We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold hotel in Florence.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #74 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I arrived in hotel Laurus Al Duomo 2 days ago on a cold and windy day. Check-in went fine, the room I was given was nice, however it was extremely cold. I asked the receptionist if they can put the heating on in my room and the lady informed me that there was no heating yet in any of the rooms in the hotel since they were ''surprised by such cold weather'' (in mid-November and with all weather forecasts available these days?). She told me that she spoke to the General Manager and that the heating will be on tomorrow. They've sent me 3 additional blankets.
The day after, there was still no heating in the room. That evening another receptionist told me that the heating will be available ''maybe tomorrow'' and that it wasn't their fault. At that point I asked to speak to the General Manager but s/he was not available at the time. The receptionist added; '' The General Manager knows about this problem but he cannot do anything about it''. Enough said!
This morning, I woke up at 6 a.m. because I was cold in my bed under 4 blankets. The temperature in my room was about the same as outdoor. I will not ask them about the heating anymore, because I don’t want to hear ''maybe tomorrow'' again.
Overall the hotel as a building is good, rooms are comfortable and very clean (Housekeeping department is doing an excellent job), the location is central and the staff is polite.
However, the management obviously cares more about cutting costs than caring about their guests. And that makes it a poor value for money. For 150 € per night, I think I should not be freezing in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marija M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Marija M

we are sorry that you've had these problems of cold during your stay with us. In fact, in the period between October and November we had a "crazy" weather that has forced us to turn off and turn on the air conditioning and then turn the heat on with urgency. This has unfortunately led to some complaints from customers. You have been proposed several times during your stay for a room change with a room on the lower floors and the front of the hotel (rooms are warmer) but you said you wanted just the covers. In the meantime, we called for heating engineers that are able to attend two days later.
Thank you for having enjoyed the central location of the hotel, the room cleanliness and friendliness of our staff and we hope you give us another ocassion to welcome you soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 520 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have just returned from a perfect four night stay at the Laurus al Duomo. If you are looking for a Hotel that is close to Florence's tourist hot spots then look no further. The wonderful Duomo is just a short stroll away and the rest of Florence's tourist attractions are within easy reach. We arrived at the Vespucci Firenze Aeroporto and attempted to take the city shuttle bus to the Santa Maria Novella train station for 6 euro's per person, but unfortunately it was full, the station is just a ten minute stroll from the hotel. So we decided to take a taxi into the city center, which was for a flat rate of 20 euro's plus 1 euro per suitcase. We were met by a very friendly and efficient receptionist who checked us in quickly and efficiently.We were allocated room 309 which was at the rear of the hotel, although not a scenic view, it was found to be very quite.
The room was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean with a good size bathroom. Generally a comfortable good standard room. The breakfast was taken in the rooftop bar area and we ate alfresco a couple of times on the adjacent roof terrace, with the Duomo dome in full view. Breakfast was of a good standard with a good variety. We enjoyed our stay and would fully recommend a very comfortable centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holey59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Holey59

we are happy that you had a perfect four night stay with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in the beautiful Florence and thank you so much for all the very kind comments and compliments about our services and our staff.
We thank you for recommending us and we hope welcome you soon!

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a great hotel close to all the attractions, taking 5 minutes to walk to the station, 1 minute to the Duomo, 5 minutes to the Accaddemia, 5 minutes to Palazzo Vecchio and 10 minutes to the Ponte Vecchio.

It was good value for the money we paid, and we booked a junior suite to have a little extra room. This was the only disappointing thing, as i really believe that suites should have a decent seating option rather than just another bed with a couple of cushions on top to make it look like a couch - it wasn't that comfortable as a place to relax with a book and the tv was (a) too high to watch comfortably and (b) had only 3 english language channels - all of which were news channels. In a junior suite I would expect a couple of decent tv channels as well as a comfortable place to sit. Other than that, the beds were very good - firm and not saggy at all, and the room was always spotlessly clean. There was no view, but I have never understood the need for one when you are this close to the action.

The rooftop bar is the highlight, with some very nice wines, attentive and friendly staff and good snacks. Its supposed to stay open until 11pm, but we discovered that this was variable. The view of the Duomo is better than it appears in the advertising. The downstairs cafe is also very nice.

Staff are polite but not overly friendly or overly helpful, which as a Brit makes me feel right at home, but i understand why some Americans might find them a bit abrupt. There were no problems though and check-in/check-out was fine.

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BecR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear BecR2

thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Florence, we are happy that it was a positive experience and we thank you for informing us of the "defects" that you are getting in a junior suite, thanks for the kind comments on our services and compliments and our staff.
In fact you say you definitely will return .....and we're waiting for you!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Laurus in October and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Enjoying a wine on the roof top garden with such a wonderful view of the Duomo. Our room was clean and quiet and a good size. The reception staff where extremely helpful organising walking tour for us. The coffee shop down stairs served excellent coffee, perhaps the only down side was the help your self coffee for breakfast - which was not up to standard but those machines never are.

We loved Florence and all its wonderful history, 4 days was not enough to soak up the atmosphere of this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravel203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear LoveToTravel203

we thank you for spending your holiday in Florence with us and we are happy that you enjoyed our hotel and our services. Thanks for the kind comments and compliments!
We would be pleased to have future opportunities to welcome you again.

Greetings from all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We just left the Hotel Laurus today after a wonderful stay of 6 days. Antonio welcomed us on our first day. We were early and he offered a restroom to refresh ourselves and had our bags checked until we could check in. Our room was always clean and comfortable and I thought a good size for a European hotel. Antonio also gave us brochures for recommended tour companies. Francesca called the tour company we selected and arranged our tours. We found the front desk to be friendly and helpful. Breakfast was always a great start to our day and we stayed in for a delicious pizza at the rooftop vista bar one rainy night. Roberto and everyone else at the front desk always greeted us and were willing to help us upon request. The wifi access worked well for me, but my sister had more difficulty. We greatly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the Hotel Laurus al Duomo.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Jennifer S

we are happy that you enjoyed your 6 nights stay with us and thank you very much for the great review!
Antonio, Francesca, Roberto and we all hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel, ideally located just 10 minutes walk from the train/bus station. Our room was spotlessly clean each day. The breakfast was a little hit and miss depending on the high demand for scrambled eggs. The evening food in the wine bar was OK but one evening only cold food was offered, it depends very much on who the staff member is that night, but it's a great place to sit on the terrace with a bottle of wine, viewing the Duomo before going out for a meal. Our grateful thanks go to Graziella especially. Whenever we asked a question, she had the answer, always bright and cheerful. We knew we had to catch the 7am train to leave for the airport on our final day and would miss breakfast so Graziella arranged a picnic for us and also a tea tray with kettle so we could have a hot drink before setting off.
Once again this extra special kindness rounded off a wonderful stay in Florence. So, thank you Graziella!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuccaSiena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear TiniMif

We thank you for visiting us for the second time and we thank you for the kind comments and compliments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are waiting for the third time!

Greetings ad regards from Graziella and all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

One of the best hotels we stayed at on our trip. Location is great (2 blocks from Duomo). Our room was not huge, but it was big enough and recently renovated. Service was good, and price was right. Breakfast was nice; we enjoyed the balcony. Only negative was internet. We could not get a good wi-fi connection in our room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear R T

Thank you for considering us one of the best hotel of your trip!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Florence and we are waiting to welcome you again!

Greetings from all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,867 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,466 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 411 in Florence
2,054 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#53 Family Hotel in Florence
#70 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $120 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing