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#30 of 410 in Florence
2,418 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#65 of 410 in Florence
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#54 of 410 in Florence
1,482 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,960 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#64 Business Hotel in Florence
#64 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $111 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing