We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Accommodation, handy for Rail Station”
Review of Hotel Alba Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alba Palace
Ranked #75 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good Accommodation, handy for Rail Station”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We flew into Firenze Airport (not a good idea) and it took over an hour to get to SMN railway station so we were a little frazzled when we got to Hotel Alba. It's easy to find and only a few minutes walk to from SMN for our one night stay.

Check in was easy and friendly. The single room I had was clean and small but perfectly acceptable for a few nights and had free wifi, plenty of storage and shelf space, decent bathroom, TV, minibar; all you needed if you're going to spend most time exploring the fabulous city.

There is a pleasant sitting and lounge area, I thought the atrium/courtyard area had been done really well and made a great breakfast area. Breakfast was typical continental in style and more than adequate.

The staff were all very helpful, I needed an e-mail printed out which the receptionist kindly did with no hassle.

My only slight concern was leaving the bags in an apparently quite open area, but in hindsight it was in view of the reception area so probably better than being in a cupboard hidden away.

I would certainly stay here again if staying in Firenze.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
thank you for sharing your experience. We will be very happy to see you again at Hotel Alba Palace!
Verena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    652
    102
    19
    6
See reviews for
382
610
105
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herongate, Essex, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great central location only a short walk from the station, river and Duomo. Very friendly staff who offered us change of rooms as showers quite small (for my size anyway, but they are all pretty much the same). They also helped reserve us tickets for the opera etc.

We stayed for 3 nights from 6 May 2013 for my wife's birthday.

Room was very clean and nicely decorated and overlooked Via della Scala which is busy but the 2 sets of windows were both double glazed so noise never an issue. We have a very comfortable (soft) bed and pillows at home and my wife doesn't sleep too well when we're away and I agree that the hotel ones were firm. But do you know what, we both slept really well so I can't criticise that.

Only thing that stops me giving this 5 stars is the breakfast arrangements. No problem with the food but there just seemed to be one waitress doing everything so every morning we had to wait for a table to be cleared for us even though only a third of the tables were occupied. It also meant that there was always something we had to wait for whether it was juice, milk or glasses etc. The waitress they do have there was working really hard but they could do with someone just helping her out when for a short while every now and then to keep on top of it.

Convenient location is a real plus and coming in by train it was no distance at all to carry luggage. There's some great little restaurants really close by serving authentic Tuscan food. We liked the Tira Baralla Trattoria literally a few doors away. Pavement seating if you want to sit outside and get the Florence 'buzz', friendly staff, good food. Also couple of doors away is wonderful historic building housing the Florentine equivalent of an up market Bodyshop.

We went to a recital of opera arias in a historic church just the other side of the Arno, only 30 or 40 people, beautiful. There's also a great afternoon tour of the Chianti region ending up in a stunning private medieaval castle where the ousting of the Medici family was plotted which ended with wine tasting of the superb (and very reasonably priced) Chianti. The tour guide of the castle, the owner's cousin Alberto, was superb. Check out the tour on Viator.

The hop on hop off circular bus tours are a good way to get a feel for the city and you can use them all day for one cost and just get off when you like the look of where you are or just need a coffee.

Would we stay at the Alba Palace again? Where's my passport . . . .

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Your comment and your feedback about our services is very important for us!!
A special thank you is sent byme and all the staff !! Verena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. When we arrived they explained that the next day was a holiday and advised us to book restaurants as they would be very busy. Also as many of the museums were closed they made alternate suggestions and drew us helpful maps. The room was a small double but perfectly adequate with plenty of space for clothes. There was a choice of 5 different types of pillows and we found the bed firm but comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally_quilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your contribution! We are pleased knowing that yours was a nice stay we are at your disposal the next time you decide to stay in Florence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We are two good friends traveling in Europe. For our stay in Florence we booked two rooms for two nights and then decided to save some money. So we called in advance to change our reservation to one room, two beds, two nights. When we arrived, they had two rooms for one night and one single room (the size of a closet with a twin bed) for the second night. No other room was available for the second night that could accommodate two people (really, the room could only fit the twin bed and a suitcase or two). We were given a "sorry" and basically 'it's your problem' attitude. Since we are both friendly people and fun-loving too, we didn't give the agent a hard time other than to say how disappointed we were that this happened. But we were pretty upset when after paying our bill, there was no thank you or any acknowledgment of the inconvenience.

Fortunately we had stayed at Hotel Boccaccio just down the road the week prior (they didn't have rooms available at the time I made our reservation to return to Florence). We walked over to Hotel Boccaccio and asked if by chance they had availability -- the desk clerk said he had one room left. When we explained our predicament, he discounted the room and gave us a beautiful room with two beds, a good size bathroom, and plenty of space for us. We were so grateful after unpacking and packing again then dragging our heavy luggage down the road to Hotel Boccaccio. The hotel owner's son Dominico who we had met the week prior at their family restaurant called La Carabaccia (excellent food and great service too) was so welcoming and happy to see us back again. He even helped with our luggage and had a beautiful warm smile as if we were old friends! Now that's service!

Alba needs a lesson or two or three on service! A simple apology for the inconvenience or offer to assist with our luggage would have healed our wounds. But the agent seemed to just move on to her next check out with no concern whatsoever. We were actually grateful this happened because we preferred Hotel Boccaccio. And after two weeks of travel, it was nice to be treated so warmly. Despite the hassle of moving hotels, we are also glad to rid ourselves of the claustrophobia we felt in the rooms at Alba! It's really bad!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dholck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Ladies, we are very sorry that our hospitality has not been satisfied for You . Our single rooms are in effect small, that 's true, in many websites we explain the actual size, we would be more clearly in future to avoid any incorrect expectations. With regard to your Hotel change, You called to ask to change the booking of 2 single into 1 twin room but the solutions we proposed to You were not even taken into consideration. We are sorry that we have not been able to build a friendly and cooperative relationship with You as we usually do with our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I'm still baffled as to how this hotel was given a 4.5 rating from trip advisor reviews…breakfast was very average, not enough choice. The bed was hard and so was the pillows(woke up with a sore neck). Staff were OK not particular friendly and not rude. Good points were that it was near the train station and centrally located with great shopping near by.

I was very disappointed as I booked because of trip advisor reviews will not be returning:(

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cityslicker2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are sorry that our hotel was not as You expected!
We had other tips about pillows as somebody don't like the soft type, and we already provided to buy a different types more hard , but for the rest.... the mattresses are all new and of excellent quality and regarding the breakfast we don't think that is poor,
we have a buffet with milk, coffee, various types of juices, some types of cakees, different kind of fresh croissants, butter, jams, honey, chocolate, rusks,some kind of cookies, toasts, various types of cereals, yogurts, fruit salad, fresh fruit, canned fruit, eggs, tomatos and mozzarellas, sandwiches stuffed,various cuts of slices, cheese, fresh bread, one person is at disposal for cappuccinos and caffe' espresso, and for replenish the buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this Florence hotel with our 2 kids. It is very convenient, close to train station and short walks to main attractions. The breakfast was great and most of the staff were friendly and helpful.

We stayed in the quad room (001) on the ground floor which had two levels and a nice balcony, the kids loved it! The only problem with the room was the air conditioning wasn't working and it was a bit of a hot house.. Otherwise our stay was very enjoyable would stay again, good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your comment and we are very happy that your stay was as good as your expectations. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Myself, my sister and my mum stayed here for 3 nights in a triple room while sorting out wedding arrangements in the city for my upcoming wedding in Sept. We have many guests staying at this hotel so wanted to check it out for ourselves also. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel is. Fabulous for a 3 star. Very clean. Helpful friendly staff. Our room had a lovely view and was spacious for the 3 of us. Close to everything you need and very easy to find from the train station. Pleasant breakfast. Coffee is great. My only negative comment which has resulted in me rating this hotel as very good rather than excellent is that we found the beds and in particular the pillows extremely hard. It really effected my sleep which was a shame as we had to be up at 7am each morning to attend appointments. Please don't let this put you off staying here though as it is a really great hotel. Hotel alba please get some softer pillows! At least on stand by in case someone asks for some.

Room Tip: Bring along your own pillow if you have space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEAT59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We will be very happy to see you again at Hotel Alba Palace!
About the pillows we also had other reports and we have already 'provided to replace them all!
Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#71 of 412 in Florence
1,613 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#69 of 412 in Florence
1,029 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#56 of 412 in Florence
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#83 of 412 in Florence
838 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 412 in Florence
794 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#79 of 412 in Florence
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba Palace

Property: Hotel Alba Palace
Address: Via della Scala 22/38r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
#43 Family Hotel in Florence
#71 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the cloisters of Santa Maria Novella in the historical center of Florence, the three antique buildings surrounding the covered courtyard, now our breakfast room, offer you a welcoming corner in typical Florentine style. Florence Hotel Alba Palace has united comfort in an antique Florentine dwelling and the care for detail by its attentive staff with the aim of making this hotel an authentic angle of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Palace Hotel
Alba Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing