We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly , slightly tired but lovely people. All you need from a Florence budget option.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Ranked #233 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Providenciales
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly , slightly tired but lovely people. All you need from a Florence budget option.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Three night weekend, Room 115.

Good: breakfast (surpisingly good and generous), charming bar and terrace, quiet, air-con (it's just ok, not ice cold in Alex, but very welcome all the same), service (friendly obliging staff), shower pressure (really good)

Not so good: slightly whiffy (sewers) in room .. no it wasn't me...clears quickly if you open the window (!) , room a bit small, fridge didn't work (but very prompt room service ). 10+ minute walk to town, loses its charm somewhat after two or three trips...but the hotel is super quiet at night. so take a cab..8 euros.Bed v comfortable.

Overall I really liked the people who run this place, and I'd recommend it to those on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    228
    113
    45
    18
See reviews for
92
344
20
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked this hotel for new year after reading the reviews. I'm sure for those staying in the main part the descriptions are true however we were given an up stairs rooms in the annex. We had trouble getting our suit case in as the room was so small. Everything was layered with dirt. We did complain and were given a downstairs bigger cleaner room but it was not the stay we expected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhileasFogg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
we're sorry you do not like so much Villa Carlotta; You reserved a Classic Room and the dimension are in compliance with the Law for a 4 star Hotel.
There is no difference in quality from between the two part of the hotel. The room are perfectly clean every morning in every part, we really take care about it, we are sorry you see something not perfectly clean as you said, ; The problem with the dimension was solved giving you a free upgrade in a superior room for free; Unfortunatly also one of our most big room and a free upgrade was not enough to give us a good rate.
We hope you'll give the chance to be again our guest and to let you pass a fantastic period in Florence.
Best Regards
Antonio Venturini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nice hotel across the river, it's close to the Boboli park - a nice to walk and relax far away from the tourist part of the Florence city.

This is a 4 star hotel so you need to be aware that here the tourist tax you pay is higher than other places (4 euros per person per day). This was a surprise for me since I stayed in another hotel previously and payed half of that. The breakfast is fancy but the food is terrible, worst juice I've ever tried in my life. Rooms are ok and the bathroom is really nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
The city tax is not different from any other 4 star hotel in Florence.
1 Star -1 Euro
2 Star- 2 Euro
3 Star- 3 Euro
4 Star - 4 Euro
5 Star- 5 Euro
The price is per person per night.
it's a tax that's not depends from us.
I'm Sorry that with this miss understanding you gave us a not very good rate.

About the orange juice , is really the first time we hear this thing; we have the San Pellegrino's Juices, the Best Italian Quality for juice, i'm really sorry you don't like it.

Best Regards
Antonio Venturini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Davids, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel Carlotta was set in a lovely, leafy neighbourhood in a quiet part of Florence; an easy walk in to Ponte Vecchio and the city. Service and breakfast was good; we did not have the opportunity to eat dinner there. Our room and bathroom was very generously sized and beautifully clean, with a view of the garden and trees. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Oerall this is a great property conveniently located 10-12 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio. Whcile most of the rooms a of standard measurements, there is a room on the first floor whose bathroom is so small hat you can touch all 4 walls just by stretching your arms out. This bathroom is soo poorly designed that you cannot sit properly in the toilet as it is only a few centimeters away from the wall. Aside from he size of the bathroom, the rest of the property is normal in appearance and size. The continental Breakfast has plenty of selections that will ft most travelers' needs. The staff is attentive and will go out of their way to make sure your expectations are met.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessitori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay if it was not quite far from the mean touristic areas.. Situated in a nice residential area, it is quiet but above ask very different from the hotels system.
Or room was big enough to enjoy every inch in it (king size bed, big cupboards, nice bathroom daily cleaned, with a nice view (trees everywhere) and neighbours far enough not to disturb, restaurant inside and in the garden area, people in the reception are very nice and helpful (which seems to be the owners).. Only one incident that i cant neglect, the AC was out of service which is "awful" in summer in Florence (they said they week fix it the day after. a nice Tunisian guy ( seems to be polyvalent there) was nice and could manage a fan but that wad not enough to cool down the room and nothing was done later despite our insistence.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArrowsODYSSEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. We love to receve reviews for the chance to improve the quality of your stay.
About the air condition, the point is that in thoose days , also if we are in June, the temperate in Florence is very Low and strange for the season: 16°C during the day and 9°C by night and is raining a lot. That's why we didn't turned on the air condition.

Best Regards
Antonio Ventuirini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights and loved it! The location was perfect, because it's not in the city center, but close enough to walk to it. It's located at a very residencial and fancy neighborhood. The breakfast was great along with the service. We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexserrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#183 of 422 in Florence
193 reviews
Classic Hotel
#218 of 422 in Florence
179 reviews
Park Palace Hotel
#159 of 422 in Florence
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#209 of 422 in Florence
310 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#87 of 422 in Florence
421 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#249 of 422 in Florence
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carlotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carlotta Hotel

Property: Villa Carlotta Hotel
Address: Via Michele di Lando 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Carlotta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is a romantic 19th century patrician manor, situated in the wooded residential area around Porta Romana, at the foot of Piazzale Michelangelo, and within walking distance to the Pitti Palace and the Ponte Vecchio. A brief stroll along some of the characteristic streets of Renaissance Florence or, if you prefer, through the famed Boboli Gardens of the Pitti Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa Carlotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlotta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing