We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #75 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was our first visit to Florence and were happy to find that the hotel was ideally situated. Central to all attractions and walking distance to the the train station. Rooms are very spacious for Europe and very neat. As per our request my kids and I were given rooms next to each other. The staff are very helpful and able to communicate effectively in English. Breakfast however is very basic. There are too few tables to accommodate all guests. When the trays are empty they are not filled again and considering how little is laid out, this basically leaves very little to choose from for breakfast. The breakfast staff are also very unhelpful - unlike the front staff. What was a little disappointing was on our last night the hot water ran out. When we enquired what the problem was from the staff they promised to get back to us but to no avail. On the whole though I would still highly recommend this hotel for a pleasant and comfortable stay. Free wi-fi as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMaharaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear SMaharaj01

thank you for recommending our hotel!
We are pleased that, despite the problems that occurred in the breakfast room, you've enjoyed your first visit to Florence.
Thank you so much for the kind compliments and looking forward to welcome you on your second trip to Florence, we wish you a Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for 4 nights. The location of this hotel is excellent, just 10 mins walking from the train station. The famous Duomo is a 3 min walk away and all the other sights are 15-20 mins away walking!

The staff of the hotel was very courteous and helpful. As we were staying with a child, they had already placed a cot in out room.

Facilities: Our room had a decent wifi connection. Room was a decent size and was equipped with a mini bar, safe and a water kettle. The bathroom was also spacious. The hotel has a good travel library from where you can borrow books about Italy. The breakfast buffet was probably the best we had in Italy.

I definitely recommend this Hotel for families!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ankush G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Ankush G

thank you for choosing our hotel for your four nights stay in Florence and we are happy that you enjoyed our services and our staff.
Thank you so much for your very kind compliments and looking forward to welcoming you soon, we wish you a Hapy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I visited this hotel for the second time, apart from the excellent location, I would like to express my satisfaction for the excellent service, excellent staff, nice and very clean rooms and bathrooms, complete breakfast and excellent roof top view where you can dine and enjoy a very wide selection on Tuscan wines. Keep it up!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Darren V

really thank you for choosing our hotel again for your stay in Florence!
We are delighted that you enjoyed once again of our services and of our staff!
Thank you for your very kind compliments.
Looking forward to welcoming you for the third time, we wish you a Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I would definitely recommend it for turist visits in Florence. The best possible location just 1 min away from the Duomo, very friendly and customer oriented staff, clean and comfortable rooms. The breakfast is very complete as well.

I would just improve 2 things:
- the remote control for the TV is irritating. Too few options, very old fashioned.
- Internet connection is quite unestable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cesar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Cesar B

thank you for recommending our hotel and for the kind comments and compliments, thanks also for your feedback!
Hoping to welcoming you again, we wish you an Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel if you want to be in the heart of the town but in a quiet area as well.Very clean and comfortable room.Friendly and helpfull staff.My first choice for my next trip to Florence.You should visit it.

5  Thank Penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Penny L

we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for being your first choice for your next trip to Florence!

Greetings from all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend for my fiancee's 30th birthday. I spent a bit more money for 'a room with a view'. Unfortunately the room we were taken to originally was facing scaffolding and white cladding! Upon a complaint to the reception (which wasn't warmly received) we were moved to a more central room which was much better. I would add that the extra spent on the room wasn't neccesary as the church opposite isn't that exciting.

The room was spacious, clean and tidy. The location is great. It's worth noting that when we were there was lovely weather and air-con would have been nice, however they can only have it on at certain times in the year.

We took breakfast on the open terrace upstairs that holds great views of the Duomo, the food was nice and the choice of hot and cold food was an added bonus.

Overall recommend this hotel, but as mentioned before the extra for a view isnt what you'd think for the extra cost.

Room Tip: If you do go for a room with a view make sure you are in a central room or as you look at the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Chris H

we are happy that you chose our hotel and thank you for the kind comments and compliments about our rooms, our services and our staff.
Please note that our rooms are with views overlooking the main street and in front there is the Church of Santa Maria Maggiore, a thousand years old Church and prior to the construction of the Duomo cathedral ....
Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you soon!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Had a three night stay and it was a pleasure , the hotel is perfectly located, the breakfasts were lovely , the staff very helpful, the rooms clean and well kept. A lovely city to visit and I cannot think of anything to complain about in regard to this hotel. Well done to the hotel and its staff.. Ron Nicholls

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Mr. Ron Nicholls

We are really glad you enjoyed your three night stay with us and thank you very much for the wonderful review.
Thank you so much for your compliments to our staff.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you soon.

Greetings from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,810 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#70 of 410 in Florence
804 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#50 of 410 in Florence
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#70 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $127 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing