We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #69 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great location and good value”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A modern hotel inside an old city building in the heart of Florence

Location -10/10

A perfect location in the centre of Florence, only 5 minutes walk to Al Duomo and 6 minutes walk from the main train station where airport buses from Pisa also stop. Plenty of shops and restaurants in the area starting as you leave the hotel.

Public areas - 8/10

This is a compact city centre hotel with a small siting area in the reception. It does not have a bar area but it does have an adjoining coffee shop which was fairly busy throughout the day.

Bedroom - 8/10 (Room 701)

Medium sized with a large comfortable bed, multi channel TV, and a desk area. Room 701 is on the top floor and is one of the few rooms in the hotel with a balcony giving brilliant views over the roof tops of Florence. Room was very clean and modern and usually cleaned while we had breakfast or soon after.

Bathroom - 8/10

Modern and clean with a detachable shower over the bath, just a bit cramped near the wash basin which is very close to the door. Plenty of clean fluffy towels and bottles of gels, shampoos and creams

Restaurant - 8/10

We only ate breakfast at the hotel. You can dine on the outside terrace if the weather is OK and there are great views of the Duomo and the city from this terrace. A good selection of food, both hot and cold, more than enough to keep us going until the evening. Although quite small we never had to wait to be seated for breakfast.

Staff - 9/10

Reception and restaurant staff very friendly and obliging. We e-mailed the day before we arrived requesting room 701 (having read reviews on TA) and were well pleased to be given the room for our 6 night stay.

Entertainment - None

Value for money - 8/10

If you shop around on hotel search websites you will see prices vary enormously for the same hotel. We paid £820 for 6 nights through Olotels which in my opinion is great value for a central 4 star hotel

City/Resort - 10/10

There is nothing I could add to the millions of words written about Florence over the centuries.

Room Tip: Room 701 has a balcony with great views. Most rooms only have a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earwigo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Sirs,

thank you for choosing us to our hotel for your stay of 6 nights and thanks for the detailed and accurate description of our location, the room, public areas, breakfast room / wine bar!
We are happy that you enjoyed it all, as we are glad that you appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff.
We really hope to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    627
    114
    28
    21
See reviews for
295
941
29
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed at the Laurus for 8 nights, and was pleased by the size and cleanliness of the room, the location, and the breakfast. It would be difficult to beat the location of this hotel, as it is just a 5 minute walk from the Duomo, and a 7 minute walk from Santa Maria Novella train station. My room was large, very clean, and well-appointed, and the housekeeping staff did their work very efficiently. Breakfast was good, if not very diverse, but sufficient to start one's day, and is served on a terrace which is very pleasant. Would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sirs,

we are really pleased that you enjoyed your 8 nights stay with us!
We thank you for all kind comments about our Hotel and our staff and we hope to welcoming you soon!

Greetings from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We satyed for 2 nights at this Best Western.

Great location and breakfast. The hotel is a short walk from the station and very close to all the sights.

Our rooms were clean and neat. This hotel is in my top 2 in Florence. We have stayed in plenty not very nice hotels before. I will be booking this hotel again in future.

Friendly efficient service.

Will book here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BumbleBee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for very much for spending your time writing about your experience at Hotel Laurus.

We are really glad to read that you had great time with us, and we hope to welcome you again and have the opportunity to show you other beautiful corner and treasure of Florence.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We chose this hotel after a friend recommended it, and found exactly what we expected. It is a small hotel, and since we were a family of 4, we chose it for its more reasonable rate. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are new ( which is nice for a city like Florence where you find old rooms and bathrooms). There are not enough employees , so don't expect a high level of service. We had to carry our bags ourselves to our rooms, and breakfast was somewhat standard for a 4 star hotel in Europe. The A/c worked well and since it was 100 F in late June, it allowed us to return for a nap and then go back out in the afternoon. Its location is the best part as it is a 2 block walk to the Duomo and historic Florence. The bus/ rail station is also nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deboraperez56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Sirs,

we are glad that you have chosen our hotel on the recommendation of a friend and you've found exactly what you were expecting.
Thanks for the compliments on our rooms, bathrooms and air conditioning.
We regret that you had to carry your bags to the room, in fact, our porterage service is from 7 am to 11 pm and our reception is staffed 24 hours.
Thanking you for staying with us, we hope to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was here October 14-17, 2012 with my Mom. We had 2 double deluxe rooms with a view. We were put in rooms 702-703, which are on the top floor. The top floor only has 4 rooms, so it was very quiet and secluded. The views were amazing, the rooms were spacious with huge bathtubs and the rooms were very clean. At first I was concerned the bed was hard as a rock, but I actually slept wonderfully. When I travel to Europe I need rooms with A/C (not important to some people) but a necessity for me. The A/C rocked! The hotel's staff were wonderful. We had free breakfast in the morning and the hotel offered us welcome mimosas when we arrived. We ended up having dinner at the hotel also, because the food was so great and beautiful on the rooftop terrace. The location was wonderful. The Duomo was right there and all the main spots (Medici Chapel, The Piazza Signoria, The Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio was all within walking distance. Also, the train station is a 5 minute walk. No need for a taxi. My only complaint were the amenities. Since you can't travel with liquids anymore, I was depending on hotel shampoo and lotion. The hotel only provided soap and the hair dryer was one of those attached to the wall that didn't work well. Overall, wonderful! A little secret, if you are going to Palazzo Vecchio, for 2 euros more they offer a Secret Itinerary tour (not very publicized.) It would be a shame not to add that to your visit. We bought our tickets at The Palazzo, but you can pre-order them in case the tour is full.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rio725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Sirs,

thank you for spending your holiday in Florence with us.
Your great comments and your kind reviews are greatly appreciated!
However, we want to point out that our hotel also provides shampoo in the room and we thank you for reporting about the functioning of the dryer!
We are delighted that you had a wonderful time and we look forward to welcoming you soon!

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have just spent a weekend away in Florence staying at the Hotel Laurus - a hotel I could not fault - the location is excellent just yards from the Duomo, Piazza della Repubblica, Piazza della Repubblica and if you are a fan - the Jersey Shore House! - the Uffizi and The Academy are a 10min walk.

The Hotel staff are all very, very friendly and couldn't help enough with directions, restaurant recommendations and shop locations. Our room was at the rear on the 4th floor, very quiet, new, well decorated and furnished - the maid service was very good - clean towels and sheets daily.

The view of the city from the restaurant balcony on the 6th floor was a treat, especially in the evening at dusk. Breakfast was OK and again the staff were very helpful & friendly.

If you are looking for a great central location, with real friendly and helpful staff The Hotel Laurus would definitely get my recommendation

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter and the higher you get the better the view over the rooftps
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanibelfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Sirs,

thank you for spending a weekend with us and for the kind comments on our services and our staff!
And many thanks for recommending our hotel to all people!

Greetings from all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Laurus al Duomo was a very nice looking hotel, the rooms were decent and was in a great location near the Saint Maria Novella train station.
There were a couple of things that let it down however..
The beds were very hard and I personally found them uncomfortable.
It was also rather noisy within the hotel, especially when the cleaners were working.
Apart from those minor points, the room had everything we needed, was kept very clean, and had the nicest cafe in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Lumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Sirs,

thanks to define us a very nice hotel!
Thank you also for the kind comments.
We regret that you have not informed us, we could have put at your disposal softer beds .
Cleaning takes place in the morning and we inform the workers to make less noise ...

Hoping to welcome you soon,

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#39 of 412 in Florence
1,766 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#61 of 412 in Florence
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#57 of 412 in Florence
1,234 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 412 in Florence
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#70 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing