We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel in a good location”
Review of Hotel Alba Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alba Palace
Ranked #81 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed overnight here and our room rate included wifi and breakfast. It was a comfortable stay and overall it was probably 3.5 star.

The hotel is located within an easy 5 mins walk to the SMN train station, and 5-10 mins walk to the Duomo and the surroundings.

The hotel building itself is old but nicely decorated and painted. The breakfast room was quite nice with enough space between tables. The room itself was spacious, clean and tidy, as is the shower. Our room was on the first floor facing the street, and the noise from the street could be heard easily. It wasn't a particularly quiet street so if peace and quietness are important for you I would suggest request a back room.

The included buffet breakfast was good, as is the wifi connection in the hotel. THe staff at the hotel were friendly and always greeted us with smiles.

Room Tip: Request back room and not rooms facing the street if you want quietness.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for your contribution and for appreciating our hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,482)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alba Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

After a very stressful time trying to get to the hotel, it was a very enjoyable stay. If you are driving to get to hotel be warned - the street is one way although at the point the sat nav brought us onto Della Scalla the one way arrow pointed to the right, but we needed to go left. After trying to circle several times and eventually looking closely at Google maps - it turns out that as we get to the turn Della Scalla to the right is one way running right; but to the left is one way running left (not indicated by any street signs)- who would have known! 

The hotel was great though - easy parking pick up and drop off (not cheap but worth it not to drive anymore than we had to), great location; cheap laundry service a few doors down that had washed and dried everything ready for us to pick up within 4 hours! The pizzeria a few doors down is the best pizza we have had so far in Italy and the gelato on the square was easy too! 

Breakfast was good although can be hard to find a table if you are there after 9am, the little courtyard we had was great too. Bathroom was fabulous - huge, double basin, and also had a spa bath big enough for 2 and a bottle of wine once the kids were in bed. The room was quiet although you could hear the neighbours going up and down to the loft.

Handy location, short walks get you to Pontte Vechio, Duomo, Galleria Accademia and shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeeVees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you a lot of comment. We always try to make your stay as pleasant as possible for our customers!
We expect you back at our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is really close to most of the main attractions that are a must if you visit Florence. You can reach nearly everything after a walk of approximately 10 minutes. The rooms are very nice and typical italian. The breakfast was good and the staff was really very nice. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vogelbeere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for your rate! We are at your disposal the next time you decide to stay in Florence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good as we don't eat a big breakfast but there was plenty of variety. Room was quite big enough for 3 adults although bathroom was a bit small. It is within walking distance of a lot of the sights, Ponte Veccho and quite a few cafes and especially the railway station. We caught a bus to Piazza Michaelangelo and it is worth going there just to see the views. Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fordga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

thank you for sharing your experience. We will be very happy to see you again at Hotel Alba Palace!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Hotel was prompt in replying to my questions. Rooms are clean. Caffe latte and hot chocolate are excellent at breakfast buffet. Staff recommended excellent restaurant for lunch. Very good value at 10 euros for set lunch. Hotel was obliging when we asked for early breakfast at 7 am.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hong Hwa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for the rate! We are pleased knowing that yours was a nice stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Visited Florence for the first time and this Hotel was very close to the centre and main attractions. Room was absolutely fine and kept spotless by the friendly chamber maids. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend, breakfast did get boring after a week but is typical of continental breakfasts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you! We look forward to welcome you once again to our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is so close to the station,it is a 5 minute walk so don't be tempted to get a transfer if you are arriving by train.It is easy walking distance for all the tourist sites.Rooms size was good and very clean.It is a quaint hotel with all that that the traveller needs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for your comment and we are very happy that your stay was as good as your expectations. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#70 of 411 in Florence
1,037 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#61 of 411 in Florence
501 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#72 of 411 in Florence
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#84 of 411 in Florence
1,178 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#88 of 411 in Florence
851 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#53 of 411 in Florence
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba Palace

Address: Via della Scala 22/38r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
#43 Family Hotel in Florence
#71 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $93 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the cloisters of Santa Maria Novella in the historical center of Florence, the three antique buildings surrounding the covered courtyard, now our breakfast room, offer you a welcoming corner in typical Florentine style. Florence Hotel Alba Palace has united comfort in an antique Florentine dwelling and the care for detail by its attentive staff with the aim of making this hotel an authentic angle of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Palace Hotel
Alba Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing