We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, cozy hotel in Historical District”
Review of Hotel Monna Lisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Monna Lisa
Ranked #91 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is beautiful with so many different rooms and gardens to lounge in. It's close to the Duomo but still in a quiet part of town. Not too many restaurants around so you'll have to be adventurous and stroll a bit (not a bad thing!). They serve a full breakfast every day. Loved it.

Room Tip: our room had a very nice jacuzzi bathtub with a hand-held showerhead - NOT a stand up shower. reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilStreetE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Florence was fantastic but damp and crowded.The Monna Lisa was just fantastic an old quirky palazzo a relic of past times with a sense of humour about itself-see the various Mona Lisas in the garden room- very clever.Great staff ,very good breakfast and the most entertaining bar man in Florence. No dinner but so what?Florence is full of restaurants and it gets you out. Loads of nooks and crannies and a lovely enclosed garden as well if you want to hide. Pass through the huge front door to somewhere else 20th21st century it is not but we have that at home.Transport yourself.Great Location.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the original part of the palazzo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patdil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I just left Florence, having spent three nights at the Monna Lisa Hotel. If you're looking for something in a quieter part of town, this is it. However, it's within a 10-15 walk of most everything you'll want to see. The room was lovely; the staff very friendly and helpful, and the price was right. Breakfast is included, and features fresh fruit, breads, cheeses, eggs, cold cuts, etc. We comfortably recommend this hotel and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are willing to spend a bit more, request a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is tucked away and nice and quiet. Had a great courtyard, a perfect place to have a glass of wine and relax in between sight seeing ventures. Hotel is furnished with load of antiques. Rooms were a bit small but were clean and had a sense of charm. Breakfast was average. Location is close enough to walk to the major sites and to the river. Several good places to eat within a 5 min walk. Would definitely consider again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marker61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I traveled to Florence on vacation with my parents so finding a hotel with a triple room was difficult. I chose Hotel Monna Lisa from reading reviews on TripAdvisor. We got to the hotel before check-in time so we went to grab a quick lunch and they said our room would be ready when we returned. When we got back we were given our room and let's just say it was less than what we were expecting. My father is 6'2" and there was no way he was going to be able to stand in the raised tub and fit under the shower head. We tried to be positive about it and just went to the bar to get a drink. While at the bar (you must meet Vinchenzo - he is very nice and a wonderful bartender) mom went to the front desk and spoke with Regina (another wonderful staff person) and Regina was able to get us into a much better room with a stand-up shower. Breakfast every morning was nice. Luigi was very accomodating in getting us dinner reservations in the city on a night when many restaurants are closed.
We did not get to see what the rooms look like in the "newer part of the hotel" so I can't say if they are nicer than the ones in the main hotel. I would indeed recommend Hotel Monna Lisa to anyone staying in Florence. It is conveniently located to many of the main attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is our second time staying here. We were here five years ago, came back again and had another perfect stay. Great location, amazing breakfast, old world charm and quiet room. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

was everything and more than expected, had a lovely 1st floor room overlooking the garden. It was bliss after a hard day's sightseeing and quiet could not believe we were in a very busy city. Only a very short walk to the Duomo , only a little further to the other major sites. Hotel staff were excellent, organising taxi's, helping with luggage and assisting us with locations to eat out as well as having a lovely sense of humour. Didn't want to leave as it was so relaxing. Definitely use this hotel again.

John and Anne

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden for peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_chenery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Firenze Suite
Firenze Suite
#53 of 409 in Florence
303 reviews
Duomo
Grand Hotel Cavour
Grand Hotel Cavour
#87 of 409 in Florence
1,853 reviews
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#146 of 409 in Florence
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#175 of 409 in Florence
467 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 409 in Florence
2,382 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#61 of 409 in Florence
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monna Lisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monna Lisa

Address: Borgo Pinti 27, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#60 Family Hotel in Florence
#64 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#64 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $102 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monna Lisa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Ornate Hotel featuring original works of art, occupying two floors of a 14th-century Palace near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Monna Lisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monna Lisa Florence
Monna Lisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing