We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up!”
Review of Hotel Alba Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alba Palace
Ranked #71 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We recently did a short stay in Alba palace in florence. It is very close (less than 5 min walk) to SMN station. We were a family of 4 and was given a two story room on the ground floor, that was nicely appointed. The bathroom was clean and modern. The front desk was very helpful in providing maps and giving directions and places to eat. The breakfast was adequate with scrambled eggs, pastries, bread, fruits etc. We left our luggage in the lobby the next day to go to Pisa. Strongly recommend for families!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SenthilManian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel!!
We really hope to see you again in Florence!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

What an absolutely amazing hotel.
Wonderfully big family room that photos just dont do justice to. Room had a double shower and even a jacuzzi!!!
Friendly staff, clean modern rooms.
Full breakfast daily and happy hour everyday with a free drink and snacks.
7 min walk from gelateria, train station, supermarket and city sightseeing bus.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2014

Thank you for your contribution! Thanks for your appreciative words! We hope to have you back as our welcome guest!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I just stayed here two nights and am now in Switzerland. It is only two or three blocks walking from the main train station, a huge plus. There are about 29 rooms and the lobby and breakfast room area are beautifully decorated. Upstairs one flight to my room. It was very small, but for a single person I had no problem with it and it was quite immaculate. Only two minor items, the first being a common complaint - the wifi was erratic in my room, and now for the not so common complaint: the bathroom is very small. That would be OK, but the way the toilet is positioned next to the shower, it is a tight fit, BECAUSE, the toilet paper holder, and also a valve that functions as a bidet, make it really tight and a bit uncomfortable. Yes, I'm a little on the heavy side, true, but I am not enormous. Get the picture? Otherwise, I was very pleased with this place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAZELIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2014

Thank you for the rate! We are pleased knowing that yours was a nice stay! We really hope to see you again in Florence!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Alba Palace while in Florence. It was a great experience. The hotel is located conveniently near the SMN train station and most of the attractions in Florence. We were most impressed that they provided a complimentary gift in the room to celebrate our anniversary. We called the hotel a couple of weeks before our arrival and asked them to arrange advance tickets to Academia, which they were happy to do, and that saved us from standing in long cues. There are a number of great restaurants near the hotel and the streets are very quiet. The room was nicely appointed and had a great view of the street. We were very impressed with the decor of the hotel, lots of faux painting and nice furnishings. You'll be happy with your stay at Alba Palace.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, either street views, which are quiet, or courtyard views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed N Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. We will be very happy to see you again at Hotel Alba Palace! We hope to have you back as our welcome guest!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is just a stone throw away from the train station. It has many great eateries within walking distance.
The front desk were friendly and helpful. Delicious snacks and drinks were served in the evening. Our room was simply cosy with a little balcony.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolineCHee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind feedback,
It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed in a single room on the third floor, and though the room was small (no smaller than usual for a single) the bathroom and shower were larger than average. I could actually enjoy taking a shower without bumping into the walls. So all in all, it was a very nice room. The breakfast offered quite a lot – scrambled eggs, meats, fruit and juices, cheeses, cold cuts, breads, sweets. I had plenty to choose from. Since I like starting the day with a good breakfast, I was very pleased with what they offered.

The staff were always helpful and accommodating when I needed them. I would stay here again, and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I was initially a little concerned about street noise, knowing that my (single) room was facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2014

Thank you for your contribution! Thanks for your appreciative words! We hope to have you back as our welcome guest!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel is conveniently situated near to the train station and only minutes away from the centre of Florence. The staff are friendly, the continental style breakfast is really nice and there is plenty of it. The rooms are clean and a nice size with a good sized tv and a DVD player too. There is a kettle and free tea and coffee. There is also a happy hour every day with a free drink and snacks. Really nice for meeting the other guests and sharing their experiences. Can't fault it,

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bibbmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2014

Thanks for the nice comment. We always try to give our best attention to let our clients have a memorable stay at our Hotel!! We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#77 of 411 in Florence
1,294 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#72 of 411 in Florence
1,700 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#69 of 411 in Florence
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#59 of 411 in Florence
520 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#91 of 411 in Florence
884 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#117 of 411 in Florence
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba Palace

Address: Via della Scala 22/38r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $87 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the cloisters of Santa Maria Novella in the historical center of Florence, the three antique buildings surrounding the covered courtyard, now our breakfast room, offer you a welcoming corner in typical Florentine style. Florence Hotel Alba Palace has united comfort in an antique Florentine dwelling and the care for detail by its attentive staff with the aim of making this hotel an authentic angle of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Palace Hotel
Alba Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing