We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel, worse attitudes.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Italiana Hotels Florence
Ranked #170 of 412 Hotels in Florence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor hotel, worse attitudes.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

For starters this hotel is quite good for it's location but thats about where it stops.

The staff on the reception desk are just plain rude.

I went down to ask for a room service menu as there weren't any in my room only to be greeted by "They are in your room" from marlena the super friendly receptionist, after explaining that we did not have one she told me to go upstairs and call them from my room. I asked if she could just give me a menu after rolling her eyes and picking up the phone she called one of the restaurant staff to bring a menu to reception. Then once she photo copied it and handed it me she said "Here you are, they are in your room though." I'm not blind woman if it was in my ****ing room I wouldn't be here asking you for one.

The breakfast is average just soggy eggs and pastries with flies buzzing around them.

The gym is ok, no lights no music and missing several weights.

The same reception staff member was also rude to my girlfriend when she asked if there was a bus to a winery we were hoping to see and was met with a "No." and then she walked out of reception only to have a younger man come out and find her a bus schedule in 2 minutes.

If you've run out of options stay here, otherwise you can do better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    367
    236
    94
    59
See reviews for
303
361
39
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Ample free parking is a real convenience in Florence. Buses to downtown stop in front of the hotel. WiFi works well and reasonably priced. Very generous breakfast. This hotel is no longer affiliated with Holilday Inn. Staff is very attentive. Room service food is of excellent quality and reasonably priced. Many stores, cafes, drugstore, gas station in the same block. Has a mini-bar but you are asked not to use it for your own food. Nice bathroom with a bidet. Safe deposit boxes are available at the front desk. The downside: worn out carpeting throughout.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, the rooms and the general hotel needed an upgrade,the paint was peeling off the walls. It took the porter over an hour to bring our bags to the room because they didnt start until 4 pm. We managed to get the bus (no 23) from the town back to the Hotel for 1.20 euro and the bus stopped right outside the hotel, the bus driver was most helpful. The swimming pool was a bonus except it looked like the families of staff or locals used the pool and took up all the sun loungers all day, (you could tell as they didnt use the guest supplied towels). Happy hour saw free drinks and nibbles by the pool at 7 pm. For dinner at night he waiting staff did not speak very good english and even when we pointed to the number on the meal we wanted on the menu they still didnt get it right on 3 out of 6 meals.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank namel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel was in real need of some updating in the communal areas, this is what let the hotel down. The rooms, however, were clean and spacious. The pool gets the sun from 1st thing in the morning to last thing at night which is a great bonus. For breakfast you had a good choice.
From the hotel you can get the bus directly into the centre of Florence which takes around 10mins.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and was suitable to our needs so would go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

we were driving to Florence, so a Hotel in the center was out of the question, this was a good alternative, with easy access from the highways and a bus just in front that takes you to the city in 15 minutes. The girls in the reception desk were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariMichelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed on 13, 14, 15 July. This hotel doesn't deserve to have the Holiday Inn name. I won't blame the staff, moreso the management.
On my arrival, one male receptionist was handling everything in peak afternoon checkin time. It took a long time to check in.
The hotel had wireless internet but the room I was in was out of range. The wired internet in room didn't work.
Menu was unappealing and so was the room service menu. In Italy and they have heated up frozen pizza! I ordered a ham and cheese toasted sandwich that was so dry it was disgusting.
I would put this hotel as a 2 star, and was given better service at a 3 star hotel in Iraq 6 weeks ago.
Too far away from the city too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCzech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

After reading some of the reviews on here I was a little scared about my stay. Upon entering my room I was very surprised at how clean and modern the room was. The water pressure in the shower is great and you also get a handful of amenities. Front desk was very helpful. The breakfast was quite impressive for European standards, well worth it to add it to your room package. There was an assortment of breads cereals danishes and fruits, as well as your typical European meats. The only item I would not reccomend are the scrambeled eggs as they seem to be done differently in Europe.
It is obvious that this hotel is not located downtown, but with that being said the bus stop is well located by the hotel and will get you to all major sites in Florence within 20 min.
There is also a pastry shop around the corner that is amazing !
Great value and is perfect for those that don't mind a little adventure to the city.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriela_monira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.6 mi away
Together Florence Inn
Together Florence Inn
#289 of 412 in Florence
694 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Florence Metropole
Hilton Florence Metropole
#148 of 412 in Florence
1,950 reviews
4.4 mi away
Starhotels Tuscany
Starhotels Tuscany
#101 of 412 in Florence
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Villa Belvedere - Florence
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#192 of 412 in Florence
203 reviews
7.0 mi away
Novotel Firenze Nord Aeroporto
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#29 of 412 in Florence
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Italiana Hotels Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Italiana Hotels Florence

Property: Italiana Hotels Florence
Address: Viale Europa 205, 50126, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#93 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#129 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Italiana Hotels Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the residential district in the south of the city of Florence at only 15 minutes from the city centre, the Italiana Hotels Florence is a traditional Hotel which underwented to a partial restyling to valorize the building. It's the ideal point of departure to reach the main tourist attractions: Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi Gallery, , the Accademia and moreover the 3 main art, music and show centres: the Obihall Theatre, the Mandela Forum and the Franchi Stadium. Moreover, the Hotel is not far from the famous Tuscan courtyard, where through a pleasant walk, you will discover the Chianti vineyards and taste the best Chianti red wine along with typical hand-made snacks. Choose to live in the heart of the city where you find everything from opera and theatres to museums, typical Tuscany restaurants and shopping places, an Hotel that lives the city with your passion. We will be happy to help you to discover the treasures of the city that we love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Italiana Hotels Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing