We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Abaco(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Hotel Giappone(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Romagna(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Perseo(Florence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Paris Hotel(Florence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Martelli Hotel(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,709)
Filter reviews
1,709 results
Traveler rating
880
656
119
30
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
880
656
119
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine bargreat locationtrain stationrooftop terracerecommend this hoteltop floorgood sizecentral locationpastrieswithin walking distancefront desk staffexcellent hotelwould definitely stay here againincluded breakfastthe breakfast areastreet noisefive minute walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
556 - 561 of 1,709 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

To save money on our trip, we decided to go with a convenient Hotel, close to the Demo that was clean with modern conveniences. That's what we got. Our friends stayed at a Hotel by the river with fantastic views. It cost more, but I think it was worth it.

Our room was clean. The staff was nice and helpful. The hotel contracts with a parking garage that brought our car back and forth for us as we asked for it. But, try not to drive in the historical area, lots of one ways and narrow streets that confuse the GPS.

The hair dryer in our room was detached from the hose. The drain of the bath was very slow and one of the supports on the toilet seat was broken, so it did not sit even. Other than these minor things, the property was as expected.

Room Tip: Room 506, had some deficiencies, but at least it had a view down a street instead of looking at a building from across the street. So, choose rooms that end in 06 or 08 on any of the floors to see something besides a wall.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motahari76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Motahari76

we are happy that it is worth to choose our hotel for your stay in Florence! Thank you for the kind comments and compliments on our staff and thank you for letting us know about the little problems in your room that they have found a solution in the meantime.
Hoping to have another occasion to welcome you,

kind regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was a very nice hotel centrally located in Florence. The lobby was very Spartan, but the staff were very accommodating and pleasant. Our room was very nice and even had a private patio. Breakfast was included in our rate and while the selection was somewhat limited, the quality was very good. There is a wine bar on the 6th floor with tables on a patio which provide a nice view of Florence. A short walk to the Duomo and the train station.

Room Tip: Room 603 has a private balcony which was a great spot to have a glass of wine after a long day of sightseeing.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear jerry1711

Thank you for choosing our hotel and thank you for the kind comments and compliments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you soon, we remain with our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Two friends and myself spent a fabulous weekend in florence at the beginning of September. We had a triple room which was excellent with tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all extremely polite and helpful. The breakfast on the terrace with the Duomo and Bell Tower in the background, was excellent. A great selection of hot and cold food with friendly staff on hand to help where necessary. The location of the hotel, 5mins from the main station, 1 min from the Duomo and within easy reach of all the tourist spots, was fantastic.
We had an amazing weekend and would recommend this hotel to everyone!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Claire1963phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Claire1963phil


We are so happy that you had a wonderful weekend with us and we thank you for the great review and for your compliments on our hotel, services and staff!
Hopefully we look forward to welcoming you soon again


Greetings from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My travelling companion and I stayed at the Hotel Laurus al Duomo for 3 nights early in September. Great hotel and in a fantastic location. Our accommodation was clean, comfortable and quite spacious for a city centre hotel. It was also very quiet due to great sound proofing - a real bonus when there is traffic in the road outside and the bell tower of the church opposite was really close!!! Another bonus is the roof terrace where we were served with complimentary welcome drinks and where at happy hour each evening we could enjoy an aperitif while taking in the wonderful view. We breakfasted in the coffee shop on the ground floor - good coffee and lovely pastries. The hotel is a very short walk from all the main sights......less than 5 minutes to the Duomo.....less than 10 to the river. There are plenty of cafes, restaurants and bars within easy walking and shops galore. The hotel staff were helpful and very efficient. I wouldn't hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mac31BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Mac31BB

we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved our hotel and our services. And also thank you for the kind compliments to our staff!
We really hope to welcoming you soon!

Greetings from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This was an excellent choice regarding location, service and overall value. And the service was excellent! Graziella was always friendly, with helpful suggestions; and helped us speedily with various special requests. The bellman was always respectful, friendly and prompt to lend a hand. The bedrooms were modern, clean and spacious. The only reason I didn't give all 5 stars was lack of a good view. Yes, you can glimpse the Duomo by craning yr neck out of the window and looking sidewways; otherwise, it's an ordinary street view. Overall, we were delighted with our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Raerone

thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for the very kind comments and tujtti compliemnti of your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have another occasion to welcome you!

Greetings from Graziella and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews