We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and top-class service”
Review of Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Continentale
Ranked #40 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect location and top-class service”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I loved the Continentale. It's not cheap but I felt the quality of the hotel merited what we paid, and more. You also have access to the services at two other hotels within the tow other Salvatore Ferragamo hotels in town - one of which is directly across the side street and has a great bar.

The reception staff were incredibly helpful with dinner reservations and other recommendations throughout our stay. The service felt genuine and good-natured.

Our room was perfect, stylish, and extremely comfortable. It's rare that a hotel room itself makes me feel relaxed and rested, but the decor, layout and extremely comfortable (and large) bed did the trick.

The hotel also has a "Relax" room which looks out over the bustle of the Ponte Vecchio but otherwise is the opposite of bustle - large chaises longues, cushions, photobooks of incredible locations and hotels around the world... You'll be asleep in no time.

As another reviewer has mentioned, the roof terrace bar was under renovation while we stayed, which was a disappointment but I blame the travel agency rather than the hotel for not informing us. We did get up there to look around and it is stunning (the renovations were nearing completion). I'll go back just to have a cocktail or two watching a Florentine sunset.

Others have already pointed out the fine location so I won't repeat it, but it's worth noting that while its central to all the sights it is tucked away on a small side street so there is something of an oasis away from the Ponte Vecchio crowds. In fact, on one end of the lobby they have a live black and white projection on the wall of the people walking across the bridge - it's a clever contrast which highlights the sanctuary feel of the hotel.

Overall, we were delighted with the hotel and will return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattStevensUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    230
    47
    9
    14
See reviews for
91
517
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The rooftop bar is the perfect setting for an early evening drink with unspoilt views towards all the iconic buildings in this lovely city. The rooms are clean and very chic and with Salvatore Ferragamo finishes throughout this hotel is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnyHSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Is very well located, service and staff very good. Is on the Ponte Vecchio.
Excellent decoration and good taste. Reception staff very helpful.
Wonderful breakfast. Very good bathrooms.
I will go there again with no doubt.

Room Tip: Everything was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billctn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very hip hotel. Its very convenient. Walking distance to Il Duomo and the high end shopping street. Breakfast is across the road at Hotel Gallery. Extremely good spread and immaculate service. The rooms are very spacious and minimalist feel yet very cosy and sufficient. Will definitely recommend this place. And they use Ferragamo toiletries. :) Only drawback the lift is abit small and claustrophobic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mibah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Twice a year for 5 years is the amount of time of I've spent in this hotel. The staff in past knew me and I felt that quite welcomed "A home away from home". However in the past year I understand that the management has changed. In Oct I stayed and basically had an argument with the new staff (a male) over a €200.00 taxi ride to Santa Croce a ride that cost €80.00. When I question the amount he dropped the price to €150.00. This made know sense to me since he was behind the front desk and not the driver! Then instead that I pay cash to him. That again seemed suspicious! There was also the issue with my queen room. I was put into a smaller single bed. This gets small if your staying for a week, for over €2000.00.
This past trip I stayed with them in April and I thought this would be my last time given my stay in Oct. However things seemed to turn around. I was welcomed like in the past. I received a bottle of wine from the manage over a mix up with room service. Overall I feel in love with the same hotel 5 years ago.
The location is great. Right on the Arno and Pointe Vecchio. Your a 10min walk from the train station. 20 mins from the airport. You also have access to their sister hotels. One which in has the best spot on the Arno. Perfect for an afternoon drink.
Florence is a easy city to walk and explore. Stay at the Hotel Continentale if you want a touch of modern in a not so modern city.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalotla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I'll start off with the positives:
You can't knock the location of this hotel - you step out of the hotel and you find yourself facing the Pointe Vecchio...perfect! Our room was spotlessly clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable. I know a lot of other reviewers have commented on how small the rooms are, but I was more than happy with the clean and comfortable bed and large walk in shower. There was a problem with the floor of our shower which we reported on day 1 and this was handled with efficiently and sorted out the next day.

Now the negatives:
There was a strong smell of damp / drains the lobby and on every floor - fortunately it wasn't in our room. My partner booked this hotel on the strength of the rooftop bar which had views over the river - we never got to see the views as the bar was closed for maintenance. Why were we not advised of this at the time of booking? There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room (this is pretty standard in Europe) but then I would expect for there to have been somewhere to get a coffee within the hotel. The hotel just lacked any kind of atmosphere and I left there feeling as though we hadn't received any kind of service.

I know that a few reviewers have commented on the street noise - but this is a hotel in the centre of a city, if you want peace and quiet then book a hotel in the countryside!

Average at best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Enza2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I traveled through Italy for 2 weeks. This was by far my favorite hotel we stayed for 4 nights and loved it! Great location, accommodating staff, beautiful room very modern. Everything seemed to be less than a 10 minute walk away. I always felt safe coming and going from the hotel even late into the night.

I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kprender89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Gallery Hotel Art
Gallery Hotel Art
#38 of 412 in Florence
1,014 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#14 of 412 in Florence
1,211 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 412 in Florence
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 412 in Florence
1,528 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 412 in Florence
519 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Property: Continentale
Address: Vicolo dell_Oro 6r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Florence
#30 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#34 Family Hotel in Florence
#35 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#37 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant and dynamic yet romantic design and luxury hotel in Florence, beautifully evolved in the energy of the 50's. The Hotel Continentale is the place to see and be seen, a catwalk for fashion and desire in the heart of Florence. The elegant and inviting white colors chosen by Florentine architect Michele Bönan evoke harmony, simplicity, and fantasy. Discover refined design and attention to detail throughout this 4 star hotel in Florence near Arno, from handmade leather trunks used as a desk to witty clocks used as a side table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Florence
Continentale Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing