We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Nearby Hotels
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)(Great Value!)
$226
$188
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$325
$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Roma(Florence)
$227
$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel David(Florence)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$341
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel(Florence)
$337
$264
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
$812
$323
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
$628
$583
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,739)
Filter reviews
1,739 results
Traveler rating
896
669
120
30
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
896
669
120
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine bargreat locationtrain stationfloor terracebreakfast terracerecommend this hotelgood sizecentral locationpastrieswithin walking distanceexcellent hotelwould definitely stay here againincluded breakfaststreet noiserooftop barthe air conditioningthe heart of the city
Filter
Updating list...
564 - 569 of 1,739 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013

One of the best hotels we stayed at on our trip. Location is great (2 blocks from Duomo). Our room was not huge, but it was big enough and recently renovated. Service was good, and price was right. Breakfast was nice; we enjoyed the balcony. Only negative was internet. We could not get a good wi-fi connection in our room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear R T

Thank you for considering us one of the best hotel of your trip!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Florence and we are waiting to welcome you again!

Greetings from all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Location is very convenient, less than 1 km to most sights in the center. When you go out, you can see Duomo on the left and Santa Maria Maggiore on the other side of the street. More far, in the same direction, you can see Palazzo Davanzati. The "Al Duomo" and "Centro Congressi" are much better marked outside the building than the "Hotel Laurus"
I had a modern and very quiet room looking in a corner of the inner courtyard, and couldn't even see the sky. Had a double bed, which was harder than my own. In addition, there was a fridge, and I asked to have a kettle, which I got a few hours later. However, the next day it was gone and I asked for it again, this time it stayed until the end of my stay.
I didn't have breakfast included, but enjoyed the good and very affordable coffee in the Cafe al Astra after my early tea in the room. They serve also lunch, pasta an pizza, but if you want something more, there are many restaurants around. Some times there are big groups around, but the other side of Arno is more quiet and there are nice restaurants next to the Santo Spirito. There is a supermarket on the Via de' Melerancio, close to the Medici Chapel, but it isn't marked outside. I stayed in this hotel also 15 years ago, and could stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms without a view have a double bed
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LNPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

LNPR

thanks for coming back to our hotel after 15 years! How could you see the hotel has been completely renovated by acquiring the Caffè Astra also on the ground floor that you liked and the Congress Centre Audiorium the Duomo.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and please come again before another 15 years!

Greetings from all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent 3 days of our Honeymoon in Florence, and LOVED the Hotel Laurus al Duomo...PERFECT location, just a block from the Duomo (everything is in walking distance, including the Ponte Vecchio, Pitti Palace on other side of the River, etc.) Room 702 had a beautiful view of a church with a dome simliar to the Duomo's, along with typical Florence rooftops. The room was quiet (with windows closed at night), clean, comfortable enough king bed, fine sized tub/bath/shower, and plenty of closest space. Recommend closing the windows at night, as there are lots of little mosquitos, which definitely bite. Signage was difficult to find the hotel, if you're walking along their actual street. Look for 'Life Beyond Toursim,' rather than the Hotel name.
Francesca at the Front Desk was VERY helpful and spoke great English. We had a very early flight to go home, so they ordered us a taxi the day before, as well as left a bag breakfast in our little fridge.
Breakfast each morning was lovely on the 6th floor terrace (or indoors, if raining)...great view of the Duomo! There eggs, bacon, toast, pastries, fruit, juice, coffee, etc.
We do not know anything about A/C or heaters, as the October temperatures outside were perfect, and inside the room was great with the windows open (closed at night).
Short walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station...just print out walking directions from Google Maps.

Room Tip: Room 702 was great (top floor, ABOVE the 6th floor breakfast terrace, so no noise)!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Deb S

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon in Florence!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the really great review!

Francesca and all the staff await you during your next trip to our beautiful city!

Greetings from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Location is just perfect, short walk from Santa Maria Novella train station and all the main attractions are literally round the corner (Capella Medici, for instance). Breakfasts rather on the humble side and the choice is quite limited. Very good (and cheap!) coffee/tea place downstairs, where we enjoyed our coffees every afternoon. Attentive and polite staff.
The only major downside was lack of air conditioning, which we desperately needed as it was +24C outside, quite unusual for the end of October. We had to open the windows, and the kid ended up with quite a few itchy mosquito bites, unfortunately. However, would happily stay there again (hopefully the air conditioning will be on)!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RusLadyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear RusLadyLondon

thank you for your good review and for your compliments on our staff.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We like to inform you that the air conditioning was running, it was turned on again on October 28 as the exceptionally warm spring ...in Autunm!
Perhaps you did not notice because the air can be adjusted directly from the room and automatically turns off when you open the windows.
Hoping to welcome you soon, we remain.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked the hotel on the basis of the location, which, as a tourist is indeed very good down the street from the duomo. The hotel is however, terrible value for money and in no way a 4* by British or American standards.

As I type it was 24 degrees in Florence today yet the hotel had no air conditioning as it was turned off some weeks ago. Instead of turning it back on the front desk staff tried to placate us by switching on a "fan" in the room, that didn't do anything.

The beds were very uncomfortable and resembled hard planks of wood as well as being two singles evidently pushed together and covered with a single sheet.

The wi-fi failed to reach our room on the fifth floor and breakfast bordered on inedible. Good location but this hotel has little else going for it considering its €200+ a night price range. The man on the front desk laughed at my fiancé as she asked if we could have some form of refund if we left early.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Chrisjg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Chrisjg24

we are very sorry that you have not enjoyed your experience in our hotel.
We turned off the air conditioning on 22 October as we thought (like many other hotels in the center of Florence) that temperatures would have fallen as usually happens . Instead , unfortunately, we found a hot spring .
We apologize for the vagaries of weather .
We regret that you have not notified us of the beds too hard , we could certainly provide you with softer mattresses .
I remember you, you were only one night ( your prepaid reservation was for 2 nights ) and have left the afternoon of the second day. That was me at the reception and I asked what had happened and if we could do something, you answered that you went away because of the air conditioning, but have not asked for any form of reimbursement , and especially none of us laughed .
Our staff is always available to guests trying to do everything possible to meet their needs .
We would like you give us another opportunity to serve you better, and I remain at your disposal if you want to contact me directly at the hotel to provide the highest possible discount on your next stay in Florence.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews