We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #70 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I stay in this hotel for one night , during a short visit I Florence . Love it . I would live there if I could :-) great location. Walking distance to major sites . 5 minutes walk to the central train station . You can catch the train from there to go directly to Rome or Venice . And that's what I did . Tip: buy your train ticket from trenitalia website . It's much cheaper and you can use your credit card . You just have to notify your bank that you are making a foreign transaction, so the payment will go through.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear s c

we are happy that, even if only for one night, you have stayed at our hotel and you have loved it!
For this reason, we expect you soon for a longer stay in our beautiful Florence!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    627
    114
    28
    21
See reviews for
295
941
29
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

The location is great. It is 5-10 min walk (with luggage) from train station. It is not even 5 min to Duomo. That's the good part.

Rooms were small and cramped. In March they don't switch AC on- said city regulations. Rooms became stuffy, had to open windows. Not a problem but very noisy. Travelers should always check when will they switch AC even if hotels say "Air conditioned".

Breakfast nothing special but ok. Not sure if I would call it 4 stars. At least compared to other hotels we stayed in Italy- Star Hotels Splendid Venice, Star Hotels Metropole Rome and Hotel Bristol Sorrento.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhawman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Dhawman

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we inform you that the air conditioning is off usually in March (the heating is on) and we are sorry if you've had in your room warm.
We hope to have you again our guest, perhaps during the summer, when you can appreciate the functioning of our air conditioning and breakfast on our panoramic terrace overlooking the Duomo Cathedral
In the meantime, please accept our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

With so many hotels in Florence its hard to really know what to expect, but this hotel's best asset is the location.

Only a short walk from the train station and easily found it's also close to all the sites, museums and galleries you will want to visit in Florence. The rooms are clean and of good size and the view from the terrace is memorable.

Helpful staff when needed and good maps provided for our walks around the city.

My only comment would be no power shower - the shower in our room was a bit insipid, but it was always warm!

We didn't use the breakfast room as not included in our package but did accept the welcome drink on the terrace in the sunshine.

Overall, a good hotel for using as a base to explore Florence.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back overlooking rooftops. It was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear bowshols

thanks for the kind comments and compliments on our services and our staff. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit in Florence.

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hotel is modern clean and friendly. Our room was on the 5th floor facing onto the road so gave a nice view. It is situated minutes from the main train station and about a 30 second walk to the Duomo. Rooftop breakfast room/ bar is an excellent feature to the hotel. I'm not sure it could be classed as a bar having had said that went up one evening for a glass of wine and the staff member knew his wines inside and out, he was excellent and offered a superb service. I would highly recommend this hotrl and would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windsurfingstevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Windsurfingstevo,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Florence and for spending time writing about your stay with us.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed at the Hotel Laurus and that you appreciated the experience on our wine on the roof terrace, satisfy our Gust is one of our main proposal.

We hope to welcome you back in Florence soonest and have another opportunety to let you have a memorable stay.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Nice roomy rooms (although our view was of a brick wall with scaffolding and construction), updated bathroom, great breakfast included in room cost (at least that was the deal we got). Fairly helpful front desk, great location, and awesome view from the rooftop! Only a few blocks from the Duomo. Beautiful relaxed city! Couldn't wait to get back from our day trip to Rome! Would definitely stay here again if we return!

Room Tip: Request a room with a nice view don't assume you'll just get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanAmClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for spending time writing about your experience at the Hotel Laurus.
We are really glad that you had great time with us and in Florence.
We hope to welcoming you back and have the opportunity to show you other accommodation of our hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I have no real complaints about the Hotel Laurus, it's well situated, the rooms were clean, beds comfortable and the bathroom as you would expect from a 4* hotel, modern and with the usual freebies.
The selling point of this hotel is its location, right in the heart of Florence and down the road from the impressive Duomo. The train station is about a 7min walk and you are surrounded by good shops and restaurants. Rooms are a little on the small side, but perfectly clean and surpisingly quiet.
There's nothing exceptional and nothing bad about this place, I would stay again if I was to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKK344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear RKK344

we are glad that you have no complaints and we are happy that you felt good during your stay with us. Thanks for kind comment and thank you for wanting to go back to our hotel, we are waiting for you!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We were thrilled with our choice of hotel. The location is fabulous, just a quick walk from the train station, and then you are in walking distance to all of the main attractions. The public spaces were comfortable and the reception was extremely welcoming and helpful. We really enjoyed 6th floor patio with the view of the Duomo. This is the same room where the breakfast was served. We were very happy with the breakfast choices.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thrushvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Thrushvale

we are happy that you were pleased with the choice of your hotel in Florence and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks for the kind compliments on our staff!

We are waiting for you soon!

Warmest regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#39 of 412 in Florence
1,771 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#63 of 412 in Florence
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#57 of 412 in Florence
1,235 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#70 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Fastbooking, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing