We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Old charm, good location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Ranked #238 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed in April 2998 and loved it. We found it very hard to find as I misread my map and directions and we ended up god knows where. We eventually found Villa Carlotta and what a pleasant surprise. We were on the top floor so the view in the morning when we opened our shutters was magic. My stereotypical Tusan outlook.
The room was lovely, spacious, clean. The bathroom was the same.
We spent some time sitting on the 'verandah' downstairs sipping Chianti that we bought from the Villa. Very relaxing.
The girl on reception was lovely and helpful, and she gave us a good tip for dinner - a small Italian restaurant down around the corner. Was typically Italian, good pizza, nice Chianti.
The small square down from Villa Carlotta has fresh fruit vendors there in the morning which is perfect for picking up a few pieces of fruit for the day ahead.
It was about a 20-25 minute walk from Villa Carlotta to the train station (once we realised the direct route to the Villa!). A nice, easy 15 minute walk into the main town of Florence.
We loved Florence and Villa Carlotta contributed to it!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fawky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
There are newer reviews for Villa Carlotta Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 610 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I had to find a place to stay last minute in Florence and came across Villa Carlotta by way of TripAdvisor. They were able to book us for one night that same morning! It was a bit away from Central Florence, but in a really picturesque place and close to Boboli Gardens. Very European flair, with regal furniture detail. Free web access for guests, great breakfast, and clean rooms. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dialafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

I spent two nights in Villa Carlotta for business in town. I wish I could have brought my fiancée with me as she would have love the charming of the hotel and the warmess of the staff. Bed were really comfortable, the breakfast lovely and the dinner superb.

I also enjoyed very much the spatious terrace with the garden and the fountain.

I strongly advise Villa Carlotta to everyone looking for an hotel with personality!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The hotel was a bit pricey but the service, location, and breakfast were worht it. Rooms are big, clean and luminous with a comfortable bathroom. The hotel is only a 20min walk from the Domo and other downtown attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprocek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

I spent one evening at Villa Carlotta. I was assigned the cheaper 'dependance' room. Not very spacious but the layover was short and sleep good. Room nice and seemed pretty new, but the hallway smelled of mildew and needs refurbishing. Overall I'd give it a 3star rating, but didnot have a great experience with the dining. Cannot vouch, but food seems precooked. There was also only 1waiter for dining and service slow. I encountered same problem for breakfast. Again, only 1waiter and it took forever to get a clean table and coffee. Don't know if I'd want to stay there again on a short trip, but probably more fit for leisure travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2010

Dear Guest,
We are very sorry for the inconvenient you found, you would be happy to know that after your feedback on the service we modify the organization inside the Hotel.

Best Regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Waking up the first morning hearing the birds sing and opening the window shutters and the first that I see was a blossoming cherry tree. Vacation! This hotel is a real gem, a nice walk from the city center. Two minutes from the Boboli gardens. I definitely recommend this hotel. The staff is very nice. Tasty brekfast with coffee made directly for you. The best!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SverigeTurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed for a week here, because both trip advisor and Frodor's gave it great reviews. We rented a car and drove around Tuscany and there was free parking. The breakfast is fantastic (I still miss it every morning). We also had Dinner there the first night since we came in late and were exausted. Very attentive service, good food, great wine, and all at a very resonable price.

It is close to Bobili Gardens and the Meusems and a short walk to the bridge. We saw some of the other comprable hotels in Florence that we had considered while planning our vacation (most were nice hotels but in dirty and loud areas), and we were very happy we chose Villa Carlotta. We had an unforgettable experience and much of it was due to the wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTI-n-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#194 of 411 in Florence
204 reviews
Classic Hotel
#222 of 411 in Florence
184 reviews
Park Palace Hotel
#157 of 411 in Florence
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#209 of 411 in Florence
315 reviews
Together Florence Inn
#290 of 411 in Florence
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carlotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carlotta Hotel

Address: Via Michele di Lando 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $81 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Carlotta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is a romantic 19th century patrician manor, situated in the wooded residential area around Porta Romana, at the foot of Piazzale Michelangelo, and within walking distance to the Pitti Palace and the Ponte Vecchio. A brief stroll along some of the characteristic streets of Renaissance Florence or, if you prefer, through the famed Boboli Gardens of the Pitti Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Carlotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlotta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing