We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #75 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Cannot beat location of this hotel. 2 mins to all the main shops, 1 min away from the Duomo, 5 mins walk to about 5 very good restaurants (on Borgo San Lorenzo)....and 8 mins walk from SMN station. Efficient service. Coffee bar right by the lobby which also serves good snacks and good pasta. Large room with modern bathroom fittings. Very clean. Nice lounge area around the hotel lobby. No question - next time I am in Florence I shall stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikey59100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Sirs,

thanks for the kind comments about our hotel efficient services!
As you promised, we are waiting for you during your next time in our beautiful Florence!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 1,672 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Firenze SNM train station. From the hotel its just 2 blocks to the Baptistery & Duomo. From this location you can walk to all of the major attractions in Florence. Must see David at the Galleria dell' Academia! The hotel is very clean. Great breakfast on the balcony. Just can't beat the location. Don't miss the sidewalk booths along the way to the Ponte Vecchio. Lots of reasonable leather goods like purses, wallets, etc.

Top things to see - in order:
Il Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore, Piazza Duomo, The Baptistery
Galleria dell' Academia (David)
Galleria degli Uffizi
The National Museum of the Bargello
Ponte Vecchio
Santa Maria della Carmine
Piazza della Signoria and Palazzo Vecchi
Campanile - Bell Tower
Santa Croce
San Lorenzo
Boboli Garden and Pitti Palace

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LA_Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Sirs,

thank you for choosing our hotel and for the kind comments!
Thanks also for the detailed list of the best things to see! This "ranking" will be very useful for people who come to visit our beautiful city of Florence!
Of course in our city there are many other things to see, so we would be happy to welcoming you again!

Greetings and best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I recently visited Florence for a short break, and had an amazing time, its a wonderful city! I stayed in this hotel, and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone visiting Florence. It is a short walk from all the major attractions, was very comfortable, the rooms were well appointed, clean and tidy, the staff were attentive and friendly, and breakfast was a decent spread. I would definitely stay there again should I ever return to Florence!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NiravShah23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Sirs,

thank you for visiting the wonderful Florence and for choosing our hotel!
We are delighted that you enjoyed the city and you appreciated our services and our staff!
Hoping to welcoming you again, we send you our best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The location is a 5 star and the main reason it received 3 stars from me. The service was friendly but did mess up our reservation after having an email confirmation that it was made for the correct days, they then recommended the worse restaraunt I have ever eaten at in Italy.

Now the really bad part, while the rooms were decently made up they are not up to the finer hotels I generally like to visit. First issue was the the shower drain was clogged when I was already in the shower so I took off the cap of the drain and had to pull out a glob of hair from lord knows how long to get the water to drain. Next night my girlfriend is in bed on her iPad when two fleas jumped on the screen.

We were only here for a quick two nights and just on the location it works, but would not stay any loner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sd12580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Sirs,

we are glad that you enjoyed our location and our friendly service.
We hope you have reported to our staff the restaurant where you have eaten, so they do not recommend it anymore to our guests.
We regret very much for the inconveniences that you experienced in your room, especially because you have not notified our reception and we could not take action to check and remedy. Please note that each day, each room is inspected carefully in order to avoid these unpleasant events and kindly ask our guests to report any outages.
In the hope that you will give us another chance to serve you better, please accept our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

It is situated in an excellent location, in the centre of florence and in walking distance to everything, Room was ok, showers very clean, breakfast good, and the people at the reception were very friendly. Next time in florence I am gonna book there

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Sirs,

thanking you for very kind review and comments, we are looking to welcoming you soon in Florence!
Thanks again for recommend our Hotel!

Greetings and best wishes from all our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

10 minutes away from Florence central station and a 200 meters from the famous Duomo. Which means that you have easy access to explore outside Firenze whilst at the same time you have the luxury of being based right in the centre of this beautiful city. Very clean and spacious rooms and the staff were very helpful and courteous. We plan to visit Firenze again sometime in the future and this hotel will have to be a must. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Sirs,

thank you so much for your very kind review about our hotel and for your compliments on our staff!
We really hope to welcome you soon in Florence!

Greetings from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel and we loved it!!

The hotel is walking distance to the train station (about 10 mins) and even closer to the Duomo (about 2 mins!!).

The hotel itself is clean, modern with spacious rooms, free wifi and an excellent bathroom.

We had a room overlooking the main street with double glazed windows - no noise at all. Air con was brilliant as Florence was hot in September.

Staff were polite, helpful and all spoke excellent English.

Breakfast was great - a large selection all taken while sitting on a terrace with a view of the Duomo!!

This really is a great hotel - fairly priced, modern with excellent service.

We would stay here again for sure and recommend Laurus to all our friends who travel to Florence.

Stay here when in Florence - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydney1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for choosing our hotel again and for the very kind review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend us!

We wait for you during your third trip in our beautiful city!

Greetings from all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,869 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,468 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 411 in Florence
2,071 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#53 Family Hotel in Florence
#70 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $126 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing