We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in Florence”
Review of Select Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Select Hotel
Ranked #327 of 410 Hotels in Florence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 11, 2012

+ Nice rooms (we stayed in one the executive quadruples), very good breakfast, thay have a safe parking place.

- One of the two double bads too close to the floor.
Be carefull on what they charge you for and the prices displayed on the reservation website and in your email got from the reservation website.

Room Tip: Choose the executive rooms/apartments - they are newer. Take something against mosquitoes with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bianca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98169, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Select Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Bianca A
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 489 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Due to the reviews here we almost changed our reservations. The hotel is a typical older hotel near the heart of Florence - safe, old, residential neighbourhood. We had the upgraded room which was not huge but reasonable, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was modern and spotless. Windows that OPEN on to the street - you knew you were in Italy here and not just at a Best Western anywhere. The staff was helpful and informative. We use Best Western gift cards when travelling (and this can be a HUGE problem on checkout) but no issues here at all. We enjoyed our stay. Good restaurants are more accessible if you walk near the river. Parking can be a problem though, if driving.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98169, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Select Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Beverly

Never judge a book by its cover, you say right? Sometimes reviews can be deceiving but what you experienced here at the Best Western Hotel Select is really what you got.

Our front desk staff really works hard to satisfy client's needs and sometimes, in your case, we succeed.

We sincerly hope to see you again in the future
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

On the other side of the main hotel, they have some small apartments. After giving us the key to an apartment of someone else (imagine how surprised you would be when a stranger walks in at 23h00) they gave us an apartment in a basement which smelled like a moulded, wet basement or a dark cave. After spraying a good deal of aftershave it was bearable.
The breakfast was rather sad, staff is not friendly and not professional. My advice: look for another hotel. Skip this one!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickyvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We booked a room at this hotel, as we were informed it included a full cooked breakfast, whereas the Best Western Executive (across the road) only supplied a buffet breakfast, and was cheaper. However, as it turned out, breakfasts for both hotels were the same (Executive guests crossed the road each morning to have breakfast, which was a half-hearted buffet (no fresh juice - cheap squash instead, bad coffee, very limited spread, and the staff started to pack up 30 mins before it was due to close). Our tea/coffee wasn't replenished each day, there was no milk/whitener, only one sachet of coffee, and the bathroom toiletries were also not replenished. Our mugs were also left unwashed, and in one case unemptied from the previous night. The TV didn't pick up several channels it should have (we asked them to look into this on the first night, and they said they would get someone onto it the following day, which never happened), there was only one power socket (which was also loose, and seemed unsafe), one of which was for the fridge (one of the only helpful things in the room), meaning that you could either boil the kettle, turn on the TV or recharge your phone, but not all 3 at once.
We were also disappointed to find that the City tax hadn't been included in our original booking costs (which we had paid at the time of booking), nor were we asked to pay on arrival, so we were landed with a 3 Euro per person per night charge at checkout (at the previous hotel we stayed at this trip, we were told about the charge on the first night, and asked to pay at check-in). We were surprised this rubbishy little place is associated with Best Western in any way, and will be letting Best Western know about our experience.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel! We were woken early in the morning by a local dog barking, and in one inst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmaMelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98169, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Select Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Emamelan,

I really want to apologize for your bad experience at the Best Western Hotel Select; maybe there was a lack of comunication with the Front Desk Staff, which usually is always helpfull.
Nevertheless I would like just to point out few things.

We do provide a continental free breakfast buffet, served in what were formerly the Villa's cellars between 07.00 and 10.30 a.m. and including coffee, hot chocolate, a selection of teas and infusions, milk, fruit juices, bread, biscuits, croissants, jams, nutella, mixed cold meats and cheeses and fruit. That is clear in every booking sites, so the information about the cooked breakfast was wrong.

Regarding the local city tax, you are right most of the agencies don't put in the voucher that you have to pay €3.00 per person per night. Now this tax is in every city in Italy, Florence was the first one to introduce it two years ago, as it is written at the Front desk. Now if you wanted to pay at the chek in as you did before you could have informed the front desk.
But I repeat there was a lack of comunication, for sure our fault.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

the rooms were TINY, they barely fit two people with two big suitcases. we had to jump over the bed to get from one side to another. the bathroom is good and it was clean, and so was the room. the receptionist is horrible and was not cooperative at all, it’s like she was forced to do her job. The bell boys were also not service oriented and not even smiling. The location of the hotel is great, there’s a bakery inside which had yummy stuff. We stayed for one night, I don’t think I’d want to be there for longer.

Room Tip: try to specify that you want a big room, im not sure there are but the one we stayed in was tiny! it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Was there in April 2012. Booked online and got confirmation via email, when got there the receptionist said that they don't have our reservation, they can not go online and check it, their internet was not working, and asked us to find the email in our phone!? That was not good enought for him even tho the mistake was not ours. When we finally got a room, we were very disappointed to see that the pictures from the web site were from another best western hotel, much nicer and very modern, which our hotel was not. This is defenetly wrong advertising and it's not ok!

Room Tip: Very old building, next to a kinder garden, if you like to sleep till late you will not enjoy that..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachiel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I seldom write a bad review but we had such a bad experience I dont want anyone else to miss a nights sleep. Our travel agent booked this and I should have checked it out better myself but I didnt. The neighborhood is full of graffiti and appeared quite unsafe (the taxi driver said is was safe though) The worst part was our bed, it was like sleeping on concrete, we kept waking up in pain all night. We did not like the breakfast at all either, but we really didnt expect much anyways. The staff was very friendly though so I do feel bad about writing a bad review. The room and bathroom were immamulately clean!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcneumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus CHC Florence
Best Western Plus CHC Florence
#304 of 410 in Florence
30 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#267 of 410 in Florence
377 reviews
1.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Firenze Nuovo Palazzo di Giustizia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#199 of 410 in Florence
671 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Grifone Firenze
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#243 of 410 in Florence
561 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Panama
Hotel Panama
#244 of 410 in Florence
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Hotel

Address: Via Giuseppe Galliano 24, 50144, Florence, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Select)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $53 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Select Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel housed in 19th-century villa decorated with frescoes & antique porcelain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Select
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing