We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alba Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alba Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Alba Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Scala, 22/38r, 50123, Florence, Italy (Santa Maria Novella)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
81 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We've had a lovely stay. It's not
Luxury, but in the middle of Florence you'll have to pay a lot more for much more room and comfort. On that note, we loved the firm beds! Very friendly and welcoming, I'd recommend the hotel for most needs and tastes.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank robertsrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for your contribution! Thanks for your appreciative words! We hope to have you back as our welcome guest!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    584
    88
    18
    5
See reviews for
339
534
92
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Alba Palace between 04/02/2014 and 06/02/2014 with my husband. The hotel is conveniently located for all travellers, arriving to Florence by train as it is 5-minute walk from SMN train station. Also you can take intercity buses from bus station next to SMN train station.
The rooms were clean and they made our beds every day during our stay. We did not experience any problems due to noise outside. So we recommend to take rooms on higher floors. Breakfast service met our expectations. We definitely think that Hotel Alba Palace is definitely a good choice for all travellers, looking for neat hotels in a very short walking distance to most touristic attractions in Florence.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulcing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for the rate! We are pleased knowing that yours was a nice stay! We really hope to see you again in Florence!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

It was easy so close to the bus drop off from the Florence airport. The housekeeping was good. It had a shower the size of a tiny phone booth, but it had endless hot water and good pressure, so who cares. The brunch was really nice and they did not try to pack it up at closing time, they let you linger. Do yourself a favor and get a powdered croissant, it is the best ever. Jasmina was wonderful in reception calling for two reservations for us and she spoke perfect English which really makes our job as tourists easier. We missed the happy hours, but it was a nice gesture.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieDR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Your comment and your feedback about our services is very important for us.
A special thank you is sent by the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Good room for 4 people. It's huge! Two story room right next to Santa Maria novella. Free breakast was nice. Easy 4 minute walk to train station. 15/20 min walk to the sites. It's great and would come back here. Con would be the fact the key can never leave the hotel. Must give key before leaving for the days adventure.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dmath35489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We’re so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope to have you back as our welcome guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in early May, 2 adults & 2 kids. Plenty of space for us all. Easy walking access to everything Florence has to offer. Breakfast included was nice. Happy hour 6-8pm during our stay which was nice. Some nice restaurants close by and great gelato just around the block. Only complaint is that the bed and pillows were way too hard for us, but that's our preference. I recommend to anyone who wants a nice stay in Florence.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind feedback,
It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I had a single room and I intended a room to sleep : silence and normal temperature. Climatisation was'nt making cold and the windows couldn't be opened because of noise in the street... otherwise it was OK.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gif F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Google Translation
Merci pour votre contribution, nous sommes désolés de ne pas que l'air conditionné ne fonctionnait pas selon les attentes, peut-être la température quotidienne n'était pas particulièrement chaud!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Very convenient location, few minutes walk from SMN railway station. Comfortable - though rather small - rooms. Friendly staff (thank you, Verena). Last but not least - great atmosphere of a small Tuscanian hotel. Almost forgotten: the very first hotel I ever visited with PS2 console installed, not that I was using it when being in Florence.

I really like the interior, with a nice internal courtyard. Breakfast was decent, but it might be more diversified.

All in all, comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polarwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your rate! We are at your disposal the next time you decide to stay in Florence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Rivoli
Hotel Rivoli
#76 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#71 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 931 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#82 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#103 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#48 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#160 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba Palace

Property: Hotel Alba Palace
Address: Via della Scala, 22/38r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Florence
#43 Family Hotel in Florence
#72 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the cloisters of Santa Maria Novella in the historical center of Florence, the three antique buildings surrounding the covered courtyard, now our breakfast room, offer you a welcoming corner in typical Florentine style. Florence Hotel Alba Palace has united comfort in an antique Florentine dwelling and the care for detail by its attentive staff with the aim of making this hotel an authentic angle of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Alba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Palace Hotel
Alba Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing