We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to fault here”
Review of Hotel Alba Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alba Palace
Ranked #78 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Lovely hotel close to the station and all the major sights. Great value at A$135 a night for a triple room. Spotless rooms and white fluffy towels. Was disappointed to find no kettle in the room but the helpful receptionist provided one in a flash and there is a mini-mart virtually next door. Would recommend.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank cozzie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for your comment and we are very happy that your stay was as good as your expectations. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 1,487 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Excellent location, walk distance to many places of interest in Florence.
Clean and refurbished rooms.
Responsive and friendly receptionists.
Free sparkling wine for the New year.

Insufficient room noise insulation.
Don't expect that during breakfast your waitor will come to your table and ask about coffee or tea. You would have to run after your waitor for this.
Poor breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank I U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for your contribution!
Regarding the breakfast we have a nice buffet with milk, coffee, various types of juices, some types of cakees, fresh croissants, butter, jams, honey, chocolate, rusks, toasts, various types of cereals, yogurts, fruit salad, fresh fruit, eggs, various cuts of slices, cheese, fresh bread, one person is at disposal if You would like to have for cappuccino or caffe' espresso.
All Our rooms have soundproof windows, perhaps New Year's Eve particula noisy, as in mail station square, a few minutes from our hotel there was a rock concert!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

the hotel is at 3 min from the central station and at a walk of 10 min to all historic places.

The room for 3 persons was nice and the bed was fantastic. The bar is open all night and is economic.

Very good and recommend to all

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you a lot of comment. We always try to make your stay as pleasant as possible for our customers!
We expect you back at our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel was conveniently located to the train and nice in most regards. The breakfast wasn't complete or well organized. I drink tea and on the first AM there were only about three quite motley choices of tea bags on the table, none of them a standard breakfast tea. i asked for tea and the server brought out a container of hot water, but no additional tea bags. The next AM I asked for tea and was brought the container of water AND three English breakfast tea bags. The breakfast area was also inefficiently arranged and it was hard to move around without bumping into folks...The room at first seemed quite small, with built-ins sort of like a dorm room. However, I discovered it was quite efficient, there was a place for everything and you could control the lighting from the bed. I didn't try the TV, but it was small and not conveniently located. The WiFi signal was inconsistent...Generally the staff was helpful, though not very outgoing...The best part was we reserved with a promotion and got a very good deal on the price. It was well worth the price. There is also a great little pizzeria nearby. Go out the front door of the hotel and turn left on the same side of the street and it's the first pizzeria you come to.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrcapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for your contribution! Regarding the breakfast , we have several kind of Tea and we are sorry you can not find the type you liked!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I want to start out that the breakfast is good. While spending time in our room we can here everything. Yes, I mean everything from the sliding of the neighbors bathroom door, to the person peeing. Yes, we even had the pleasure of hearing their bed squeak. We felt like clapping afterwards. We are on the second floor and the people above move furniture around at night for dancing lessons or something because they are so restless and never sit still.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for your contribution and and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Florence.
The rooms are well insulated acoustically to the outside, unfortunately we can not always do something for the neighbors room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

we stayed in florence for 3 nights were travelling with 2 kids... it turned out to be a perfect hotel for us... walking distance to everything we wanted to see in florence.. very near to the train station, so making day trips was very easy e.g to take trains to pisa etc.
rooms were a bit small, however we saw that in next to every other hotel in italy

Room Tip: room facing the road could be good to get some fresh air in.. traffic sound did not bother when wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for your contribution and and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Nice hotel, close to all the Florence attractions. We had a small room with a view of the street which was fine for our needs. It was clean and had a small TV. The hotel is a 3 minute walk from the train station and a 5 minute walk to the strip of rental car companies. We used this hotel as our "home base" for all of our Florence/Tuscany excursions. There was also a computer for use with free internet in the hotel lobby which we used several times. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evilmosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for your efforts and we hope to have you back as our welcome guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#61 of 410 in Florence
506 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#72 of 410 in Florence
1,041 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#82 of 410 in Florence
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#73 of 410 in Florence
1,653 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#92 of 410 in Florence
864 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#59 of 410 in Florence
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba Palace

Address: Via della Scala 22/38r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
#43 Family Hotel in Florence
#71 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $93 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the cloisters of Santa Maria Novella in the historical center of Florence, the three antique buildings surrounding the covered courtyard, now our breakfast room, offer you a welcoming corner in typical Florentine style. Florence Hotel Alba Palace has united comfort in an antique Florentine dwelling and the care for detail by its attentive staff with the aim of making this hotel an authentic angle of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Palace Hotel
Alba Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing