We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Continentale Firenze
Nearby Hotels
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)(Great Value!)
$227
$201
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$415
$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Roma(Florence)
$300
$237
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$327
$277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel(Florence)
$323
$153
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$502
$351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$200
$184
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
$420
$303
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
$639
$600
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,079)
Filter reviews
1,079 results
Traveler rating
751
257
48
9
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
751
257
48
9
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barponte vecchiolungarno collectionrelax roomferragamo familythe penthousearno rivergallery artsister hotelstylish hotelperfect locationbottle of proseccofantastic hotelour honeymoonthe entire staffdinner reservationsbreakfast included
Filter
Updating list...
505 - 510 of 1,079 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is part of the Ferragamo chain of boutique hotels. My room was huge and big. I have noticed that some of the room furnitures were not well maintained. In particular the very nice mini bar trunk was partly broken. Apart from that the room was really nice, modern and cozy. Very nice view from sky-bar!
Breakfast was not included and the price was shamefully pricey!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Continentale Hotel and was bowled over by the hospitality as well as the trendy touches at the hotel. The location was perfect - close to the main street but yet not overly noisy. It was difficult trying to drive to the hotel as most of the small lanes leading to the place as pointed out by our GPS were closed. So if you are driving, best to flag a local taxi and get the driver to guide you there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0annesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

An absolute disappointment.

On our recent two week trip through Italy this was my wife and my LEAST favorite stay by far. The Continentale bills itself as being a personal and catering establishment and we found it anything but. Cold, impersonal, unfriendly—and with the exception of a few moments—unhelpful. And that is just the staff. I can’t tell you how surprised I am at the favorable reviews on TripAdvisor.

I’ll lead with the positives. The location is great.. The Sky lounge upstairs, is ridiculously overpriced but a very cool spot. There is very accessible free wifi. And the room size was fine. We did manage to find one friendly and helpful concierge who did get us advanced tickets to the Uffizi and the Academia, and that was very, very helpful.

Everything else was pretty much a disaster. As I said the service was cold and unapproachable. One evening we asked to have dinner reservations made the front desk simply forgot to do it, and then suggested we just “try someplace else. How about the restaurant in our sister hotel.” We inquired about a driver to take us to our next stay in Montepulciano and were informed that was not possible. (Our next hotel arranged it without a hitch by the way). There is usually only one person at the desk at a time, so the line for service tends to build up.

As for the room. Again, size was ok. Décor was, well ridiculous. Maybe some will appreciate the over the top euro-trendy style of the room and the main hotel (complete with elevators straight out of a Kubrick film) but it was not for us. However, that is not really my complaint. The room SMELLED. Whether it was the cleaning solutions used, or as I suspect MOLD, it was pretty unpleasant. (I’ve attached pictures of mold growing in the shower—that I suspect was the culprit.)

To make matters worse, one afternoon we returned to our room to find a worker dismantling the ceiling in our bathroom. NO WARNING from the front desk that we just passed. In fact when we went down to complain we were told “No, there is no one in your room.” When I finally convinced them that there was in fact a gentleman in my room. They agreed, and said he’d be done in a few hours. No apology, no suggestion of how to remedy the situation. Nothing.
All and all an unfriendly, unpleasant stay at a hotel that is desperately trying to be trendy and cool—in a way that just comes off as forced and cold. The location is terrific but there has to be better, more accommodating hotels in that area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jpchanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel is in the heart of Florence ...the location can not get better. The rooms and bathrooms are very well thought of and comfortable , especially the switches to bring up and down the black-out curtains from the bed-side. The white upholstery is very refreshing, the beds are fluffy and the curtain around the bed adds to the peaceful look of the rooms. The in-room furniture is moveable which gives a lot of space in the room. The view is also fantastic (of the Ponte Vecchio and the River Arno). Breakfast is available at their sister hotel opposite the hotel which is also very sumptuous. This place is highly recommended for tourists as all the exciting sightseeing and museums are around the corner and so are all the shops. The staff is also very alert and quick at service.

Room Tip: room facing the bridge is good
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B3Goa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights during our honeymoon recently. Very modern hotel that is located right across the street from the Ponte Vecchio. All the major sites and restaurants are within walking distance.

Breakfast is included with the room and you have the option of going to any of the Lugarno locations. Each of them are a little different so try all of them if you get a chance.

The only problem with being in the heart of Florence is that many people use the Ponte Vecchio at all hours of the night. After the first night, we used our earplugs and had no problems after that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews