We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, centrally located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #70 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice, centrally located hotel”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend for my fiancee's 30th birthday. I spent a bit more money for 'a room with a view'. Unfortunately the room we were taken to originally was facing scaffolding and white cladding! Upon a complaint to the reception (which wasn't warmly received) we were moved to a more central room which was much better. I would add that the extra spent on the room wasn't neccesary as the church opposite isn't that exciting.

The room was spacious, clean and tidy. The location is great. It's worth noting that when we were there was lovely weather and air-con would have been nice, however they can only have it on at certain times in the year.

We took breakfast on the open terrace upstairs that holds great views of the Duomo, the food was nice and the choice of hot and cold food was an added bonus.

Overall recommend this hotel, but as mentioned before the extra for a view isnt what you'd think for the extra cost.

Room Tip: If you do go for a room with a view make sure you are in a central room or as you look at the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Chris H

we are happy that you chose our hotel and thank you for the kind comments and compliments about our rooms, our services and our staff.
Please note that our rooms are with views overlooking the main street and in front there is the Church of Santa Maria Maggiore, a thousand years old Church and prior to the construction of the Duomo cathedral ....
Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    615
    112
    28
    20
See reviews for
283
922
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Had a three night stay and it was a pleasure , the hotel is perfectly located, the breakfasts were lovely , the staff very helpful, the rooms clean and well kept. A lovely city to visit and I cannot think of anything to complain about in regard to this hotel. Well done to the hotel and its staff.. Ron Nicholls

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Ron Nicholls

We are really glad you enjoyed your three night stay with us and thank you very much for the wonderful review.
Thank you so much for your compliments to our staff.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you soon.

Greetings from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Super hotel and you couldn't get any closer to the Duomo , just a two minute walk. We got a great deal flights from the uk and three nights for £330 for both of us. Great bar on the sixth floor with views of the Doumo and the staff were really helpful. The room was spacious and clean with a good size bathroom. Loved it

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Andy H

really thank you for the great review!
We are delighted that enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for kind comments and compliments about our services and our staff!

Greetings from your Super Hotel in Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton Falls, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Surprisingly quiet hotel in a busy area. Short walk from train station. Comfortable accommodations with nice enjoyable breakfast area with great rooftop seating with view of Duomo. Friendly staff, easy check in, Wifi not so good in room but okay in lobby and breakfast area. We had a king room, plenty big with large bathroom. Very clean. The weather was comfortable so no issues with heat, as we didn't need any. Wished we had more time to spend in Florence. When we do we will return to Laurus Al Duomo it was more than comfortable and the location is fantastico!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grammydisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear grammydisney

Thank you for choosing our hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for all the kind comments and compliments!
We really hope to welcome you again!

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I arrived in hotel Laurus Al Duomo 2 days ago on a cold and windy day. Check-in went fine, the room I was given was nice, however it was extremely cold. I asked the receptionist if they can put the heating on in my room and the lady informed me that there was no heating yet in any of the rooms in the hotel since they were ''surprised by such cold weather'' (in mid-November and with all weather forecasts available these days?). She told me that she spoke to the General Manager and that the heating will be on tomorrow. They've sent me 3 additional blankets.
The day after, there was still no heating in the room. That evening another receptionist told me that the heating will be available ''maybe tomorrow'' and that it wasn't their fault. At that point I asked to speak to the General Manager but s/he was not available at the time. The receptionist added; '' The General Manager knows about this problem but he cannot do anything about it''. Enough said!
This morning, I woke up at 6 a.m. because I was cold in my bed under 4 blankets. The temperature in my room was about the same as outdoor. I will not ask them about the heating anymore, because I don’t want to hear ''maybe tomorrow'' again.
Overall the hotel as a building is good, rooms are comfortable and very clean (Housekeeping department is doing an excellent job), the location is central and the staff is polite.
However, the management obviously cares more about cutting costs than caring about their guests. And that makes it a poor value for money. For 150 € per night, I think I should not be freezing in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marija M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Marija M

we are sorry that you've had these problems of cold during your stay with us. In fact, in the period between October and November we had a "crazy" weather that has forced us to turn off and turn on the air conditioning and then turn the heat on with urgency. This has unfortunately led to some complaints from customers. You have been proposed several times during your stay for a room change with a room on the lower floors and the front of the hotel (rooms are warmer) but you said you wanted just the covers. In the meantime, we called for heating engineers that are able to attend two days later.
Thank you for having enjoyed the central location of the hotel, the room cleanliness and friendliness of our staff and we hope you give us another ocassion to welcome you soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have just returned from a perfect four night stay at the Laurus al Duomo. If you are looking for a Hotel that is close to Florence's tourist hot spots then look no further. The wonderful Duomo is just a short stroll away and the rest of Florence's tourist attractions are within easy reach. We arrived at the Vespucci Firenze Aeroporto and attempted to take the city shuttle bus to the Santa Maria Novella train station for 6 euro's per person, but unfortunately it was full, the station is just a ten minute stroll from the hotel. So we decided to take a taxi into the city center, which was for a flat rate of 20 euro's plus 1 euro per suitcase. We were met by a very friendly and efficient receptionist who checked us in quickly and efficiently.We were allocated room 309 which was at the rear of the hotel, although not a scenic view, it was found to be very quite.
The room was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean with a good size bathroom. Generally a comfortable good standard room. The breakfast was taken in the rooftop bar area and we ate alfresco a couple of times on the adjacent roof terrace, with the Duomo dome in full view. Breakfast was of a good standard with a good variety. We enjoyed our stay and would fully recommend a very comfortable centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holey59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Holey59

we are happy that you had a perfect four night stay with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in the beautiful Florence and thank you so much for all the very kind comments and compliments about our services and our staff.
We thank you for recommending us and we hope welcome you soon!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a great hotel close to all the attractions, taking 5 minutes to walk to the station, 1 minute to the Duomo, 5 minutes to the Accaddemia, 5 minutes to Palazzo Vecchio and 10 minutes to the Ponte Vecchio.

It was good value for the money we paid, and we booked a junior suite to have a little extra room. This was the only disappointing thing, as i really believe that suites should have a decent seating option rather than just another bed with a couple of cushions on top to make it look like a couch - it wasn't that comfortable as a place to relax with a book and the tv was (a) too high to watch comfortably and (b) had only 3 english language channels - all of which were news channels. In a junior suite I would expect a couple of decent tv channels as well as a comfortable place to sit. Other than that, the beds were very good - firm and not saggy at all, and the room was always spotlessly clean. There was no view, but I have never understood the need for one when you are this close to the action.

The rooftop bar is the highlight, with some very nice wines, attentive and friendly staff and good snacks. Its supposed to stay open until 11pm, but we discovered that this was variable. The view of the Duomo is better than it appears in the advertising. The downstairs cafe is also very nice.

Staff are polite but not overly friendly or overly helpful, which as a Brit makes me feel right at home, but i understand why some Americans might find them a bit abrupt. There were no problems though and check-in/check-out was fine.

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear BecR2

thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Florence, we are happy that it was a positive experience and we thank you for informing us of the "defects" that you are getting in a junior suite, thanks for the kind comments on our services and compliments and our staff.
In fact you say you definitely will return .....and we're waiting for you!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#59 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#64 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#69 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing