We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$314
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/28
Book now, pay at stay
$174
$145
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Orto De Medici(Florence)
Free cancellation until 07/28
Book now, pay at stay
$168
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
$914
$432
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$185
$165
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$301
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$407
$307
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel(Florence)
$205
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Roma(Florence)
$190
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
$1,467
$496
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,749)
Filter reviews
1,749 results
Traveler rating
904
671
120
30
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
904
671
120
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationwine barrooftop terracetrain stationrecommend this hoteltop floorgood sizecentral locationpastrieswithin walking distancefront desk staffmajor sitesexcellent hoteltwo blockswould definitely stay here againthe breakfast areaincluded breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
727 - 732 of 1,749 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have usually found Best Western hotels in Europe to be reliable, often located in older buildings that may be old palaces, etc. This one was one block from the Duomo but was very reasonable priced. You can sit on their rooftop lounge and listen to the bells that peal out around you. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. There is valet parking from in front of the hotel. Multiple good restaurants are available nearby, and the staff was very helpful in finding them. THe staff we saw all spoke English.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buddymedbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Sirs,

thanks for the good comments!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to sit on our rooftop lounge and listen to the florentine bells!

Greetings from your helpful and friendly staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

What a great hotel! Hotel Laurus is located in the middle of everything and 20 minutes walk in any direction and your still in the centre of the city. The hotel is in the heart of Florence, 2 minutes walk from the Duomo which gives some amazing pictures! The Hard Rock Cafe is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel also. The location gives you the possibility to explore the streets to see what hidden gems can be found without wandering too far away and getting lost.
The hotel offers wine tasting which we tried out and was a great experience. Their restaurant must be tried! Their pizzas...YUMMY!
A great hotel for those wanting to experience Florence in depth.

Room Tip: We had a room "with a view" which is facing the street.The noise of church bells and cars didn't bother as it got us up in the morning. If you are looking for piece and quiet, perhaps a room with on the other side would be better. The rooms a spacious, air conditioned which is great when the heat of August hits you when you walk out.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Sirs,

thanks for choosing us and thank you for the very kind review!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to let you taste other pizzas and more fine wine on our panoramic terrace!

Greetings from your fantastic Hotel in the heart of Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a few nights in August. It is about a 10 minute walk from the train station & only a few blocks from the Duomo. The employees at the front desk were pleasant & helpful and spoke perfect English. We arrived around noon and our room was already available. It wasn't a huge room but the bathroom was spacious with a full sized tub. Breakfast was included and it was nice enough -- nothing too fancy but it was adequate. The good thing about breakfast is that it is offered on the top floor. There are a handful of tables outside on the patio & the view is nice. Wifi was free, the room was cleaned everyday timely, there were English cable TV channels, the safe was a nice size and worked properly, and the AC was excellent. We booked online & I believe the room was discounted according to the website.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctaylor0159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Sirs,

thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in our beautiful Florence!
Your kind comments are much appreciated!
Thank you for recommending our hotel and we are waiting to welcoming you soon!

Greetings from all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just spent 8 nights at this hotel and the location can't be beat.
You can walk to most of the historical areas and museums and the train station.
Florence was very hot and the AC in the hotel was excellent.
The breakfast was fine although at times monotonous but fresh .it was nice on the 6 floor roof top
To see the Duomo every morning.
Rooms were comfortable and cozy and well maintained.
Housekeeping was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful especially
Gabrille.
As travel agents we certainly would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: All of the rooms are about the same with the exception of the suites. The difference is the view
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Sirs,

thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Florence and thanks for the welcome and kind comments about our structure and our staff.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you wish to recommend our hotel.
We really hope to welcoming you soon!

Greetings from Graziella and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My daughter and I spent 4 nights at the hotel laurus, and had a very good experience. The location is wonderful, right near the duomo, so close to everything. We were able to pit stop back at our room several times per day. Our room was lovely(and I am picky!!). We had a double room, city view. It was quite nice. while not fancy, or filled with frescoes, it was modern, clean roomy and comfortable, just what we expected from the reviews. The front desk staff was helpful and accommodating, especially Antonio. the rooftop patio was our hangout every day. In the morning they serve a fine breakfast, and in the evening it is a bar with a limited food menu. Claudio does an awesome job in the evening. they have a very nice wine selection and he knows them well. He introduced me to a number of wines, and provided great, friendly service. We looked forward to stopping in every night before or after dinner for a drink or snack. Like the rooms, the terrace is not fancy, but has a beautiful view and is really comfortable with great service by Claudio. the hotel Laurus was a great home base for us and we were really sad to leave.

Stayed: August 2012
1  Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending time writing about your experience at the Hotel Laurus.
We are very happy that you had great time in Florence, that you enjoyed on our roof terrace during your relaxing time and learning about wines with Claudio; one of our purposes is to make our Guests feel at home!
So we await to welcoming back again with Antonio and all our staff and have the opportunity to show you other interesting sites of our city.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews