We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fabulous Florence with friends.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #103 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous Florence with friends.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Booked 4 rooms in this hotel last October for a group of family friends (know the review is a bit late but thought it would be useful). Arrived at Pisa airport and took train to Santa Maria Novella (a relaxing commute through the Italian countryside), then a 5 minute walk to the hotel which is centrally located to see all the sights of beautiful Florence. Hotel Roma is charming and rooms are individual in style. Our triple room was traditional & had a four poster bed, was spacious & clean, although air conditioning would have made it more comfortable. Our friends rooms were contemporary. There was plenty of room to sit in the hotel lounge whilst we planned our sightseeing day. The bar was opened for us if required. The self service breakfast was plentiful & varied. We managed to get tickets to a Fiorentina home football match with help from the waiters which was much enjoyed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citybreaker049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    260
    102
    27
    16
See reviews for
151
226
30
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

hotel well situated within easy walking distance of train and Sita bus station. We arrived at hotel after a long journey and were very tired and jet lagged. thanks to great comfy, supportive bed, clean room, and black out blinds that actually kept the room dark we had a great sleep and woke up refreshed and ready for our holiday the next day. Would definately recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorrainezzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Terrific location. Friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed. Clean. Good thermostatically controlled air conditioning. Large spread of a tasty breakfast. Updated, modern rooms. Modern (not ultra modern or fancy) lobby. Common areas, like hallways and staircases, are aesthetically pleasing. Negatives are minor: Breakfast room is pleasant but in a windowless basement. Our room faced an air shaft. Next time, we would probably risk the plaza or street noise (which is not raucous around there) for more natural light.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel was in a perfect location overlooking a piazza. Very close to great shopping and the Ponte Vechhio bridge. Short walk to the train station, Duomo and Academia. The rooms were spacious, quiet and had great black out curtains. The comforter was very soft and comfortable.

Breakfast was plentiful and quite good.

Regards,
The Heard Family

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmsmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is close to everything! It is in a wonderful location, super close to the train station and all the sites. There are great restaurants nearby and even a laundromat. We had rooms that overlooked the piazza. They were on the first floor and it there was A LOT of noise late into the night and early in the morning. I hesitated to move because we were right beside the elevator and had just read a review by someone who said they were down a long hall and their room was broken into. In retrospect we should have moved. We had absolutely no problems and felt very safe the entire time. We would definitely stay there again, however we would request a room not on the piazza or at least a higher floor. Also, one of ours rooms was newly remodeled and it was lovely but the other one was older and very dated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jm009793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location to walk to the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Accademia and other sites; and it's location right on the Piazza was a wonderful bonus. It is a short (5 min) walk to the train station if traveling to other areas in Italy. Their breakfast is a nice way to start the day. Although not a huge buffet, there was far more than we needed and a good variety of choices. The staff is pleasant, helpful, and efficient..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel has a great location. From the time we arrived, I could tell something was "off" with this hotel. It had a very Eastern European feel, the bar was never open, and the hotel felt very dark. The coffee was the absolute worst and our room had nasty carpet and was also extremely very dusty. We were there for a 3 night stay and on our last night, several people on our trip had their rooms broken into and lap-tops and i-phones stolen. The hotel claimed to have nothing to do with it, but in fact, they were the keeper of the keys in the lobby. It's not a way to end a trip that's for sure. We will never stay here again and highly recommend you don't either.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tinymiracles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,153 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Rivoli
Hotel Rivoli
#70 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,397 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#60 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,477 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#81 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#188 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Property: Hotel Roma
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#112 Family Hotel in Florence
#122 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma is a 4-star hotel in the centre of Florence. It is housed in an ancient 18th-century palazzo overlooking Piazza Santa Maria Novella, one of the not-to-be-missed places for those visiting Florence. The hotel is the ideal place for every type of stay: for artistic and cultural tourism, business, fun and shopping. Hotel Roma of Florence is in an excellent location and has all the amenities while preserving the charm typical of historic Florence hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing