We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #73 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The location was excellent with the Duomo down the block and a supermarket around the corner for cold drinks. Beds were hard and rooms small but clean and up to date. The hotel was hard to find as the hotel did not have a big sign. Breakfast is fine and served on the roof. Nice place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75Josie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear 75Josie

Thank you for choosing our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your very kind comments and compliments about our hotel and our staff!
We really hope to have another opportunity to welcome you soon!

Greetings from your" nice place" in Florence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

Very well equipped city centre hotel. Hotel was comfortable, very quiet considering this is on one of Florence's busy streets, the staff were very friendly, check-in and the terrace bar were particularly helpful. The air con was appreciated and the suite was spacious. The second bed sofa was a little odd and small but fortunately my daughter is petite. My son would have struggled to be comfortable as he uses more space. Breakfast was standard buffet but there was a good selection and plenty of it. Wifi was a little variable, the hotel was hosting a show during the evening and the wifi dropped out while this was on but it came back later.

Room Tip: We had a fifth floor room at the rear of the hotel and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Ian C

Thank you for choosing our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you soon.

Greetings from the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Recently stayed at Hotel Laurus al Duomo in Florence, great hotel! great location! The rooms were a decent size for European Standards. We had the ones on the front with the French balconies, which was really neat to look out and hear and see everything going on on the street. They were doubled doors so you couldn't hear a sound at night. The only negative I would add about this hotel was the internet access......constantly had to re-authenticate both user name and password.....as well they really need to update their hair dryers.....although given the heat in the city it' just as well for women to wear their hair up!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylY1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear CherylY1960

we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking to welcome you soon!

Greetings from your great hotel in Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Overall this hotel was decent. The rooms were very clean but also basic and not overly impressive. The WiFi was terrible and inconsistent and the reception was not able to offer a solution. The front desk seemed very understaffed with only one individual working at any given time, which was annoying when they kept answering the phone while speaking to guests at the counter.

The location was very good, located about a 10 min walk to the train station and 10 minutes from the main shopping area in Firenze. It is also quite central so there is an abundance of restaurants and shops located nearby.

The beds. Frankly, they were like sleeping on a concrete slab. I woke up with horrendous backpain and did not sleep well. While sitting in the lobby, I overheard two addition guests complaining to the reception about the beds. Also, the pillows were flimsy and felt like they have not been changed in years.

There was also a fixture on the shower door that kept falling off and instead of repairing it, everyday after the room was turned over it was simply placed back on to fall off again. It is a small detail, but very frustrating and shows lack of caring/ commitment to service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear scornick

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we apologize for the failure of the wifi. In fact, during your stay there were connection problems not related to the hotel, so the front desk could not offer solutions.
Solutions that could be offered with regard to the beds. In fact, at the request of the guests, we have both the topper to make it softer mattresses, and other types of pillows.
We inform you that we have solved the fixture on the shower door.
Thank you for appreciating the cleanliness of our rooms and the location of our hotel. We hope welcoming you again.

Kind regards from your pretty hotel in Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We enjoyed this hotel for its good location,breakfast on the terrace. Very clean rooms and bathrooms.Pleasant staff very helpful. It is expensive but worth it.Went with friends and had a lovely 5 day stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuartandpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear stuartandpauline

we are happy that you have enjoyed with your friends your 5 night stay with us!
Thanks for the kind comments and compliments!
We really hope to welcome you again.

Greetings from all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Unfortunately, my experience at this hotel was different from most of the experiences from other guests. I found the beds uncomfortable and the shower drain plugged. The front desk did add a foam pad to the bed, but unfortunately this didn't help and I had to remove the pad. The wifi was free, but very weak....mostly unusable. My biggest complaint with this hotel was I encountered rude and unhelpful front desk personnel. Because of this I only stayed in this hotel for one night and when I told the rude person why I was leaving, she was truly shocked that I would leave. She couldn't believe that I could find another hotel on such short notice.

On a more positive note, the hotel is located in a very central location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dulberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear dulberg

We really were very upset reading your review.
We really sorry that our beds were not up to your expectations, even if, as you say, we tried to make the mattress softer with a topper at our disposal just for this purpose. From what you say the WIFI worked anyway ....
What amazes us most is not that you're gone sooner than expected (did not like the beds) but you have found (as opposed to many other guests) rude and discourteous our staff. We certainly apologize and will investigate with our reception staff about the incident.
In any case, we do not want unhappy guests and we invite you to contact us again in the future to be able to accommodate and serve you better.

Hoping to hear from you soon we remain at your disposal with our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel was the most expensive hotel during our 3 weeks Europe trip. The hotel building was pretty old (as with any other hotels in Florence) but it was very clean. The location was very very convenient (Very close to Duomo, train station, shopping, and in touristy area). The room was not too small, clean, the bed was comfy, the bathroom was nice with lots of amenities. The breakfast was better than any other hotels in Europe that we've tried. This was a moderate hotel with good service but it was too expensive. With this rate, I would expect a lot more from it! I'm not sure if I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Laura K

thanks for the kind comments and compliments on our hotel, our services and amenities, we are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast!
We hope to welcome you again, maybe in the winter season, where the hotel will be the same but the rates will be cheaper!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,847 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 410 in Florence
1,988 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#66 of 410 in Florence
832 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#53 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#53 Family Hotel in Florence
#70 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $118 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Fastbooking, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing