We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly overrated - if I could give a rating of 0, I would.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Italiana Hotels Florence
Ranked #162 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly overrated - if I could give a rating of 0, I would.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were disappointed before we even reached this hotel; as we got further and further from the city centre in the taxi, we realised how far from the main sights this place was. This meant extra expenses of bus tickets and taxi fares. This was just the beginning of many issues...

-Unhappy and unhelpful staff, no porters
-Dirty, tired lobby
-Room had many dead mosquitoes left on walls and ceilings
-Bad smell in the lifts (which were tiny)
-Dirty pool towels
-Two duvets for three beds in our room
-Electricity off and minibar locked before we fully checked out
-Worst wifi system I've come across (five euros for five hours)
-Water from restaurant/bar (of which the food looked unappealing) expensive at 2.50 euros for 500ml - even receptionist recommended we buy it from local supermarket instead

The only good feature of this hotel was the pool, which we would have used at the end of a hot day, but were unable to for long as it closed early. The pool was definitely not a worthy compromise over a more central location, with many hotels near the cathedral offering similar prices to those of this one.

We are likely to be returning to Florence in the future but will not even dream of staying here again.

Room Tip: Book a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjfalcon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    354
    230
    89
    54
See reviews for
287
346
38
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

When I booked the hotel I knew that it used to be a Holiday Inn and this is what I expected. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly and made the stay very pleasurable. I really look forward to seeing what changes are made to the hotel and would definitely stay again when I next visit Florence.

For location, I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys living amongst the people of Italy rather than being stuck amongst other tourists. The hotel is in a pleasant residential area on the outskirts of Florence and is c15 mins bus ride (23) from the Centre. And what a fantastic city - breath taking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Das1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in June on a Cosmos tour. Fortunately we got one of the renovated rooms with round bed and bright red shower cubicle. The facilities were excellent, and it was the best nights sleep we got on the tour. The hotel also has a lovely alfresco dining area near the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Fyn, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have read much of the negative comments on this hotel, but we had no problems at all.

Aircondition worked, public areas was clean and in okay condition, all the staff was really friendly and helpsom, no charging for our own items in the minibar, the pool was open and the breakfast buffet was large with something for everyone: bread, cold cuts, cake, fresh fruit, juice, espresso, scrambled eggs etc.
As the terms say, internet costs a few Euros. We bought 2x 1 hour for 3€ each, which worked well without any speed issues (we didn't upload/download huge data though). The internet time could be split on multiple sessions, if you remember to logout, which was nice. (No time for internet anyway - go discover Tuscany, its stunning!)

We stayed in a Deluxe room, which was worth the money - nice, clean and comfortable. Not much noice could be heard from the streets/outside, but you could hear your neighbors shower, but nothing irritating. However, be aware that screaming/high talking persons on the hallway can easily be heard - not something to blame the hotel in my opinion, instead these should just be told how to behave at a hotel: silent.

Our ONLY concern was the opening times for the pool, which was from 10 am. to 7 pm. It maked it hard for us to use the pool, when we also wanted to disover Florence and Tuscany. Hopefully they change these opening hours in the future.

All in all it was a great stay, and we felt most welcome. If we visit Tuscany or Florence another time we would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room. The bath and bed will impress your partner/wife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennethHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Minus points:

- no free wifi (3€ per hour) and all other hotels we stayed at in Italy it was free
- reception staff was not very friendly and helpful, they always seemed busy
- some stains on carpet in our room and only 2 sets of towels (we stayed with 3 people)
- if you´re a light sleeper you´ll have trouble sleeping in the rooms facing the streets --> lots of traffic, so better ask for a room facing the yard
- high visitor´s tax (for Italy) 4€ per day

Plus points:

- the breakfast was lovely (food was good and always enough and the setting in the backyard by the pool was very relaxing and a great start in the day)
- pool was clean
- good location for people who come by car (easy to find, close to the highway)
- bus to the center of Florence leaves right in front of the hotel (takes about 15 minutes)
(- ok sized rooms)

We booked through one website on trivago.com and got 3 nights at this hotel for 190€. This is dead cheap for three grown-ups, so for this price I´d definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Take a room facing the backyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuhkimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just enjoyed a lovely week at this hotel. Being a family we had requested two rooms close together - it was great that we had adjoining rooms at the rear of the hotel overlooking the pool and park. The rooms were good 4 star quality.
The pool was fabulous and the towels are provided free by the hotel!
Breakfast was good although a bit frantic at times. The staff were friendly and polite and always willing to help.
There are numerous good restaurants and shops close by.
Getting in and out of Florence was easy with the bus stop directly outside the hotel and buses running every 20 minutes (bus 23 into Florence centre and 23A back)
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasteslikechicken13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week as part of a trade delegation, so it was not of my choosing. I have been to Florence over 40 times as I import Italian products. The hotel is located in a residential area of apartments with commercial sites surrounding it including a gas station in front of the hotel entrance. It is located on the south side of Florence near the Firenze Sud entrance to the A1 autostrada.. If this is your first visit to Florence and you have chosen this hotel because of budget, I really think you can find something closer to the center for a similar price and much more convenient location. Why waste 40 euros for taxi fare (roundtrip) when you could add that money to a room closer to the center to see the sites. You can take the bus as others have noted, which is much cheaper as an option. The hotel is geared for tour groups and business conferences. The only ambience it has is the recently opened pool in the back of of the hotel surrounded by grass. The rooms are clean and of adequate size. There are 4 computers in the lobby for Internet service, but there is a cost. The restaurant is of poor quality. Breakfast has a decent selection, but below average quality, the same with dinner. Even though our group had sponsored meals in the restaurant, after the first night we opted to eat out of the hotel for the rest of the week.

I would recommend a room at the back. Even though it overlooks the parking lot where the tour buses reside, beyond that there is a view of a small neighborhood park and the hills surrounding Florence beyond. It is also quieter, as the hotel is on Viale Europa a very busy main street of Florence.

If you do end up staying at the hotel, there is a wonderful and large COOP market about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the hotel. It is fantastic! If you are into food, don't miss it. When you exit the front of the hotel turn right. It's an easy flat walk. You can pick up a myriad of goodies and it's just plain fun to visit. It's large, on the right side, you can't miss it.

Until August 18th, there is a very important exhibit at the Palazzo Strozzi in the center of Florence called The Springtime of the Renaissance, the period 1400 to 1460, before the Medicis took power. The pieces are from important museums and private collections from all over the world. Very well curated in Italian and English. Allow 2 hours. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Back of the hotel away from front which looks on a gas station and busy Viale Europa, looks on parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welltravelled8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Together Florence Inn
#263 of 422 in Florence
671 reviews
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#183 of 422 in Florence
193 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#102 of 422 in Florence
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#194 of 422 in Florence
626 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#147 of 422 in Florence
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Italiana Hotels Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Italiana Hotels Florence

Property: Italiana Hotels Florence
Address: Viale Europa 205, 50126, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#90 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#129 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Italiana Hotels Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the residential district in the south of the city of Florence at only 15 minutes from the city centre, the Italiana Hotels Florence is a traditional Hotel which underwented to a partial restyling to valorize the building. It's the ideal point of departure to reach the main tourist attractions: Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi Gallery, , the Accademia and moreover the 3 main art, music and show centres: the Obihall Theatre, the Mandela Forum and the Franchi Stadium. Moreover, the Hotel is not far from the famous Tuscan courtyard, where through a pleasant walk, you will discover the Chianti vineyards and taste the best Chianti red wine along with typical hand-made snacks. Choose to live in the heart of the city where you find everything from opera and theatres to museums, typical Tuscany restaurants and shopping places, an Hotel that lives the city with your passion. We will be happy to help you to discover the treasures of the city that we love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Italiana Hotels Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing