We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveler rating
28
111
139
111
142
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
28
111
139
111
142
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 531 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2017

I had a very, very positive stay at Bonciano hotel. Knew that the place was certainly not 5*, but for such a price at a great location, very near Station and attractions and cultural Heritage it was great!!!! Why are people always complaining ......
In Holland there is a saying: " wanting the front row for a nickel !"
And the staff was really friendly and helpful..... Breakfast certainly OK!
Absolute an price/quality hotel !

Room tip: Rooms at the backside are quieter!
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Close to train station. Friendly, helpful staff. Good breakfast. Room on the main street (Via Panzani) is very loud all night. Very modest accommodations, but it is a lower cost hotel for Florence. Quite rooms in the back but no wifi connection. Get what you pay for.

Room tip: quiet room on interior. OK for 1 night close to train station.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank edger c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2016

Pros: Very friendly staff. Close to the train station (Santa Maria Novella Station) and other attractions. Buffet breakfast is not bad. WiFi works well.
Cons: Hotel is aged. Weak AC. The hotel has a smell of old building. Lift was not working during my stay.
Please keep in mind that this is a budget hotel and it is not for the one who is looking for a comfortable hotel room. However, if you manage your expectation based on the price you pay, you will have a pleasant stay here. Also, I strongly recommend that you bring your own toiletries.
The hotel’s own website claims that it days back to 1867 and was once home of many artistic peoples. Hotel and all the facilities need renovation. The buffet breakfast is provided at a room with a lot of paintings on the wall. The lobby is also beautifully decorated. I checked around the hotel and the building structure is interesting. It does give you the feeling of living in an old and historic building. Set aside some time to explore the hotel in day time may be a unique experience itself. I lived on the second floor and it was generally quiet. There is a small safe in the wardrobe.
Florence is a small city and every attraction is within walking distance to the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful and can communicate in English. Please keep in mind that many museums and attractions are close on Monday in Florence.

Date of stay: August 2016
1  Thank cindy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2016

I Stayed Here At The End Of September 2016 & Chose This Hotel Because Of It's Location ( Five Minutes Walk From Santa Maria Novella Station & Very Close To The Duomo ). The Room Was Very Small & Over Looked The Main Road Via Panzani Which Is Noisy Day & Night. The Decor & Furnishings Were Very Basic & Tired ( The Wardrobe & Desk Looked Like They Were Ready For The Skip ) & The Carpet All Over The Hotel Is Faded & Need Replacing As It Does Not Give A Good Impression. The Hotel Also Suffers From A Very Dimly Lit Foyer & The Dark Lighting In General Throughout The Place Needs An Overhaul. The Air Conditioning Was Switched Off & Although The Hotel Has Cable TV There Is Not A Single Channel In Any Language Bar Italian.
The Positive Points For The Hotel Bonciani Are As Previously Mentioned It's Excellent Location, Close To The Station, Lots Of Nearby Shops & A Short Walk From The Main Sights. Secondly, The Breakfast Area Was Okay & The Help Yourself Continental Type Buffet Spread Made An Ideal Start To The Day.
The Owners Of This Hotel Should Really Try To Renovate This Placel As It's Location Could Not Be Better & With A Few Changes Here & There This Hotel Could Be Changed In To A Very Good & Recommendable Choice For Any Trip To Florence; If This Was A School Report It's Summary Would Be " Lot's Of Potential But Needs To Try Harder " .

Room tip: Try To Get A Low Level Room At The Rear Of The Building As The Lift Is Very Small & The Front Of The Hotel Is Very Noisy..
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markdeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2016

To begin with I am not a fussy traveler and all i need is a decent bed and clean room. But even i was terribly disappointed by the hotel. I will start of with the only positive thing about the hotel, it's location. Located near the station and close to the cathedral, with lots of cafe and food option around, it is one of the best location. Oh and there was a functional wifi. But all the good thing ends just there.
I personally do not mind old/ classical decor, but in Bonciani it was terribly maintained. Stained carpets, broken glasses, weird old smell from almost every corner of the hotel. Then there was this elevator, small, non functional most part of the day and for all 3 days of my stay. The rooms were dark, gloomy, clearly showing sings of no maintenance. The breakfast was terrible with very little options. The hotel clearly is understaffed, given that everyday during breakfast we almost always had all the the tables with left over and not cleaned.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manosij2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews