We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Hotel not far from the train station”
Review of Hotel Alba Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alba Palace
Ranked #75 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Reasonable Hotel not far from the train station”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights, we found the staff helpfull at check in and the rooms clean although small. Normal for Europe.
The breakfast was the worse we encountered in our Europe travels and hopefully they will inprove this in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for your rate and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    652
    102
    19
    6
See reviews for
382
610
105
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This by far was the best hotel we stayed in Italy. It was clean, had some cute unique features in the room and the common spaces and was in a safe central location. You are literally 2 blocks from the train station and a 5 min walk from the duomo. The breakfast was the largest we had in all of italy including cereal, yogurt, pastries, multiple kinds of coffee, an EGG!, meats, cheeses, and FRUIT! The staff was kind but didn't speak good english nor were they terribly helpful. Coffee was mediocre. (I'm a bit of a snob thought). We had lots of misquotes in our room and my husband keep waking up with itchy bumps. (It wasn't bed bugs we looked every night).

Room Tip: Big rooms, clean, large common areas, very impersonal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E2hemker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for your contribution! Thanks for your appreciative words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I highly recommend Hotel Alba Palace. It was a pleasant surprise to see how extremely clean and modern the hotel rooms are, the staff is exceptional friendly (especially the night staff), they will provide a map and recommendations where to eat and make reservations for dinner or museums, the morning breakfast is wonderful, they will even make you expresso or cappuccino if you request at no charge, and they will rent you DVDs for no charge as well! A wonderful place to stay while traveling and the location is really great for walking to the train station and to all of the sights!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you a lot for your wonderfull comment. We always try to make your stay as pleasant as possible for our customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Alba Palace in Florence in Oct 2011. We had a room for 3 and it was comfortable clean and the facility was very attractive. The breakfast area is a very eye catching glass covered courtyard where an extensive and tasty breakfast is served daily. The location was 1 1/2 block walk from the SMN train station and about a 10 minute walk to the Duomo. The staff was very friendly and helpful with good recommendations on dining. We will use the Alba again in the future. Bravo!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for your contribution!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL area
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Convenient to SMN train station and easy walking to all sites. Staff was helpful with making tour reservations, both before we left the US via email and in person. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection. Our room was very clean and quiet. This hotel had an Italian charm to it. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for your rate and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Found the Hotel Alba Palace when I was looking for a property for a friend and I to stay for several days while in Florence. The Hotel Alba Palace met all criteria for a reasonably priced, centrally located, non-smoking hotel, near the train station with a 24 hour front desk, lift, free WIFI, and in-room safe. This hotel was a great find. Our 2nd floor room was quiet (which we requested) and clean, with television and air conditioning (which we needed during the early October heat wave). It opened onto a beautiful courtyard atrium below which we could view the breakfast room. The bathroom was modern and also very clean with many large, fluffy towels. Although moderately priced, this hotel had some nice amenities. The breakfast was included in the room price and was excellent, with fresh fruit and yoghurts, breakfast breads and meats, and cereals and juices. The cappuccino was great! The staff at the hotel were very helpful at all levels, from restaurant recommendations, to tour booking, to printing out train schedules. We loved the 5 minute proximity to the Duomo and short walking distance to all major points of interest. Would stay here again and definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Hotel staff were very responsive to our specific request for a quiet room. Contact them directly if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thanks for your appreciative words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The Room was very nice and comfortable. The washroom was cleaned very well every day and generally was without fault. The Hotel is very centrally located near (luggage dragging distance) the tarin station and easy walikng distance to all important museums,churches and shopping. The locale is very quiet and peaceful during the day and night.
Staff was very helpful and polite. The breakfast staff even indulged our late arrival for breakfast which was very kind.
All in all we would recommend this Hotel to anyone, as we enjoyed our stay on our 25th wedding celebration.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street are just fine as far as we could tell. We didn't sleep elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalba, Responsabile reception at Hotel Alba Palace, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you! We look forward to welcome you once again to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#71 of 412 in Florence
1,613 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#69 of 412 in Florence
1,029 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#58 of 412 in Florence
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#82 of 412 in Florence
838 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 412 in Florence
793 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#79 of 412 in Florence
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba Palace

Property: Hotel Alba Palace
Address: Via della Scala 22/38r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
#43 Family Hotel in Florence
#71 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alba Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the cloisters of Santa Maria Novella in the historical center of Florence, the three antique buildings surrounding the covered courtyard, now our breakfast room, offer you a welcoming corner in typical Florentine style. Florence Hotel Alba Palace has united comfort in an antique Florentine dwelling and the care for detail by its attentive staff with the aim of making this hotel an authentic angle of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Palace Hotel
Alba Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing