We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continentale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Continentale
Ranked #45 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
West harrison
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at the Continentale for only three nights. It was not enough. The hotel was very clean, beautifully decorated and the service was great. The room was very modern and the beds were very comfy. We had a deck that we could see the Arno river from. We were 100 feet from the Ponte Vecchio. Breakfast was not included and was just across the courtyard at their sister hotel. It was pricey but delicious! The front desk was extremely helpful when we needed something or had a question. The hotel is for all sorts of travelers. I happened to have been with my 20 year old daughter but will bring my husband and younger boys back someday soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    197
    44
    8
    12
See reviews for
67
439
23
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great hotel in a great location, opposite to Ponte Vecchio. The room has modern decoration but little small. Very clean and spacious bathroom. the relax area of the hotel is amazing with a great view of Arno river. Don't miss the cocktails of the Fusion bar

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kostas-Kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

location is the best for the travelers.- in front of the Ponte Vecchio
Small room but the interior is really refined.
Of course, they provide amanities of Tuscan soul, Ferragamo- it was really good!
Service was good- they introduced us a very good restaurant and we really satisfied.
Hope to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Continentale for 5 nights at the end of November. We stayed in a Prestige Arno View Room, which was so beautifully decorated-----hardwood floors, cream draperies around the very large and very comfortable bed and the same cream draperies lining the walls giving the room an ethereal feel. The Continentale is owned by the Ferragamo company and the main store plus Ferragamo museum is a 5 minute walk away. We had free admission to the museum with our stay. There is a sister hotel across the way where they serve breakfast.
A couple of things to note---(1) The hotel is right next to the Ponte Vecchio so it can be very noisy. Even very late at night, we could hear people (some obviously having had too much to drink) talking on the street. (2) We did in fact have a view of the Arno river, but the windows in our room were very small and deep, so to see the river, one needed to be right at the window. (3) Because the hotel is a small boutique hotel, often there was one (sometimes two) receptionist/concierge, so if the hotel were fully booked, there might be a wait for attention.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiffysPillowBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

LOVED, LOVED, LOVED Hotel Continentale. After weeks of traveling through Europe, this is by far my favorite hotel we've stayed at.

The rooms were gorgeous and of the baby-making variety. Sweepingly romantic with a sheer drape canopy and in a warm, non-sterile white, you feel completely encapsulated in a private cocoon built for two. The traditional crank windows open to beautiful vistas of the river, Florence's famous bridges and lush hills in the distance.

Once you exit the hotel, all of Florence is at your fingertips from cafes and eateries to small mom n' pops and H & M. The Piazza Della Signora is a 5 minute walk away as is the Piazza Della Republica. Another 5 minutes beyond that and you're at the majestic Duomo.

You can go with a breakfast package for an additional 12 Euros per person a day, but honestly, it wasn't that great and you had to go to the sister hotel across the street. You're better off going to the Signora and going to the Perseo Bar for a traditional Italian coffee experience and a sweet roll for 4 Euros.

Aside from boasting an awesome location, the room's WIFI was free, fast and furious.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank templebar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I loved Florence as soon as the taxi driver drove into the old town. It is a beautiful place and I wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights. The hotel is beautiful, staff very pleasant and helpful..our room had a view of the river and the ponte de veccio. I spend ages hanging out the window looking at the view. The room was huge but had a dressing room which made up for it. The breakfast next door at the Art Hotel was lovely. I thought this a beautiful hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxuryonlyforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is my second time staying at The Continentale, and a lot has changed. First the good, the location is top notch in front of the Ponte Vecchio and REALLY close to all the big attractions. This time I got a great deal online for a single room. The room was tiny but everything was great and modern and EXTREMELY clean the way I like it. There wasn't a view, but then again I wasn't planning on sitting in my room and watching the view. Now let's go the the bad... The staff since last year must have completely changed and not for the better. They were cold and VERY unfriendly. I asked for them to make a restaurant reservation for me and all they did was write it down and they never contacted me about it again. The next day I asked then to make another reservation for me very early in the morning, since it was my last day I really wanted to have dinner at this place. At ro

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babs441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Gallery Hotel Art
Gallery Hotel Art
#52 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Lungarno
Hotel Lungarno
#16 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,084 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,351 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Property: Continentale
Address: Vicolo dell_Oro 6r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Florence
#31 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#34 Family Hotel in Florence
#35 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#37 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant and dynamic yet romantic design and luxury hotel in Florence, beautifully evolved in the energy of the 50's. The Hotel Continentale is the place to see and be seen, a catwalk for fashion and desire in the heart of Florence. The elegant and inviting white colors chosen by Florentine architect Michele Bönan evoke harmony, simplicity, and fantasy. Discover refined design and attention to detail throughout this 4 star hotel in Florence near Arno, from handmade leather trunks used as a desk to witty clocks used as a side table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, MrandMrsSmith, Fastbooking, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Florence
Continentale Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing