We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Ranked #239 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel Carlotta was set in a lovely, leafy neighbourhood in a quiet part of Florence; an easy walk in to Ponte Vecchio and the city. Service and breakfast was good; we did not have the opportunity to eat dinner there. Our room and bathroom was very generously sized and beautifully clean, with a view of the garden and trees. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 621 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Oerall this is a great property conveniently located 10-12 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio. Whcile most of the rooms a of standard measurements, there is a room on the first floor whose bathroom is so small hat you can touch all 4 walls just by stretching your arms out. This bathroom is soo poorly designed that you cannot sit properly in the toilet as it is only a few centimeters away from the wall. Aside from he size of the bathroom, the rest of the property is normal in appearance and size. The continental Breakfast has plenty of selections that will ft most travelers' needs. The staff is attentive and will go out of their way to make sure your expectations are met.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessitori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay if it was not quite far from the mean touristic areas.. Situated in a nice residential area, it is quiet but above ask very different from the hotels system.
Or room was big enough to enjoy every inch in it (king size bed, big cupboards, nice bathroom daily cleaned, with a nice view (trees everywhere) and neighbours far enough not to disturb, restaurant inside and in the garden area, people in the reception are very nice and helpful (which seems to be the owners).. Only one incident that i cant neglect, the AC was out of service which is "awful" in summer in Florence (they said they week fix it the day after. a nice Tunisian guy ( seems to be polyvalent there) was nice and could manage a fan but that wad not enough to cool down the room and nothing was done later despite our insistence.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArrowsODYSSEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. We love to receve reviews for the chance to improve the quality of your stay.
About the air condition, the point is that in thoose days , also if we are in June, the temperate in Florence is very Low and strange for the season: 16°C during the day and 9°C by night and is raining a lot. That's why we didn't turned on the air condition.

Best Regards
Antonio Ventuirini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights and loved it! The location was perfect, because it's not in the city center, but close enough to walk to it. It's located at a very residencial and fancy neighborhood. The breakfast was great along with the service. We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexserrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is a lovely old villa about twenty minutes from Ponte Vecchio near the Boboli Gardens. It is set in a leafy residential part of Florence. The rooms were large enough but there was the continuing smell of sewerage that turned us off. It is a Florence thing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bravco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Guest,
we are sorry about the inconenience during your stay, If we knew it we were able to change you the room if case of availabiity; When we realize the problem we solved it the day after.
We hope you will give us the possibility to forgive this very very rare inconvenience during a next stay.
Best Regards

Antonio Venturini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel is 'nice'.. Nothing horrible but nothing spectacular. I feel quite middle of the road about this hotel. It was functional although a little out of the centre of the main area of Florence city, this may be a bonus as it was very quiet and peaceful at night. Apparently the main area can be very noisy at night. Breakfast was substantial with the usual continental style choice. Service was good with a smile & a bonjourno greeting. Reception was friendly & helpful. Did not try the restaurant but it did not seem to be used by anyone whilst we stayed here. The room was clean & functional. Bathroom was good, Shower brilliant. (room 115) Although the door needs fixing on the bathroom, the wardrobe and the main door into the room. The hotel had a little bit of a tired feeling about it and seemed to need a little bit of sprucing up, especially outside in the garden area and the canopy outside gave the hotel a look of shabbiness. This hotel, in my opinion is not a 4star hotel. It was not an awful place to stay at all,It was OK..I would not discourage anyone to stay here but at the same time i would not recommend, but I would not particularly choose to return. Saying all that, we had a lovely break in Florence. A beautiful city surrounded by beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindseylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villcar, Direttore at Villa Carlotta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Customer,
we are sorry you not enjoyed staying at Villa Carlotta, but we are happy you tell us that you appreciated the cleanliness, the friendliness of staff, the room and bathroom.
The hotel is just outside the old town and you can reach it walking through the Boboli Gardens in 15 Minutes.
The terrace is used lot in the evening from our customers for a drink or just for relaxing, but the bad weather of recent weeks (unfortunately has always rained) certainly did not invite to be outdoors, to inform you however, in November we will made works on the terrace of to build a beautiful outdoor pool with many whirlpools to enjoy the sunny days.

Maybe you felt bad because you expected a modern style in the Hotel, We are very appreciated for the quiet of the surrounding area, for free parking, for the cleaning and the service, but mostly because so many people love to stay in a not Standard Hotel.
We hope to have you again as our most welcome guest
Best Regards
Antonio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

It's a lovely building in a nice area - not in the city center, but the location is beautiful, amidst other villas. We were four people staying in two rooms. The one on the top floor was worse: the carpet in the hallway is worn, the room looks tired and the bathroom radiator was dusty for all three days of our stay. The bar, seating area and breakfast room all are worn beyond the state of charm, the breakfast buffet was OK for the price. I think this hotel would greatly benefit from a remodel, since the substance is very good. The staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maverickberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#194 of 410 in Florence
208 reviews
Classic Hotel
#222 of 410 in Florence
184 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#207 of 410 in Florence
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Palace Hotel
#158 of 410 in Florence
332 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#241 of 410 in Florence
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carlotta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carlotta Hotel

Address: Via Michele di Lando 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $77 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Carlotta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is a romantic 19th century patrician manor, situated in the wooded residential area around Porta Romana, at the foot of Piazzale Michelangelo, and within walking distance to the Pitti Palace and the Ponte Vecchio. A brief stroll along some of the characteristic streets of Renaissance Florence or, if you prefer, through the famed Boboli Gardens of the Pitti Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Carlotta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlotta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing